Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Old Apr 1, 2007, 01:53 PM   #1
DVNIEL
macrumors 6502a

ATV hard drive upgrade a success!

I'm just really stoked that I was able to upgrade my ATV's harddrive, that I had to share it with the Mac community. I got a 160GB Seagate PATA drive from Fry's for $129 with $20 MIR, and a nice Nexus USB 2.0 enclosure to do the switch.

I got home, took apart the ATV, plopped the hard drive into the enclosure and followed these steps:
Terminal Dump for Apple TV

After that I plugged it into my dad's Sony HDTV, did a factory restore, and now have 147GB available for wasting=).

So now my ATV has quadruple the memory, and I have a nice 40GB external drive to take on the road, all for a mere $120. I am a little sad about voiding my warranty, but eh, at least I have 5-year warranty on the hard drive.

I'm not that tech savvy with taking things apart, so this goes to show that pretty much anyone that can follow directions is capable of doing it. I hope you guys have fun doing the swap as much as I did.

Last edited by DVNIEL; Apr 1, 2007 at 01:56 PM. Reason: grammar
DVNIEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 04:58 PM   #2
pickerin
macrumors newbie

Be careful. I came back from my trip to the store to find that my AppleTV had an icon in the middle of the screen that looked like an AppleTV. It had a blinking question mark over it.

Clearly the drive heated up too much in the case and the AppleTV lost the drive. I unplugged it, let it cool down (it *was* a little on the hot side), and it's fine again.

I loaded in a 160GB Seagate as well.

-Rob
pickerin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 05:33 PM   #3
DVNIEL
macrumors 6502a

Uh oh, thanks for the warning, hhmm... were we a little overzealous in choosing the 160GB HD?

To those that have done the upgrade, what HD did you use and how is your ATV holding up?