Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 10, 2007, 12:31 PM   #1
barkins
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Encino, CA
Send a message via AIM to barkins
MacBook Pro Webcam not working...

I haven't used my built-in web cam in months now and out of sheer bordem decided to play around with Photo Booth, to my surprise nothing was showing up. It's just a blank screen.

The little green light by the lens goes on.... but nothing comes up.

Anyone run into this?
__________________
butr.net
barkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2007, 02:23 PM   #2
majordude
macrumors 68020
 
majordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hootersville
Quote:
Originally Posted by barkins View Post
I haven't used my built-in web cam in months now and out of sheer bordem decided to play around with Photo Booth, to my surprise nothing was showing up. It's just a blank screen.
Did you take the lens cap off?
majordude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2007, 02:32 PM   #3
alexprice
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
The built in iSight doesn't have a lens cap.

I saw this issue on an iMac once and a SMC reset fixed it.

I think its called SMC, or perhaps SMU.

Last edited by alexprice; May 10, 2007 at 02:33 PM. Reason: Corrected sentence.
alexprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2007, 03:05 PM   #4
majordude
macrumors 68020
 
majordude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hootersville
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexprice View Post
The built in iSight doesn't have a lens cap.
Just kidding! Sheesh!

Open up QuickTime and record a movie, it should load the camera. If it doesn't open up there either then I am stumped.

Here is a link to the same problem on another forum:

http://forums.macosxhints.com/showth...t=reset+isight

The result was that it he had to replace the logic board and the upper bezel (the whole camera piece).
majordude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2007, 04:23 PM   #5
Nicolasdec
macrumors 65816
 
Nicolasdec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: London, UK
The webcam is called isight.
__________________
Macbook Pro 2.53GHz 4GB, 2.8GHz 4GB iMac
Canon 5D II, 24-105 L f/4, 70-300 DO f/4.5-5.6, 180 F/3.5 L, Lensbaby Composer.
Flickr
Nicolasdec is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2007, 06:50 PM   #6
coledog
macrumors 6502a
 
coledog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Adirondacks
Send a message via AIM to coledog Send a message via Skype™ to coledog
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304123
Info in the SMC reset...hope it works!
__________________
.home. Q6600, 6gb, 714gb, GTX 285 OCX, 7 Ultimate
.on the go. Unibody Macbook 2.4, 4gb, 250gb ||
.tunes. iPhone 4 16gb ||
coledog is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2007, 05:48 PM   #7
barkins
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Encino, CA
Send a message via AIM to barkins
Well I don't know what did it, but I just checked the iSight through iChat and bam! It works now! Can't figure out for the life of me what it was, but whatever. Thanks for all the tips and advice.
__________________
butr.net
barkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2010, 05:55 PM   #8
Nathan.Farshchi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
This fixed my Isight for my Macbook Pro

1. Turn off your Macbook pro

2. Unplug your charger

3. Hold the power key for five seconds and release

4. Plug your computer in again

5. Turn your computer back on.

My camera wasn't working, but the green light was on. So I looked all over different forums for a solution, and I couldn't find one any where. This came from the Apple website. I think it resets the system management controller(SMC). I don't really know anything about computers, but this instantly worked for me. I hope this helps some one
Nathan.Farshchi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2010, 04:32 PM   #9
lbird1188
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
the troubleshoot

so i am following these instructions (shutdown, unplug, hold 5 seconds, re-plug, and turn on), but the 5 second hold turns my computer on? anyone have any words of wisdom on this?
lbird1188 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2012, 02:45 PM   #10
cimol1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
feedback

Quote:
Originally Posted by coledog View Post
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=304123
Info in the SMC reset...hope it works!
It worked,
I registered (only) to thank you!

Cris
cimol1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical specifications of the internal webcam MacBook Pro and Air? mrclrnz MacBook Pro 3 Apr 13, 2014 11:30 PM
Macbook Pro Retina webcam light turns on when mounting or unmounting a program? alexanderasher MacBook Pro 14 Mar 14, 2014 10:56 PM
Retina MacBook Pro 2013 Webcam? Asian3340 MacBook Pro 0 Oct 24, 2013 03:22 PM
final cut pro x working very slowly on macbook pro Becky10 MacBook Pro 0 Aug 14, 2013 03:59 AM
webcam setting 1.0 not working darksiders Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 17, 2012 12:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC