Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2003, 09:21 AM   #1
coopdog
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Great Midwest
Video Card Broken? Strange.

My apple 17" CTR would not come out of sleep. So to rule out the moniter, I connected it to my PC's flatpannel. It also said that there was no signal coming from the VGA so I tried the DVI port. It worked. So the VGA doesn't work but the DVI works. My apple screen only has VGA so what should I do? Get an adapter or new video card?
coopdog is offline   0
Old Jun 18, 2003, 02:20 PM   #2
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Adapter would be cheaper.
What kind of Video Card is it?
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0
Old Jun 18, 2003, 08:14 PM   #3
coopdog
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Great Midwest
it's a G4 350 w/ a Rage 128. I tried an adapter that came with my video card (ati 9700) on my new PC. But the part that is horizonal on the dvi port has 4 prongs that cause the adapter not to fit onto the mac.
coopdog is offline   0
Old Jun 19, 2003, 01:50 AM   #4
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Didn't know that DVI for PC and Mac are different, why did they do that?
In your case (fast PC, no real need for better grfx on Mac), I'll get a DVI-VGA adapter.
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0
Old Jun 19, 2003, 03:34 PM   #5
yzedf
Banned
 
yzedf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Send a message via AIM to yzedf
Quote:
Originally posted by MacsRgr8
Didn't know that DVI for PC and Mac are different, why did they do that?
In your case (fast PC, no real need for better grfx on Mac), I'll get a DVI-VGA adapter.
So Apple can make more money.
yzedf is offline   0
Old Jun 19, 2003, 05:05 PM   #6
seamuskrat
macrumors 6502a
 
seamuskrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey USA
Send a message via AIM to seamuskrat Send a message via Yahoo to seamuskrat
Reset CUDA and PRAM

I had a similar problem. In fact, once afer upgrading to Jag and once for no particular reason.

Both times, reseting the CUDA swicth on the main logic board and resetting the PRAM solved he problem.
seamuskrat is offline   0
Old Jun 19, 2003, 05:41 PM   #7
iJon
macrumors 604
 
iJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally posted by MacsRgr8
Didn't know that DVI for PC and Mac are different, why did they do that?
In your case (fast PC, no real need for better grfx on Mac), I'll get a DVI-VGA adapter.
apple doesnt use a different dvi, i use my apple 20 inch on my mac and pc all the time.

iJon
iJon is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange: PCI-card causing kernel panic and then again not? Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 2 May 24, 2014 09:55 AM
USB alternatives for broken AirPort card strobo MacBook Pro 2 Jul 9, 2013 11:12 PM
Broken/Unreadable SD Card Help & Suggestions UltimaMC Digital Photography 3 Oct 7, 2012 09:23 PM
Broken graphics card in old Macbook? cfhjag MacBook 2 Sep 14, 2012 10:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC