Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macintoshxiii

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 15, 2006
I have this cyberduck ftp but the problem is I have alot which I don't understand... The first few problem lies in where I need to key the server but I really have no idea what to key in there, even though I have guide asking to key in. eg. gem1.soas.ac.uk then follow by password. And here I don't understand too of what sorta password to key? There are so many ???? for me.... I serious hope that there are some ftp experts, genuis to give me some details and brief pls for I am pretty new to ftp... hence pardon my noob experiences.... Thank you.....
4.jpg

What sorta of username do I need here as well as the password man?
I merely wanna upload some files over to my friend as well as download from my friend's pc/mac. Please advise experts.... thanx!

Mac-Addict

macrumors 65816
Aug 30, 2006
London
Erm... an FTP Is a way to upload files to a SERVER on the internet not file transfers from peer to peer... you need msn or any other IM service and send each other files that way...

macintoshxiii

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 15, 2006
Erm... an FTP Is a way to upload files to a SERVER on the internet not file transfers from peer to peer... you need msn or any other IM service and send each other files that way...

Sure dude.... I sure have msn to send files peer to peer... but what happen here is I heard that we could send files to server then your friend could so call download them over the server isn't it? But how can we do that? I guess that is a better idea to portray? Moreover msn send files are really slow.... seriously.... please show me guidance for ftp thank you.

Mac-Addict

macrumors 65816
Aug 30, 2006
London