Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2007, 02:53 PM   #1
fartheststar
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Vancouver
Bad memory or bad me? Powermac G4

Hi,

I just upgraded my memory on my G4 Powermac 1.25 Duallie (MDD).
I'm not very technical so i went and bought a stick of:

PC 2700 / 512 mb / 333 Mhz / DDR ram (Kingston brand, Samsung chips)

I have 4 slots (don't need pairing), 2 with 256 mbps, one with 512 mbps, one free (hence my decision to fill it).

Now it froze my system. I called in Kingston memory and they said
"you have model KVR333/512R memory, it should work but we have KTA-G4333/512 especially for macs". Try going to your retailer to get a different KVR333/512R because it may be bad memory or you just may be out of luck... He said it "should" work but ... I hate the word should.

Now have any of you had this issue? My retailer (tiger direct) doesn't do returns on memory, they want me to bring in the system and the memory to test it out. Is the model of memory different? Any thoughts on your end I am not a technical person and didn't realize that after I got all the specs right that there was a special model number.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
--
fartheststar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 02:56 PM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Test boot each individual stick to find the bad one if you don't know which one it is. It could be that the last one is just bad. I'd boot that one alone and see what turns up.

The Mac memory should be the same as the non-Mac. It's just guaranteed to work.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / HD 7950 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 03:26 PM   #3
glennyboiwpg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Last spring I upgraded my powerbook g4 with more ram... I first went to best buy and bought some ram and stuck it in there... strange things started to happen, can't remember exactly but certain things just wouldn't work, it was very strange.

So I returned the ram and got some apple certified ram from a local apple retailer (not an apple store) and it worked wonderfully.

After spending so much on apple hardware... don't cheap it out now... its just not worth it.
glennyboiwpg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 09:01 PM   #4
scottlinux
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by glennyboiwpg View Post
Last spring I upgraded my powerbook g4 with more ram... I first went to best buy and bought some ram
Yeah Bestbuy sells cheapo crappy ram that is overpriced.
scottlinux is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my memory bad? miTunes75 Mac mini 5 Mar 2, 2013 10:30 AM
iMac G5 bad capacitors or bad power supply the problem? jpa66 PowerPC Macs 28 Jan 14, 2013 10:33 PM
iMac G5 bad capacitors or bad power supply? jpa66 iMac 4 Jan 7, 2013 09:05 PM
Bad memory, need logic board replacement? Easily fixed LOL. bbmiLo MacBook Air 5 Dec 20, 2012 11:42 AM
How to tell if this iMac memory is bad? mindquest iMac 4 Nov 27, 2012 02:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC