Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 1, 2007, 05:02 PM   #1
jesteraver
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Send a message via ICQ to jesteraver Send a message via AIM to jesteraver Send a message via Yahoo to jesteraver Send a message via Skype™ to jesteraver
iMac G5 problem!

I have a iMac G5 (Pre-iSight). I just got home and my computer was off, I didn't turn it off and I asked my mom, she said she didnt come into my room. I was posting something on here and my computer shut off on its own. What gives?

__________________
iMac 20" [REV.A] (PPC G5 1.8 GHz // 2 GB DDR // 250 GB)
iMac 24" [REV.A] (Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 GHz // 4 GB DDR2 // 500 GB)
MacBook 13" "PRO" (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz // 4 GB DDR3 // 150 GB)
jesteraver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 05:12 PM   #2
EricNau
Moderator
 
EricNau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Did it turn back on? Does it seem to be running fine?

Have you checked the power cord, sometimes they can be loose and fall out? ...Or its possible that it was scheduled to turn off (System Preferences > Energy Saver > Schedule - Make sure neither box is checked).
EricNau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 05:19 PM   #3
jesteraver
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Send a message via ICQ to jesteraver Send a message via AIM to jesteraver Send a message via Yahoo to jesteraver Send a message via Skype™ to jesteraver
Checked the cord its in properly. Wouldnt make sense at all that it fell out. I've had my computer running 24/7 for the past year pretty much. Energy saver is on but only to turn off the screen after 15 mins and sleep in 30 mins
__________________
iMac 20" [REV.A] (PPC G5 1.8 GHz // 2 GB DDR // 250 GB)
iMac 24" [REV.A] (Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 GHz // 4 GB DDR2 // 500 GB)
MacBook 13" "PRO" (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz // 4 GB DDR3 // 150 GB)
jesteraver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 05:21 PM   #4
sparkyms
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southampton UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesteraver View Post
Checked the cord its in properly. Wouldnt make sense at all that it fell out. I've had my computer running 24/7 for the past year pretty much. Energy saver is on but only to turn off the screen after 15 mins and sleep in 30 mins
no power surges or anything? Any siblings that would want to freak you out?
perhaps it just wanted to turn off to spook you out!
sparkyms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 05:23 PM   #5
jesteraver
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Send a message via ICQ to jesteraver Send a message via AIM to jesteraver Send a message via Yahoo to jesteraver Send a message via Skype™ to jesteraver
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkyms View Post
no power surges or anything? Any siblings that would want to freak you out?
perhaps it just wanted to turn off to spook you out!
I keep turning it on and 5 mins later it shuts off on its own.

4th time in 20 mins. First time in 3 years its happened.

Guess I'll call up Apple and have them take the computer and give me a new one
__________________
iMac 20" [REV.A] (PPC G5 1.8 GHz // 2 GB DDR // 250 GB)
iMac 24" [REV.A] (Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 GHz // 4 GB DDR2 // 500 GB)
MacBook 13" "PRO" (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz // 4 GB DDR3 // 150 GB)
jesteraver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 05:49 PM   #6
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
There is a well known power supply failure issue with iMac G5's which have the same symptom - sudden complete powerdown.
Do you have AppleCare? Then get the parts replaced. They wil not give you a new one on first warranty problem.

If not, be prepared to do some research first to see if there are any extended warranty provisions offered for this problem.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 05:53 PM   #7
jesteraver
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Send a message via ICQ to jesteraver Send a message via AIM to jesteraver Send a message via Yahoo to jesteraver Send a message via Skype™ to jesteraver
Did some research on the phone with Apple right now. Might be my surge protector right now. Thing is my mac doesnt have the same EMC. lol
__________________
iMac 20" [REV.A] (PPC G5 1.8 GHz // 2 GB DDR // 250 GB)
iMac 24" [REV.A] (Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 GHz // 4 GB DDR2 // 500 GB)
MacBook 13" "PRO" (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz // 4 GB DDR3 // 150 GB)
jesteraver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 06:10 PM   #8
jesteraver
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Send a message via ICQ to jesteraver Send a message via AIM to jesteraver Send a message via Yahoo to jesteraver Send a message via Skype™ to jesteraver
Little update... Plugged it into a normal wall socket. Shut off again. We tried something new. We reset something. Had to plug in the power cord while pressing the power button got this loud noise (forgot what it reset) so far 5 mins has passed and it hasnt shut off. Now to wait 10 more mins. If so it doesnt shut off all is good. If it does shut off again, have to bring it in.
__________________
iMac 20" [REV.A] (PPC G5 1.8 GHz // 2 GB DDR // 250 GB)
iMac 24" [REV.A] (Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 GHz // 4 GB DDR2 // 500 GB)
MacBook 13" "PRO" (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz // 4 GB DDR3 // 150 GB)
jesteraver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 06:50 PM   #9
jesteraver
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Send a message via ICQ to jesteraver Send a message via AIM to jesteraver Send a message via Yahoo to jesteraver Send a message via Skype™ to jesteraver
Seems like the problem has been solved.



If any of you having the same thing.

1. Unplug your computer and everything connected to your iMac.
2. Connect to a wall outlet.
3. Connect plug into iMac while pressing the power button (same time)
- You will hear a noise and then let go of the power button
* SHOULD start properly and stop from shutting off on its own
__________________
iMac 20" [REV.A] (PPC G5 1.8 GHz // 2 GB DDR // 250 GB)
iMac 24" [REV.A] (Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 GHz // 4 GB DDR2 // 500 GB)
MacBook 13" "PRO" (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz // 4 GB DDR3 // 150 GB)
jesteraver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 07:18 PM   #10
EricNau
Moderator
 
EricNau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
For future reference, you Reset the SMU (System Management Unit).
EricNau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2007, 07:25 PM   #11
jesteraver
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Send a message via ICQ to jesteraver Send a message via AIM to jesteraver Send a message via Yahoo to jesteraver Send a message via Skype™ to jesteraver
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricNau View Post
For future reference, you Reset the SMU (System Management Unit).
Danke
__________________
iMac 20" [REV.A] (PPC G5 1.8 GHz // 2 GB DDR // 250 GB)
iMac 24" [REV.A] (Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 GHz // 4 GB DDR2 // 500 GB)
MacBook 13" "PRO" (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz // 4 GB DDR3 // 150 GB)
jesteraver is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2007, 10:14 PM   #12
jesteraver
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Send a message via ICQ to jesteraver Send a message via AIM to jesteraver Send a message via Yahoo to jesteraver Send a message via Skype™ to jesteraver
It started over again argh even when I reset the SMU and plugged it into a wall socket.

Time to call up Apple and see what they will do. Hopefully Applecare will cover this.

Guess I'll have to bring my computer in this weekend or next weekend. Must be the logicboard argh!
__________________
iMac 20" [REV.A] (PPC G5 1.8 GHz // 2 GB DDR // 250 GB)
iMac 24" [REV.A] (Intel Core 2 Extreme 2.8 GHz // 4 GB DDR2 // 500 GB)
MacBook 13" "PRO" (Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHz // 4 GB DDR3 // 150 GB)
jesteraver is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac problem Luc1300 iMac 2 Dec 9, 2013 02:30 PM
Help! Your Computer was restarted because of a problem?? iMac iMac 21.5'' 3.06 GHz In lRlevolution iMac 7 May 16, 2013 07:13 AM
Possible iMac/Wi-Fi problem? acrahm iMac 3 Nov 24, 2012 01:09 PM
Problem with iMac DedeGJ iMac 6 Sep 28, 2012 09:02 AM
Problem imac 27 Frassen iMac 4 Jul 11, 2012 11:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC