Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2007, 07:27 PM   #1
classof2011
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Upgrading an iMac G3's drives

OK, well this is what I just bought :

Graphite 400Mhz iMac G3
Slot-Load DVD-ROM drive
128MB RAM
13GB HD


And here are the parts what I want to upgrade with :

Combo drive from an iBook G4
512MB RAM
40GB HDD


My Questions:

I've heard that an iBook's combo drive will work with the G3 iMac. True?

The RAM I have is PC133 from NEC. Are they compatible?

Finally, the hard drive's question [note it contains Windows] . What all do I need to do to install OS X on the hard drive?


The iMac arrives in less than a week and I'd like to get some help to know what to do before then. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited by classof2011; Jun 3, 2007 at 09:09 PM.
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 07:59 PM   #2
papadopolis1024
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
the combo wont work (I think)


you will need to format the HD for OS X
papadopolis1024 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 08:04 PM   #3
PseudoWoobie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
The PC133 ram would work just fine, and like papadopolis said it's just a matter of reformatting the hard drive to something OS X likes (I'm not sure exactly how you do this though). As for the CD, I'm not sure. Anyone know about the CD?
PseudoWoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 08:04 PM   #4
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Quote:
Originally Posted by papadopolis1024 View Post
the combo wont work (I think)


you will need to format the HD for OS X


Oh, thanks!


How do you format the HD? Is there a link you can point me to? Thanks again.
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 08:06 PM   #5
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Quote:
Originally Posted by PseudoWoobie View Post
The PC133 ram would work just fine. I'm not sure about the CD drive though
Cool. Well my questions are answered. That was fast!
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 08:53 PM   #6
ReanimationLP
macrumors 68030
 
ReanimationLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the moon.
The combo should work fine, as they have the same connectors.

Just be sure to remove any brackets and adapters off the sides and the back of the two drives, and swap them.
__________________
"For what am I living?"
I want to shout it out loud. Can you hear me?


Stuff for Sale :3
ReanimationLP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 09:02 PM   #7
papadopolis1024
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReanimationLP View Post
The combo should work fine, as they have the same connectors.

Just be sure to remove any brackets and adapters off the sides and the back of the two drives, and swap them.
I dont think so will it the iBook one is thiner.

EDIT: Ok I might be wrong never mind sorry.
papadopolis1024 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 11:17 PM   #8
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Cool. There weren't any brackets or anything on it. I bought it thinking it would fit an iBook G3, but after failing [of course] I just left it alone.


A question about my hard drive.

I realized that "Cable Select" has to be enabled in order for the iMac to boot to it, correct?

The hard drive, like most others, has a diagram on how to enable it. There are 2 diagrams per option. Or at least it seems that way. For the Cable Select, I followed the bottom diagram. But there's also another diagram for Cable Select [so I think] that requires me to block 2 more "prongs" . Which one should I follow?

I have a 20GB HD that is definitely Cable Select ready, but I'd really like to use one with twice as much space.

Thanks.

Last edited by classof2011; Jun 2, 2007 at 03:06 PM.
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2007, 03:08 PM   #9
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
OK...so how do I get the hard drive formatted to boot to OS X? I don't have another Mac to "Target" it with...is there any way I can hook it up as a 2nd drive on my PC and format it from there then take it out?
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 02:32 PM   #10
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Anyone?

I just took off the bezel from the CDRW/DVD drive that would allow it fit an iBook. Then there was another piece right under where the iBook bezel was [made of metal/steel] held on by a screw and removed that. I think that's right. Somebody could tell me if that's right.

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 05:04 PM   #11
diehardmacfan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by classof2011 View Post
OK...so how do I get the hard drive formatted to boot to OS X? I don't have another Mac to "Target" it with...is there any way I can hook it up as a 2nd drive on my PC and format it from there then take it out?
once the hard drive is installed you will have to boot up from the mac osx install DVD by holding the c key at boot.

you will then use disk utility to reformat it as mac os x extended (journaled). It is under the erase tab

then you will install the os on it

good luck

diehardmacfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 05:48 PM   #12
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Quote:
Originally Posted by diehardmacfan View Post
once the hard drive is installed you will have to boot up from the mac osx install DVD by holding the c key at boot.

you will then use disk utility to reformat it as mac os x extended (journaled). It is under the erase tab

then you will install the os on it

good luck

Thanks!!!! I've been wondering which format it needed.

So if my hard drive supposedly has cable select enabled, it can boot with this one?
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 09:01 AM   #13
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
I don't know what "cable select" is, but just set the hard drive to master. Put the Jumper over the 2 pins with the M, not the S. It should work great. I have an exact clone of yours in my kitchen 400 G3, 40gb hd from an HP, and 512 ram. It works great as an itunes jukebox and the dasboard radar and recipies is nice too. All together it cost me $65!!
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 10:45 AM   #14
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Quote:
Originally Posted by shu82 View Post
I don't know what "cable select" is, but just set the hard drive to master. Put the Jumper over the 2 pins with the M, not the S. It should work great. I have an exact clone of yours in my kitchen 400 G3, 40gb hd from an HP, and 512 ram. It works great as an itunes jukebox and the dasboard radar and recipies is nice too. All together it cost me $65!!
Thanks! That really helped! Did you use any online instruction sites on how to take apart the iMac? If so, could you point me there? Thanks!
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 10:27 AM   #15
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
ifixit is a good one. But nothing beats just going at it.

Flip it over, remove the VGA out cover, take the 4 bolts out. Take the 2 bolts out by the front. Remove the bottom. Take out all the little screws that hold on the heat shield, i believe there are 8. Be very careful and use a magnetized screwdriver. You dont want to fish those out of the imac, it sucks. After you get the shield off you have it. 4 bolts on the HD and the same for the disk drive.

Have fun, tell us how it goes
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 12:24 PM   #16
tuc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
I have an iMac G3 with busted optical drive. What are you going to be do with the Slot-Load DVD-ROM drive you will be replacing?

As for the hard drive, if you look around you will find some web pages to the effect that you shouldn't put in 7200rpm drives for heat reasons. Others say that modern 7200rpm drives put out less heat than the original iMac G3 drives did, which makes sense.

I would guess any 40GB drive would be fine. (Were you to try a hard disk larger than 128GB I'm told the drive controller will see only the first 128GB.)
tuc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 02:59 PM   #17
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Quote:
Originally Posted by shu82 View Post
ifixit is a good one. But nothing beats just going at it.

Flip it over, remove the VGA out cover, take the 4 bolts out. Take the 2 bolts out by the front. Remove the bottom. Take out all the little screws that hold on the heat shield, i believe there are 8. Be very careful and use a magnetized screwdriver. You dont want to fish those out of the imac, it sucks. After you get the shield off you have it. 4 bolts on the HD and the same for the disk drive.

Have fun, tell us how it goes
Thanks! I looked at ifixit but I think they only supply guides for notebook take-aparts. And I sure will let you guys know!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuc View Post
I have an iMac G3 with busted optical drive. What are you going to be do with the Slot-Load DVD-ROM drive you will be replacing?

As for the hard drive, if you look around you will find some web pages to the effect that you shouldn't put in 7200rpm drives for heat reasons. Others say that modern 7200rpm drives put out less heat than the original iMac G3 drives did, which makes sense.

I would guess any 40GB drive would be fine. (Were you to try a hard disk larger than 128GB I'm told the drive controller will see only the first 128GB.)
Well...I have no idea if the CDRW drive I'm replacing it with would work. It could either work, or could do nothing . But, if the one I replace it with works, I'll PM ya!

Yeah, I've seen those websites that say they don't recognize anything after 128. Has something to do with the controller. But I think you could partition the drive to make the iMac think it has more than 1 drive. But I'm using an extra 40GB I had laying around.
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 03:33 PM   #18
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
I forgot that they were laptop only. They were great for my ibooks. It really isn't that hard if you follow the steps I gave. You aren't in the CRT area, so it isn't dangerous.

The speakers in the imac g3 are still amazing. I have 4 of them right now trying to fix up for presents. I need a couple more bigger hard drives. I am doing this using on-hand, free, or really cheap stuff.

There are some clips on youtube where a guy is replacing the hard drive. Search around for imac g3 here and you will find the links.

This whole thread feels like deja-vu
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 04:23 PM   #19
tuc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
iMac G3 speaker volume too loud

Quote:
Originally Posted by shu82 View Post
The speakers in the imac g3 are still amazing.
I have a problem with iMac G3 speakers, which is they are too loud even at their lowest setting. Hold the speaker-down button until there are no filled squares on the popup and it's silent. Then tap the speaker-up button just once (one filled square) and its too loud. This is both in os9 and osX.

Is there anything I can do about that--hack a preference file or something?

Quote:
There are some clips on youtube where a guy is replacing the hard drive. Search around for imac g3 here and you will find the links.
I will look for the iMac G3 disassembly guide I found about a year ago. If I can find it I will post a link.
tuc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 04:29 PM   #20
jayb2000
macrumors 6502a
 
jayb2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: RI -> CA -> ME
Send a message via AIM to jayb2000
http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/systems.html#imacs

Definitely a good resource
Not sure if they have the hard drive link or not
__________________
The universe is cool enough without making up stuff.
jayb2000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2007, 01:58 AM   #21
tuc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
disassembly document found

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuc View Post
I will look for the iMac G3 disassembly guide I found about a year ago. If I can find it I will post a link.
This isn't where I found it before, but this appears to be the same pdf document.

The disassembly instructions are on pages 82-109.
tuc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2007, 07:57 AM   #22
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuc View Post
I have a problem with iMac G3 speakers, which is they are too loud even at their lowest setting. Hold the speaker-down button until there are no filled squares on the popup and it's silent. Then tap the speaker-up button just once (one filled square) and its too loud. This is both in os9 and osX.

Is there anything I can do about that--hack a preference file or something?
Have you tried just turning it down on the application level? I usually have the hardware at half power and do the fine tuning in itunes. Yes, those speakers are loud(fills my whole house), and I love them.
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2007, 10:09 PM   #23
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
OK, back from Branson with the iMac now

I have...taken it apart several times for practice now. So now I have used all drives.

Now...for all but the original drive, I have gotten the blinking folder icon [of course] so I need to format the drive and install OS X on the drives.

And so I insert the Mac OS X disc and the blinking folder disappeared and came the Apple. I would let it sit for up to 30 minutes before I got impatient waiting on the "spinning wheel" .

Well, for a 400MHz/512MB ram iMac, how long should I wait for the installation menu to appear?


Thanks...
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2007, 09:18 AM   #24
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
Two or three minutes tops, Make sure your ram is well seated. Also, is the cd bad or scratched? Have you tried to boot it in target disk mode with another mac? If it boots that slow in target disk, it will rule out the cd or the drive being the problem. If it still boots that slow, check the ram. But even with 1 256 stick working, it still should be faster than that. I have installed tiger with just a 128 stick before, and it felt as slow as you are describing. You sometimes have to push harder on the ram than you think you should, but don't overdo it.
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2007, 01:04 PM   #25
classof2011
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flying with American Airlines
Well, now it's given me more problems.

I booted into 10.2 normally and afterwards I connected it to an Ethernet cable and ran Software Update. It downloaded Safari, 10.2.8, Quicktime, and StuffIt [all updates]. Right when it was just about to finish installing the last item, 10.2.8 update, it said "Your computer needs to be restarted. Please hold down the power button for several seconds or push the restart button." . So I held down the power button until it shut down, restarted it, and it turned out different.

The hard drive made much louder sounds, and took a bit longer to boot into OS X. When it did, I noticed that the keyboard worked, but not the mouse. I tried switching USB ports on the side and no difference. I also tried different mice and they did the same.

So I inserted the Mac OS X 10.3 Panther disc, a window for it popped up [although it didn't show anything], then it closed but the disc image remained on the desktop.

Then I switched hard drives. I gave it the 40GB set to "Master" and got the iMac running. Even though the disc is in the drive, it's acting like it can't see it now. I get the "blinking folder/?" and every few minutes I hear the disc drive start going...then it stops, and the blinking resumes.


So I have no clue what went wrong. I think I'll see if I can trade the iMac + RAM + 3 hard drives for an iBook
classof2011 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading SSD PCIe drives on new MBP retina by user. gymnast79 MacBook Pro 2 Nov 9, 2013 07:27 AM
naming external drives, hard drives, thum drives for best compatability Sossity Mac Peripherals 1 Apr 5, 2013 03:11 AM
G Drives not showing up on Imac pmalone100 iMac 3 Nov 7, 2012 12:51 PM
Since upgrading to ML, external drives refuse to eject tyrell456 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Jul 30, 2012 03:50 PM
Need help, upgrading drives in Quad G5 RansomeW PowerPC Macs 3 Jul 2, 2012 08:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC