Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2007, 02:02 PM   #1
heatasmallhouse
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Migration Assistant from PPC to Intel

Hey guys, I've got a 12" PB that I love to death, but I need more kick as I start getting into video. I'll be purchasing a MBP soon and I had heard some rumors about people running into issues down the road if they use migration assistant from a PPC laptop to a MBP with Intel. Everything works great and then they start getting strange "quirks" in OS. No further detail on what those quirks would be. I run FCP, Cubase, and After Effects like its my job so I'm concerned about keeping the MBP nice and quick, and considering the pain in the butt that is the drag and drop firewire method (I hate messing with settings).

Has anyone done the PPC to Intel transfer (hopefully specifically G4 laptop to Intel laptop) with or without problems? How was the experience, how long ago did you do it, and how has your Intel been treating you?

Last edited by Doctor Q; Jun 1, 2007 at 07:37 PM. Reason: duplicate thread merged
heatasmallhouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 02:04 PM   #2
SC68Cal
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I had no problems. I did it about 8 months ago. Tiger has been getting more stable on the Intel side as things go along. For a while, I was not satisfied with the reliability of Tiger on intel hardware.
SC68Cal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 03:09 PM   #3
CrzyCanuck72
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
I did it from a G4 eMac to a MacBook and 5 months later have had no problems at all.
__________________
mid-2010 13.3" MacBook Pro: 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
CrzyCanuck72 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 03:10 PM   #4
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
No problems at all. Just did a PB -> MB the other day. Worked like a charm. The user loves it! Did my own PB -> MBP about 6 months ago. Never had an issue.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migration Assistant mediotanque Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Mar 18, 2014 02:10 PM
migration assistant or setup assistant? [also connection method] KaraH iMac 1 Oct 7, 2013 10:48 AM
Migration assistant EK23 iMac 0 Jan 11, 2013 03:33 PM
Using Migration Assistant seble iMac 5 Oct 9, 2012 10:59 AM
Migration assistant: from PowerPC 10.5 to Intel 10.8 Muffin87 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 25, 2012 05:40 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC