Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cleo

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 21, 2002
Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
In the terminal, how do I navigate to a directory folder that has a name with more than one word? For example, I have a folder in my home directory called "School stuff." How do I get in there from the command line? I tried dragging the window icon into the terminal, because that usually works, but then it tells me that I don't have permission. Help!

PCUser

macrumors regular
Mar 1, 2002
Since I'm not a mac techie, I'm not sure exactly what MacOS X is up to...

But from a UNIX perspective, assuming you're using bash and MacOS X is acting like other UNIX clones, there are two things here.

First, you get into a multiword directory by using quotes. If you have a directory named "School Stuff", it would be:

cd "School Stuff"

Second, file/folder permissions determine what user gets to view, modify, and execute the item (ie, view the contents of a folder, run an app, etc).

Taft

macrumors 65816
Jan 31, 2002
Chicago
Space character.

A space character is represented by a '\ ' on the command line. Thats a \ then a space character. Like this:

%ls
Dir1/
Dir2/
Dir Three/
The Bomb/
%cd Dir\ Three/

Also note that you can just type 'cd The' on the command line and then hit the tab key and it will auto complete '\ Bomb' for you. Sweet.

Matthew

PCUser

macrumors regular
Mar 1, 2002
Quotes are a string designator to the console. Anything inside of quotes is one group of characters. A space character works, but since I like the logical breakup of things like

mv "/home/x user/my folder" "/home/x user/old stuff/my folder"

I use quotes.

Rower_CPU

Moderator emeritus
Oct 5, 2001
San Diego, CA
Another cool feature is auto-complete.
Since I'm lazy and I don't want to type in "My Folder", I can just type:
cd My and then the "tab" key, and Terminal will fill in the rest for me:
cd My\ Folder/