Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 6, 2007, 12:04 PM   #1
macintoshxiii
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Visual Basic: mac?

I was wondering if there are softwares like visual basic for mac users? If so I would really like to get a copy of it for my work.... else not i don't know how to do my work to create a VB application form. And i don't wanna use PC to do it....
macintoshxiii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 04:34 PM   #2
nagromme
macrumors G5
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
VB is not on Mac. You'd need to install Windows on your Mac to run it, using Boot Camp, Parallels, VMWare, etc. (And I see VB can be run under WINE, so Darwine might be a Windows-free option at some point.)

Or you might consider RealBasic as an alternative route: it's very highly regarded, and is compatible with both Mac and Windows:

http://www.realbasic.com
nagromme is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 04:43 PM   #3
Killyp
macrumors 68040
 
Killyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
If it runs under WINE, then it'll almost certainly run under Crossover. I'd send off an email to Code Weavers, who make Crossover, and ask them if VB runs on their software.
Killyp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2007, 03:04 PM   #4
macintoshxiii
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
cool replies guys... but just wondering how different is the use of real basic vs visual basic? apart from the different plattform anything else indifferent? friendly using etc?
macintoshxiii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2007, 07:49 PM   #5
emptyCup
macrumors 65816
 
emptyCup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by macintoshxiii View Post
just wondering how different is the use of real basic vs visual basic? apart from the different plattform anything else indifferent? friendly using etc?
I haven't used basic in a long time, but RealBasic is an excellent version. You will be able to create real cross-platform programs. This may help.
emptyCup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2007, 08:16 PM   #6
SMM
macrumors 65816
 
SMM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Tiger Mountain - WA State
I agree with the others that you should look into RealBasic. I have actually downloaded the trial version and taken it for a spin (a short one). Real is too stingy with their trial period, especially for a development environment. I was only given a week, or maybe 10 days - do not recall exactly. Maybe that would be sufficient if a person was able to do a quick, dedicated, in-depth evaluation. However, I seldom have that luxury. To do a decent job of it, I would need closer to a month of daily 2-3 hour sessions. Your situation may be different.

I have read that Filemaker Professional has the ability to not only store data, but also build forms. I have not looked into this yet. If I understood the authors correctly, then FMP is positioning itself as an alternative to Access. It may be another source for you, especially if your VB app is data focused.
__________________
Eagles may soar in the clouds, but weasels never get sucked into jet engines. - Jason Hutchison and John Benfield
SMM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2007, 08:07 AM   #7
kiang
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
...just make your apps in java?
__________________
To do is to be - Sorates
To be is to do - Sartre
Do be do be do - Sinatra
kiang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 07:21 PM   #8
MstrPBK
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
FileMaker Pro and Visual Basic ....

I am in the process of wanting to broadening my learning to VB, Java, and Visual C to attain my goal of producing a RPG game.

I have adequate experience with FM Pro and feel that is is a decent program and can by my experience handle at least medium (to large?) sized files (80 million records). FM pro's scripts are strongly BASIC language constructs (and semi-easy to learn).

My concern with FM Pro is that the Find Request interface is based on absolute values rather than computed values to find records. This can be programmed around by lengthy subroutines (time wise not code length) and adding a field to record a mark AND then do the find); and from my view I was thinking there must be another way to deal with this (somehow).

One of my interests in this discussion is how easily can FM Pro pass data back and forth from a VB type program. (suspects it is semi-easy if I learned). Is VB and/or Realbasic decent with graphics and managing them, polygons? I would think there would be other programs to handle animation and special effects but that is a different thread and topic.
MstrPBK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2009, 03:04 AM   #9
leelee27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Problem with running my VB app in mac

Hi,
I have written my program in vb in windows. /now I have installed VB in my mac which has windows that i have installed by winwar. But I have a problem, my program has two errors:

Error 4 Could not write lines to file "obj\Debug\my software- jan19.vbproj.FileListAbsolute.txt". Access to the path 'C:\my software- jan19\my software- jan19\obj\Debug\my software- jan19.vbproj.FileListAbsolute.txt' is denied. my software- jan19

Error 2 Cannot write to the output file "C:\my software- jan19\my software- jan19\obj\Debug\my_software__jan19.nosulfide.resources". Access to the path 'C:\my software- jan19\my software- jan19\obj\Debug\my_software__jan19.nosulfide.resources' is denied. my software- jan19

can anyone help me with these errors?
regards,
Leelee
leelee27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2009, 03:12 AM   #10
kastenbrust
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Korea
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiang View Post
...just make your apps in java?
Hisss Boooo Sinner!!

On a more serious note, if you dont even know that VB is windows only then how in gods name do you even intend to manage to make an application?
kastenbrust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2009, 11:40 PM   #11
iconz113
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New York
Send a message via AIM to iconz113 Send a message via MSN to iconz113
visual basic, real basic same? or different?

Im sorta new to this and just wanted to verify some information. So realbasic is the mac version of visual basic? I read on one of the posts that you can create cross platform using realbasic, but cant you do the same on windows visual basic, since its the same? or is it different? also what other compilers for any language are available on the mac platform? like I said im pretty new to all this so any information would be appreciated, thx!
iconz113 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2009, 11:19 AM   #12
MstrPBK
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Kinda fun to see me accidently return to this thread ...

To iconz113: Visual Basic and RealBasic are indeed two quite different programs; although they provide two similar forms of programming for the BASIC language.

To the general forum group: Infact I am currently pushing just that very question with a local technical college before I sign up for classes for my next round of education. While I use Macintosh ... the technical college is still stuck in Windows only mode, which I feel is VERY narrow thinking when it comes to program development in this millennium. I will see what happens and see if my question is ignored.

ON a divergent subject of this thread: ... if RealBasic is to Visual Basic what would be the corollary for Visual C in the Macintosh world?

MstrPBK
St. Paul, MN USA
MstrPBK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2009, 01:08 PM   #13
diademsoftware
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Send a message via AIM to diademsoftware
Xcode/objective-C

Quote:
Originally Posted by MstrPBK View Post
ON a divergent subject of this thread: ... if RealBasic is to Visual Basic what would be the corollary for Visual C in the Macintosh world?

MstrPBK
St. Paul, MN USA
diademsoftware is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2009, 04:45 PM   #14
MstrPBK
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Basic reply ...

that's ... what I thought. Just did not want to go around making assumptions.

MstrPBK
St. Paul MN USA
MstrPBK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2009, 07:07 PM   #15
bkap16
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killyp View Post
If it runs under WINE, then it'll almost certainly run under Crossover. I'd send off an email to Code Weavers, who make Crossover, and ask them if VB runs on their software.
If it runs on wine it better run on crossover. Crossover is just WINE with some extra hacks added. In fact, Crossover is responsible for a good portion of the wine development.
bkap16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2009, 02:26 AM   #16
ul1984
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sweden
If you're talking about VB.net, and you're fine compiling from the command line I think you can compile and run that using Mono. Once you installed Mono, try "vbnc" in your terminal.

But I'm not sure about the status of their VB.net support, but C# seems to work just fine. A few months ago I made a simple winforms app on my mac, compiled using mono, and the .exe produced ran just fine even on my Windows machine, without recompilation.
ul1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2009, 05:50 AM   #17
sylvia100
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
installing visual basics and bootcamp..

If i install bootcamp onto my mac laptop would it slow the performance by alot?? I was going to purchase bootcamp at JB-HI5 and they told me it's not worth it because it would slow my laptop down, but i really need it to run a program called ecstat (which requires visual basics) however at the same time i wouldn't want my laptop's performance to be effected..
sylvia100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2009, 06:49 AM   #18
Cromulent
macrumors 603
 
Cromulent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Land of Hope and Glory
Mono and MonoDevelop do in fact support Visual Basic on the Mac. The advantage with that is that they are free, open source packages.
__________________
Neural Advance - Mac OS X, UNIX and Windows Development
Last.fm Profile | Extreme Metal Reviews
MP 4x 2.66Ghz Xeons / 6GB RAM / 640GB + 500GB + 750GB + 1TB HDDs / ATI Radeon 4870 / iPad 3
Cromulent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2009, 08:43 AM   #19
lee1210
macrumors 68040
 
lee1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by sylvia100 View Post
If i install bootcamp onto my mac laptop would it slow the performance by alot?? I was going to purchase bootcamp at JB-HI5 and they told me it's not worth it because it would slow my laptop down, but i really need it to run a program called ecstat (which requires visual basics) however at the same time i wouldn't want my laptop's performance to be effected..
The only full-time effect that installing windows via bootcamp is going to have is disk usage. This shouldn't slow things down much at all. Otherwise, if you are only rebooting your machine to get into windows, it won't affect the speed of the machine while in OS X at all. If you run windows in a virtual machine under OS X using VMWare Fusion, Parallels Desktop, etc. then yes, while the VM is running (but only while it's running) the machine will be slower because it's devoting CPU time and memory to running a second OS. To sum it up, the people that gave you that information don't know what their talking about, or misunderstood what boot camp does.

-Lee
lee1210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2009, 03:26 AM   #20
sylvia100
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by lee1210 View Post
The only full-time effect that installing windows via bootcamp is going to have is disk usage. This shouldn't slow things down much at all. Otherwise, if you are only rebooting your machine to get into windows, it won't affect the speed of the machine while in OS X at all. If you run windows in a virtual machine under OS X using VMWare Fusion, Parallels Desktop, etc. then yes, while the VM is running (but only while it's running) the machine will be slower because it's devoting CPU time and memory to running a second OS. To sum it up, the people that gave you that information don't know what their talking about, or misunderstood what boot camp does.

-Lee
Thanks alot for your detailed answer. There's real basic that does the same/similar job as visual basic and i was wondering if i could dl it for free and if it takes up alot of space on my comp compared to installing xp windows/bootcamp onto my comp .. I don't know what would be better, getting bootcamp or just real basic..

Last edited by sylvia100; Aug 9, 2009 at 04:21 AM. Reason: extra questioning
sylvia100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2009, 04:31 AM   #21
lazydog
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cramlington, UK
Send a message via MSN to lazydog
Hi

RealBasic takes up less than 500 MBytes I think. You can download a 30 day trial but after that you have to buy a license.

e n
lazydog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2009, 04:18 AM   #22
sylvia100
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
thanks ben!
sylvia100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2009, 04:27 AM   #23
zippyfly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Just to point out the obvious in case it isn't:

You do NOT have to buy bootcamp.

It is FREE.

It "comes" with the Mac.

And your Mac will not be "slowed" by it because the Mac is "just" a PC hardware device, and you can install any OS onto it. The OS will run as fast as your hardware. In fact, Windows runs pretty darn fast on Mac hardware.

You might have gotten confused by Parallels and/or Fusion, neither of which I recommend for your purposes of running a native Windows environment for programming, without extraneous cost or complexity.
zippyfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2009, 10:32 AM   #24
VJBmacuser
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Visual Basic for mac

I am taking college courses and am looking for Visual basic software for mac that i can use for class projects. What are my options.
VJBmacuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2009, 10:54 AM   #25
rowsdower
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
As far as I know, Visual Basic has never been released for Mac. I don't think Office for Mac even has VBA. You will have to run Windows on a virtual machine if you want VB on your Mac.
rowsdower is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Visual Basic Module/Macro works in Windows Excel but not Mac Excel 2011 chrispy1042 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 May 4, 2014 08:41 AM
Visual Basic j_maddison Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Mar 15, 2014 06:49 PM
Free note app with basic formatting basic HTML Subu iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Mar 1, 2013 04:44 AM
Root Visual Shield on mac? somethincurious Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 30, 2012 08:48 AM
Visual journals/Visual diaries elephant stone Design and Graphics 2 Aug 6, 2012 12:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC