Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 3, 2007, 12:18 PM   #1
methodmano
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Bad Memory (Dual G5)?

I have a dual 2.0GHz G5 with 2.5 GB PC3200 RAM (4x512MB & 2x256MB). Once in a while the machine will just turn off. If I try to reboot, then it gets to the grey screen with the wheel and then just shuts off. It will only boot all the way if I reseat the RAM. I ran memtest in single-user mode on each pair separately and they all passed. It's not a huge deal as it doesn't happen that often (maybe once every other week), but it is kind of annoying. I'm not sure I can test the RAM by using different combinations since it doesn't happen all the time. Besides this the machine runs fine. Any suggestions? Thanks!
methodmano is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 12:23 PM   #2
Father Jack
macrumors 68020
 
Father Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Send a message via Skype™ to Father Jack
Try removing all the ram except for 2 sticks and run it like that for a few weeks, then add 2 more etc.etc.

FJ
__________________
Father Jack Hackett
Parochial house
Craggy Island
Ireland
2.66 GHz Mac Pro with 12 Gb ram + 30" Dell.
Father Jack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 12:26 PM   #3
methodmano
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Thanks for the response. I was hoping to avoid running my machine on a smaller amount of RAM for a couple of weeks.
methodmano is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 12:29 PM   #4
Father Jack
macrumors 68020
 
Father Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Send a message via Skype™ to Father Jack
Things will slow down a tad, but if it helps identify the problem it will be worth it.

Personally i always use Crucial ram, and (touch wood) never had a problem.

Good luck

FJ
__________________
Father Jack Hackett
Parochial house
Craggy Island
Ireland
2.66 GHz Mac Pro with 12 Gb ram + 30" Dell.
Father Jack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 12:34 PM   #5
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
This is just a guess, but ---

A complete and sudden power down or black screen is NOT characteristic of failing RAM. If RAM is failing you would expect to get freezes or kernal panics, or three beeps on boot up.

Sudden shut down is more likely power supply or logic board, perhaps heat-related. The fact it works after reseating RAM is either coincidence, or the act of reseating the RAM is doing something else -- like flexing the motherboard -- which is changing something unrelated to the RAM.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 12:39 PM   #6
Father Jack
macrumors 68020
 
Father Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ireland
Send a message via Skype™ to Father Jack
I do hope it isn't the logic board. I had to replace a logic board in a iBook and it was seriously expensive

FJ
__________________
Father Jack Hackett
Parochial house
Craggy Island
Ireland
2.66 GHz Mac Pro with 12 Gb ram + 30" Dell.
Father Jack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2007, 01:53 PM   #7
methodmano
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Definitely not excited about the logic board having an issue. I thought that might be a problem, but I was hoping someone could point me to some other issue.
methodmano is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad memory that's not bad? tip MacBook Pro 1 Feb 15, 2008 10:40 PM
Bad memory or bad me? Powermac G4 fartheststar PowerPC Macs 3 Jun 1, 2007 09:01 PM
Bad memory or bad me? (double post pls ignore) fartheststar Mac Pro 4 Jun 1, 2007 03:10 PM
How do I know if I have bad Memory? C-Mezak General Mac Discussion 6 Sep 30, 2004 08:28 PM
usb problems=bad memory jlakis Macintosh Computers 0 Feb 22, 2004 12:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC