Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2007, 05:30 PM   #1
Mac Dick
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
G4 ATA drive in a Mac Pro

I have a 60 gig ATA hard drive (it's my boot drive) in my Dual 1.4 gig G4. Can I install it in one of the open drive bays in my new Mac Pro Dual 2.66? If not, what would be the fastest way to transfer the 51 gigs of data, files, photos, games, etc. onto my Mac Pro hard drive???
Mac Dick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2007, 05:40 PM   #2
Laslo Panaflex
macrumors 65816
 
Laslo Panaflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tokyo
You can install it in one of the empty optical drive bays, I have one installed on my Mac Pro, it works great. The other drive bays in the Mac Pro are for serial ATA drives, so in the empty optical drive bay slot is your only choice.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.6ghz, 12GB RAM, 4 - 1 TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 3870
Macbook Pro 15" 2.8ghz, 8GB RAM, 500GB HD || iPhone 4 16GB
Laslo Panaflex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2007, 06:25 PM   #3
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
It'd probably be easier to just get a Firewire enclosure for standard ATA disks and use that. Once you've done the transfer you'll be left with an external drive which is always handy...
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2007, 08:31 PM   #4
Mac Dick
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Thanks for the help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laslo Panaflex View Post
You can install it in one of the empty optical drive bays, I have one installed on my Mac Pro, it works great. The other drive bays in the Mac Pro are for serial ATA drives, so in the empty optical drive bay slot is your only choice.
Thanks for the help. That means I can follow the installation directions in my manual.
Mac Dick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2007, 08:32 PM   #5
Mac Dick
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
I have an enclosure

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
It'd probably be easier to just get a Firewire enclosure for standard ATA disks and use that. Once you've done the transfer you'll be left with an external drive which is always handy...
I have an enclosure for an external 130 gig drive that died. I'll put it in there.

Thanks for the help.
Mac Dick is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Mac Mini and hard drive enclosure to make bootable drive for Mac Pro sssssshhhhhh OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 12 May 27, 2014 11:55 AM
13" Macbook Pro 2.9GHz, 8G,1TB ATA Drive vs 13" MBP-Retina 2.5Ghz, 8G, 256GB mhlof MacBook Pro 12 Mar 6, 2013 10:01 PM
G5 tower: failed ATA/100 optical drive - replace with Ultra ATA/100 SSD? Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 1 Mar 3, 2013 01:05 PM
ATA Serial DVD Burner into Mac Pro vinny. Mac Pro 2 Dec 14, 2012 09:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC