Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2007, 02:53 PM   #1
fartheststar
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Vancouver
Bad memory or bad me? Powermac G4

Hi,

I just upgraded my memory on my G4 Powermac 1.25 Duallie (MDD).
I'm not very technical so i went and bought a stick of:

PC 2700 / 512 mb / 333 Mhz / DDR ram (Kingston brand, Samsung chips)

I have 4 slots (don't need pairing), 2 with 256 mbps, one with 512 mbps, one free (hence my decision to fill it).

Now it froze my system. I called in Kingston memory and they said
"you have model KVR333/512R memory, it should work but we have KTA-G4333/512 especially for macs". Try going to your retailer to get a different KVR333/512R because it may be bad memory or you just may be out of luck... He said it "should" work but ... I hate the word should.

Now have any of you had this issue? My retailer (tiger direct) doesn't do returns on memory, they want me to bring in the system and the memory to test it out. Is the model of memory different? Any thoughts on your end I am not a technical person and didn't realize that after I got all the specs right that there was a special model number.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
--
fartheststar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 02:56 PM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Test boot each individual stick to find the bad one if you don't know which one it is. It could be that the last one is just bad. I'd boot that one alone and see what turns up.

The Mac memory should be the same as the non-Mac. It's just guaranteed to work.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
76 Month Old MacBook
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 03:26 PM   #3
glennyboiwpg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Last spring I upgraded my powerbook g4 with more ram... I first went to best buy and bought some ram and stuck it in there... strange things started to happen, can't remember exactly but certain things just wouldn't work, it was very strange.

So I returned the ram and got some apple certified ram from a local apple retailer (not an apple store) and it worked wonderfully.

After spending so much on apple hardware... don't cheap it out now... its just not worth it.
glennyboiwpg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 09:01 PM   #4
scottlinux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennyboiwpg View Post
Last spring I upgraded my powerbook g4 with more ram... I first went to best buy and bought some ram
Yeah Bestbuy sells cheapo crappy ram that is overpriced.
scottlinux is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Best (fastest/reliable) form of networking for an old PowerMac media server? alexreich PowerPC Macs 11 Sep 13, 2011 07:07 AM
Powermac G4 Hackintosh advice? Qwertyfish11 PowerPC Macs 13 Jul 11, 2011 09:15 PM
bad internet or bad macbook? caffeeneaddict MacBook Pro 9 Aug 18, 2007 04:45 AM
Bad memory or bad me? (double post pls ignore) fartheststar Mac Pro 4 Jun 1, 2007 03:10 PM
Bad Ram or Bad Slot? interlaced Mac Basics and Help 8 Jan 17, 2006 01:26 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC