Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 11, 2007, 01:30 AM   #1
BIGDaddyJ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Dual Cinema Displays for Mac Pro w/ NVIDIA 7300 GT?

I have a Mac Pro Dual Core 2.66GHz and want to use the dual Apple Cinema Displays that I am currently using on my G5. Problem is the NVIDIA 7300 GT card has 2 DVI ports that are too close together to connect both monitors. The design is kind of poor -- the 2 ports should be at least 1/8" further apart to allow the 2 monitors to be plugged in. The G5 videocard has enough of a distance for the DVI connections to be made quite confortably. You can't even connect the second DVI plug on the NVIDIA 7300. Geniuses at the local Apple store acknowledge the problem but claim that NVIDIA and Apple have no resolution. We tried different plugs; even tried to use adapters to see if it would make a difference. No dice.

Anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions?
BIGDaddyJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2007, 02:43 AM   #2
JeffreyM
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGDaddyJ View Post
I have a Mac Pro Dual Core 2.66GHz and want to use the dual Apple Cinema Displays that I am currently using on my G5. Problem is the NVIDIA 7300 GT card has 2 DVI ports that are too close together to connect both monitors. The design is kind of poor -- the 2 ports should be at least 1/8" further apart to allow the 2 monitors to be plugged in. The G5 videocard has enough of a distance for the DVI connections to be made quite confortably. You can't even connect the second DVI plug on the NVIDIA 7300. Geniuses at the local Apple store acknowledge the problem but claim that NVIDIA and Apple have no resolution. We tried different plugs; even tried to use adapters to see if it would make a difference. No dice.

Anyone else have this problem? Any suggestions?
You know the DVI-DVI cable in the box? That's what it's for.

Jeffrey
JeffreyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2007, 03:59 AM   #3
BIGDaddyJ
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
RE: Dual Cinema Displays for Mac Pro w/ NVIDIA 7300 GT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffreyM View Post
You know the DVI-DVI cable in the box? That's what it's for.

Jeffrey
Thanks, Jeffrey. I haven't seen the original box since I bought it (so its been a while) and the cable is probably still in there somewhere. It never occurred to me that there was an adapter since I've never run into that problem on any Mac that I've ever been on. I probably did see it and thought nothing of it because it didn't apply to my G5. Another forum pointed out that they did something similar with the Cube -- never had one, so can't confirm. I'll see if I can't dig up that pigtail.

What concerns me is that it would seem like a simple thing someone at an Apple Store would quickly have the answer to... Geniuses?...
BIGDaddyJ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2007, 06:21 AM   #4
Lycanthrope
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brussels, Belgium, Europe
It does seem a bit daft though to design a video card with two outputs and not to space them sufficiently apart that you then need an adapter to plug them in
__________________
Everything...
Lycanthrope is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2007, 09:48 AM   #5
dkoralek
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffreyM View Post
You know the DVI-DVI cable in the box? That's what it's for.

Jeffrey
You know, I had always wondered what that was for!

cheers.
dkoralek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 12:46 AM   #6
djfilms
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I need the DVI to DVI cable

I need that cable so I can setup dual monitors, anyone have a part number or know of a source where I can buy a replacement?
djfilms is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 Displays on Mac Pro 1.1 w/ Dual Radeon 5770 Ibrin Mac Pro 13 Feb 28, 2014 03:28 AM
Old Apple HD Cinema Display on Macbook Pro? veo321 MacBook Pro 3 Sep 26, 2011 08:14 PM
Mac Pro 1,1 (from 2007) and Cinema Display 27" Anders A Mac Pro 9 Feb 18, 2011 04:21 AM
New 30" Apple Cinema Display :-) jasone6 Mac Pro 10 Jan 6, 2011 05:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC