Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

olmankensey

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 17, 2007
I am a brand new mac owner...yahoo! I have been lurking on this site for some time. I pretty much have my new imac all configured, but ran into an issue and I need some help.

I decided to purchase an external hard drive while I still had my windows xp machine. The idea was to use it as a backup and then when I got my mac I could just load all the files I wanted to transfer. I made sure to buy an external that could work on a mac or a pc.

Here's the trouble. I was able to move all my data to my mac. Now, when I try to delete the data from the external harddrive, it says I am not authorized. I am an administrator on the imac.

I ran it by some network guys at work and they said that it's likely that the hard drive needs to be reformatted for a mac. How do I do that? I don't care about the data anymore, it's all safely on the mac. I do, however, want to use the external HD in the future for backups to data on my mac, but the mac won't let me write to it.

Anyone have any ideas?

So far so good. I've had the imac for three days with no problems. It has been a joy to work with. Can't believe how easy it is!

Thanks!
Olmankensey

mklos

macrumors 68000
Dec 4, 2002
My house!
Try 1 of 2 things:

1. Plug in your ext HD and and turn it on. It should appear on the desktop like it always has. Then double click on Macintosh HD, then double click on Applications, and then double click on Disk Utility. On the left hand side of the Disk Utility window is a sidebar and your ext HD should appear in there. It will probably have either an orange or white drive looking icon. Click on that ONCE and then click on the Erase Tab. Make sure the partition type is Mac OS Extended (journaled) aka HFS+ (Journaled). Click on erase. That should erase and format the ext HD for use on your new Mac.