Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LimeiBook86

macrumors G3
Original poster
May 4, 2002
Go Vegan
Hello guys,

I'm a graphic designer and animator that has recently graduated out of a technical school, so I'm looking into some things that I can do next in my career (along with getting a better job ;)). So since Adobe has recently recently upgraded most of their software I thought it would be a good time to start thinking about becoming Adobe certified in a program or two. I was on the Adobe Certification (ACE) page and noticed it was $150 for the exam, but when a new version comes out you have to pay $50 within 90 days or you may lose your certification! :eek: So I thought now being the longest time before an update would be a good time to look into it.

I was thinking about getting certified for Adobe Photoshop and Macromedia Flash Designer (although the test listed seems to be for MX 2004 I may wait). I was wondering if anybody here is ACE certified or had any experience trying to become certified. They say the tests are about 60-90 multiple choice questions, and I'm not looking for somebody to help me out or cheat, but I was just curious if anybody has taken the test. And if so, do they have any recommended reading or tips about the test. I may just take the Adobe Photoshop test now and wait on the Macromedia Flash test until they update it, since it seems to be two versions behind. I mean Flash 2004 MX is old, Flash 8 is now old thanks to Flash CS3. Would anybody have a clue when they might update that? I don't think I want to pay an additional "re-certified" $75 fee just because they're slow on updating the tests. :p