Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2007, 06:58 PM   #1
Mr Skills
macrumors 6502a
 
Mr Skills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
How do I get Macbook audio to my HDMI TV

OK, it's late at night and in the morning I am going to realise this is a really stupid question

I have a nice new TV with an HDMI input and a nice Macbook with Front Row. If I use a cable to convert the Macbook's DVI to HDMI, how will I get audio to the TV (given that audio would normally be on the HDMI cable)?
__________________
Download free songs
Mr Skills is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2007, 07:14 PM   #2
gr8tfly
macrumors 603
 
gr8tfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ~119W 34N
You would need a TosLink adapter to go from the 3.5mm jack on the MacBook to a device which would combine the optical audio with the DVI output to HDMI.

Something like this might work: http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20swit...rt_toslink.htm

I just did a quick search on devices that might combine digital audio with HDMI. There might be something simpler out there to combine to a single HDMI cable.


If you don't have any other equipment, it might be just as easy to take a 3.5mm analog RCA cable from the MacBook to the analog RCA input jacks on the TV. Wouldn't be digital, but the TV doesn't have DD 5.1 anyway.
gr8tfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2007, 07:25 PM   #3
Mr Skills
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Mr Skills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8tfly View Post
If you don't have any other equipment, it might be just as easy to take a 3.5mm analog RCA cable from the MacBook to the analog RCA input jacks on the TV. Wouldn't be digital, but the TV doesn't have DD 5.1 anyway.
I think the TV assumes that audio will be coming through the HDMI cable. So the RCA audio inputs are paired with the component/composite video inputs. Composite does not look very good (and leaves a small border), and I don't think it's possible to get component video out of the Macbook (?).
__________________
Download free songs
Mr Skills is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2007, 07:28 PM   #4
panoz7
macrumors 6502a
 
panoz7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Skills View Post
I think the TV assumes that audio will be coming through the HDMI cable. So the RCA audio inputs are paired with the component/composite video inputs. Composite does not look very good (and leaves a small border), and I don't think it's possible to get component video out of the Macbook (?).
Check in your TV's manual about the audio thing. My LCD has an RCA audio input that's shared with S-Video and HDMI. You have to go into a special menu to enable it.
__________________
8.5 n/c
panoz7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2007, 07:38 PM   #5
Mr Skills
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Mr Skills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by panoz7 View Post
Check in your TV's manual about the audio thing. My LCD has an RCA audio input that's shared with S-Video and HDMI. You have to go into a special menu to enable it.
Woohoo! There is indeed a special menu where you can tell one of the HDMI inputs to 'hijack' the analogue audio. I guess I should RTFM!

Thanks
__________________
Download free songs
Mr Skills is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2009, 05:22 PM   #6
phubbard314
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
MacBook to HDTV setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Skills View Post
Woohoo! There is indeed a special menu where you can tell one of the HDMI inputs to 'hijack' the analogue audio. I guess I should RTFM!
I too can confirm that it is possible to hook up a MacBook to an HDTV (in this case a Pioneer Elite). I needed two cables: a mini-DVI to HDMI cable (see "PTC Mini-DVI to HDMI Adapter with 6ft HDMI Cable for Macintosh") to carry the video directly to the TV, and a 3.5mm to component (red & white jacks) "Y" cable (see "Belkin Audio Y Cable Splitter 1-Mini Plug/2-RCA Plugs (6ft)") to carry the audio directly to the TV. Note that I bypassed the A/V Receiver and went straight into the back of the TV.

In order to make this work, I had to change the settings within the setup menu of the TV itself to get the audio from an analog source (while retaining the video from the HDMI cable). Normally the HDMI cable would carry both video and audio, but there is no audio coming out of the HDMI port on the MacBook so you need a second cable coming from the MacBook's headphone jack. With decent speakers hooked up directly to the TV, this produced very acceptable stereo sound. The picture was quite good as well (maybe not HD but I was able to watch Hulu video as well as DVD movies on the 50" screen with no visible granulation).

This setup sort of obviates the need for the $100 Roku box I have (which allows you to display HD instant-download movies though Netflix). I can now simply play them on my MacBook though this new setup. The audio cable was $5 via a 3rd party vendor on Amazon (shipping included) while the video cable was $12. So using your MacBook for Netflix instant downloads is $83 cheaper than Roku.

Hope this helps. I'm very happy with all the options I now have for fully utilizing my 50" HDTV. Oh, and, I read the ****ing manual (RTFM) to figure this all out. You should too.

Last edited by phubbard314; Nov 14, 2009 at 05:35 PM.
phubbard314 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2010, 11:44 AM   #7
maeishoj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by phubbard314 View Post
I too can confirm that it is possible to hook up a MacBook to an HDTV (in this case a Pioneer Elite). I needed two cables: a mini-DVI to HDMI cable (see "PTC Mini-DVI to HDMI Adapter with 6ft HDMI Cable for Macintosh") to carry the video directly to the TV, and a 3.5mm to component (red & white jacks) "Y" cable (see "Belkin Audio Y Cable Splitter 1-Mini Plug/2-RCA Plugs (6ft)") to carry the audio directly to the TV. Note that I bypassed the A/V Receiver and went straight into the back of the TV.

In order to make this work, I had to change the settings within the setup menu of the TV itself to get the audio from an analog source (while retaining the video from the HDMI cable). Normally the HDMI cable would carry both video and audio, but there is no audio coming out of the HDMI port on the MacBook so you need a second cable coming from the MacBook's headphone jack. With decent speakers hooked up directly to the TV, this produced very acceptable stereo sound. The picture was quite good as well (maybe not HD but I was able to watch Hulu video as well as DVD movies on the 50" screen with no visible granulation).

This setup sort of obviates the need for the $100 Roku box I have (which allows you to display HD instant-download movies though Netflix). I can now simply play them on my MacBook though this new setup. The audio cable was $5 via a 3rd party vendor on Amazon (shipping included) while the video cable was $12. So using your MacBook for Netflix instant downloads is $83 cheaper than Roku.

Hope this helps. I'm very happy with all the options I now have for fully utilizing my 50" HDTV. Oh, and, I read the ****ing manual (RTFM) to figure this all out. You should too.
Hey, I know its late but i try..
I have the same problem..got a new LG 42LH3000 and i connect my macbook to the tv in order to watch movies with an hdmi cable. the image is very good but I have no sound.. I bought a mini jack to RCA output but it doesnt work at the same time as the hdmi... If choose on the tv hdmi (1-2 or 3) i see only the image even if the rca cables are attched (one is red and the other black but I guess it doesnt make difference if 1 is black or white, does it?). Anyway if I connect the rca to a kind of adpater (the one of the ps2 with 3 female input, yellow-red-white) that I attach to the SCART and I choose SCART this time and not hdmi I can hear the audio. so either audio or video?? what can I do? I have 2 possibilities for putting the rca cables: I have a yellow-red-white input on the side and the same on the back, does it make difference?? please someone help me!!
maeishoj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2010, 05:31 PM   #8
ScottR
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by maeishoj View Post
Hey, I know its late but i try..
I have the same problem..got a new LG 42LH3000 and i connect my macbook to the tv in order to watch movies with an hdmi cable. the image is very good but I have no sound.. I bought a mini jack to RCA output but it doesnt work at the same time as the hdmi... If choose on the tv hdmi (1-2 or 3) i see only the image even if the rca cables are attched (one is red and the other black but I guess it doesnt make difference if 1 is black or white, does it?). Anyway if I connect the rca to a kind of adpater (the one of the ps2 with 3 female input, yellow-red-white) that I attach to the SCART and I choose SCART this time and not hdmi I can hear the audio. so either audio or video?? what can I do? I have 2 possibilities for putting the rca cables: I have a yellow-red-white input on the side and the same on the back, does it make difference?? please someone help me!!
This may fall into the category of "too obvious to help" but when I was working out my setup (with a Sharp Aquos) I found
1) only one of the two HDMI inputs worked with the RCA-in selection (by design, not defect), and
2) that I had to use a DIFFERENT RCA-in than I'd been using for years (I had an old iMac hooked up to the SVHS video input). The RCA input I had to switch to was specifically dedicated to the HDMI input.
ScottR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2010, 05:55 PM   #9
mklnz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
On my TV (some Sony model), there is two HDMI inputs, however the bottom HDMI (2) in has two RCA inputs beneath it to allow audio from RCA in. So I use a 3.5mm to RCA cable and then I put the input on HDMI2 and it works fine.
__________________
Flickr | rMBP 15" 2.3GHz | iPhone 5 16GB | iPad 3 16GB
mklnz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2010, 06:26 PM   #10
hypermog
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Or you could just use this:

http://www.kanexlive.com/products/item.aspx?id=3323 ($59.99, 2 channel analog audio)

http://www.kanexlive.com/products/item.aspx?id=3495 ($69.99, 5 channel digital audio)

From the GizModo review: "Someone finally gets it right"

Last edited by hypermog; Feb 25, 2010 at 06:34 PM.
hypermog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2010, 06:32 PM   #11
Gen
macrumors 6502a
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Meh, cheaper and same quality;
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
2 channel.
Gen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2010, 06:39 PM   #12
hypermog
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
The whole need for these adapters is ridiculous though. The Mini DisplayPort spec has support for audio. It could be a simple one-line adapter from miniDP to HDMI. Hopefully on the next round, Apple.
hypermog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2010, 11:20 AM   #13
ScottR
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mklnz View Post
On my TV (some Sony model), there is two HDMI inputs, however the bottom HDMI (2) in has two RCA inputs beneath it to allow audio from RCA in. So I use a 3.5mm to RCA cable and then I put the input on HDMI2 and it works fine.
Yes, the Sharp is basically the same setup. I don't know if it's true for the Sony, but the RCA inputs are far enough below the 2nd HDMI that it isn't immediately obvious that they're related.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen View Post
Meh, cheaper and same quality;
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
2 channel.
Meh. $50 for a Rubegoldberesque fix is still too much when you can do the same with very basic cables.

Last edited by Doctor Q; Apr 9, 2010 at 06:40 PM. Reason: post merge
ScottR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2010, 12:23 PM   #14
jms969
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen View Post
Meh, cheaper and same quality;
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
2 channel.
+1

I love monoprice!!!
jms969 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2010, 12:25 PM   #15
wrxlvr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
For 5.1, is that $60 "fix" the only option. Couldn't you just run a separate optical cable for the 5.1?
wrxlvr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2010, 12:40 PM   #16
kgeier82
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
kgeier82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2010, 01:03 PM   #17
wrxlvr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
This really does just add to the "Apple Tax" doesn't it? Virtually every mid-grade, newer PC laptop has HDMI output. *sigh*
wrxlvr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2010, 03:06 PM   #18
qnguye
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mklnz View Post
On my TV (some Sony model), there is two HDMI inputs, however the bottom HDMI (2) in has two RCA inputs beneath it to allow audio from RCA in. So I use a 3.5mm to RCA cable and then I put the input on HDMI2 and it works fine.
That is exactly what was recommended - to use HDMI2. It works for me.
qnguye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2010, 07:22 PM   #19
pmcb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
put computer speakers behind your tv? dont judge me, i'm a college student
__________________
13" uMBP, 2.26 GHz, 2 gb RAM 16gig iPhone 4 (4.3.1 JB)
pmcb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2010, 10:24 AM   #20
zejoro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
So I didn't read any forums before I went and bought cables. Ive got a miniwhatever to hdmi which works wonderfully on my crappy insignia. Until yesterday I was using my macbook pro audio when I finally got the toslink to toslink mini adapter. I was thinking I would just plug in the optical audio into the only available optical audio port on the tv. Well, its not working. Checked all the menus and settings. My mac likes it and adjusted its own settings. Im thinking the TV doesnt. The audio port im using on the tv says S/PDIF, which Im thinking may be output not input? Can I even use my optical audio to get the sound from the computer to play through the tv speakers?
zejoro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2010, 10:27 AM   #21
Dozerrox
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Exeter
Quote:
Originally Posted by zejoro View Post
So I didn't read any forums before I went and bought cables. Ive got a miniwhatever to hdmi which works wonderfully on my crappy insignia. Until yesterday I was using my macbook pro audio when I finally got the toslink to toslink mini adapter. I was thinking I would just plug in the optical audio into the only available optical audio port on the tv. Well, its not working. Checked all the menus and settings. My mac likes it and adjusted its own settings. Im thinking the TV doesnt. The audio port im using on the tv says S/PDIF, which Im thinking may be output not input? Can I even use my optical audio to get the sound from the computer to play through the tv speakers?
I'd have thought it's probably output yeah so no dice unfortunately.
Dozerrox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2010, 11:41 AM   #22
clarksonknight
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by zejoro View Post
So I didn't read any forums before I went and bought cables. Ive got a miniwhatever to hdmi which works wonderfully on my crappy insignia. Until yesterday I was using my macbook pro audio when I finally got the toslink to toslink mini adapter. I was thinking I would just plug in the optical audio into the only available optical audio port on the tv. Well, its not working. Checked all the menus and settings. My mac likes it and adjusted its own settings. Im thinking the TV doesnt. The audio port im using on the tv says S/PDIF, which Im thinking may be output not input? Can I even use my optical audio to get the sound from the computer to play through the tv speakers?
Unless you have multiple TOSLink ports on your TV, it's most probably an output. Double-check your TV manual.
clarksonknight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2010, 04:05 PM   #23
phrint
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Cheaper solution from Monoprice at 22% of the price

Go with this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/se...d=5311&x=0&y=0

and this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/se...d=1557&x=0&y=0


This combo does the same thing as the all-in-one adapter but at a whopping $11.11 versus $50.00. I have this combo and it works perfectly on my 2.8 MBP.
__________________
Current: MBP 15" 2.8 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; iPhone 4, 32 GB, awaiting Jailbreak...
Past: PowerBook G4 15" 1.67; iPhone 8GB (now iPod Touch); iPhone 3G & 3GS, Jb'd and Unlocked
phrint is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2010, 04:49 PM   #24
Rkball
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by phrint View Post
This combo does the same thing as the all-in-one adapter but at a whopping $11.11 versus $50.00. I have this combo and it works perfectly on my 2.8 MBP.
While this may work for most HDTVs. The Panasonic TV (Panasonic viera tc-p42x1) I have does not have seperate audio option while using HDMI that I am aware of, If I am mistaken someone tell me how to get around this please. If not the $50 cable solution looks like my best option. :/
Rkball is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2010, 10:45 AM   #25
blonkz24
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
connecting imac to tv??? audio prob?????

hi is it possible to have sound coming from both my imac aswell as my tv i have a mini dvi to hdmi mirrored to project display but have no audio from tv i have read about connecting audio leads to tv and then into headphone jack on imac but surely sound from my imac will be lost is there any way to have both pllzzzzzz hellllppp!!!! thanks
blonkz24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XServe 2006: Supported Graphics Cards With HDMI or DVI with audio to hdmi iphone2g&3gfan iMac 3 May 30, 2014 05:42 PM
MacBook Air mid-2009 HDMI audio Cave Man MacBook Air 2 May 31, 2013 09:15 PM
2009 Macbook Pro - HDMI audio borowskid MacBook Pro 7 Dec 29, 2012 08:57 AM
MacBook Pro 13" no audio with HDMI out here2rock MacBook Pro 2 Dec 5, 2012 07:01 AM
Retina macbook pro and HDMI audio out kgallag1 MacBook Pro 3 Jun 21, 2012 10:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC