Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:04 AM   #1
Captain Planet
macrumors 6502a
 
Captain Planet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Where can I see my computer specs?



Yeah, I'm that dumb...
__________________
Earth. Fire. Wind. Water. Heart.
Go Planet!
By your powers combined, I am Captain Planet!
Captain Planet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:05 AM   #2
TheAnswer
macrumors 68030
 
TheAnswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Apple Menu > About This Mac...click the More Info... button for more info.
TheAnswer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:06 AM   #3
G5Unit
macrumors 68020
 
G5Unit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: I'm calling the cops
Send a message via AIM to G5Unit
->About this Mac


It's ok....
__________________
flickr
yannikr

I am not here to do what has already been done!
G5Unit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:08 AM   #4
AVID
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 27:153
"istat pro" widget available from apple website for constant monitoring of your computer performance as well

one planeteer to another
__________________
The state, the business, and the community; each with their own interests, influences, and discourses in response to the environmental problem
AVID is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:11 AM   #5
TheAnswer
macrumors 68030
 
TheAnswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVID View Post
"istat pro" widget available from apple website for constant monitoring of your computer performance as well

one planeteer to another
Here's the link, iStat pro is awesome.
TheAnswer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:14 AM   #6
Captain Planet
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Captain Planet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Since you've mentionned widgets...how do you remove one? From the dashboard I mean.
__________________
Earth. Fire. Wind. Water. Heart.
Go Planet!
By your powers combined, I am Captain Planet!
Captain Planet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:17 AM   #7
AVID
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 27:153
There's a big "+" sign at your bottom left hand corner when widget is activiated, press that and the "+" signs should be on each one of your widgets, just press those to close them.
__________________
The state, the business, and the community; each with their own interests, influences, and discourses in response to the environmental problem
AVID is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:17 AM   #8
TheAnswer
macrumors 68030
 
TheAnswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Activate dashboard, click the circle with the cross in the lower left corner, then click the x in the upper left hand corner of the widget. That will remove that instance of the widget...if you want to remove it completely, you need to select the "Manage Widgets.." button and click the subtract to the right of the widget in the list.
TheAnswer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:17 AM   #9
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
With this:

Name:  Picture 1.png
Views: 5824
Size:  4.1 KB
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:18 AM   #10
Captain Planet
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Captain Planet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Thanks a lot.
__________________
Earth. Fire. Wind. Water. Heart.
Go Planet!
By your powers combined, I am Captain Planet!
Captain Planet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:19 AM   #11
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
You should look at this: http://www.apple.com/support/mac101/

Also, the Help menu is extremely handy in the Mac Finder (the visible part of the OS) and all the Applications.
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:19 AM   #12
The Stig
macrumors 6502a
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: On the track
About this Mac

The Stig
__________________
"Steve Jobs invented the world, and then the rest of us came along" - Bill Gates
YEAH!! Canadian iPhone!!
The Stig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 01:56 AM   #13
McGarvels
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to McGarvels
Also, if you want to close a widget (but not delete it) you don't even have to hit the plus sign in the bottom left. Just hold the "ALT" or "OPTION" key and move the mouse over the widget you want to close. The "X" in the upper left hand corner of the widget will appear. Click it and poof, it's gone. Hope this helps.

Cheers
__________________
EQUALITY FOR ALL
15" rMBP Core i7 ; 27" iMac Core i7
McGarvels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 08:19 AM   #14
weldon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2004
System Profiler can also give you a lot of detailed information about the machine.
__________________
ReWinD Blog
weldon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 11:32 AM   #15
TheAnswer
macrumors 68030
 
TheAnswer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by McGarvels View Post
Just hold the "ALT" or "OPTION" key and move the mouse over the widget you want to close. The "X" in the upper left hand corner of the widget will appear. Click it and poof, it's gone. Hope this helps.

Cheers
Cool, I learned something new today. Awesome tip.
TheAnswer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 04:37 PM   #16
McGarvels
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to McGarvels
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAnswer View Post
Cool, I learned something new today. Awesome tip.
Cool, hope it helps or is useful. I love how OSX has many small little things that just work.
__________________
EQUALITY FOR ALL
15" rMBP Core i7 ; 27" iMac Core i7
McGarvels is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Design my Computer... What Option Shall I do? iMac/MP Specs? edandtom Buying Tips and Advice 7 Feb 10, 2014 08:27 AM
ios 7: trust this computer same every time I plug into same computer KOTULCN iOS 7 11 Oct 24, 2013 03:39 PM
Can drag/drop movies onto iPad2 from computer #1 but not computer #2 ???? redgtxdi iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jan 21, 2013 06:24 PM
Transfer iPhone to new computer (without old computer's files) Dreamer2go iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Sep 25, 2012 09:18 PM
Higher-specs 13" or lower-specs 15" MBP denigmatism Buying Tips and Advice 4 Jun 14, 2012 09:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC