Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 4, 2007, 03:41 PM   #1
jknight8907
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Long-range wifi?

My grandfather is wanting to extend his wifi connection 1500 feet from his house to his shop. What does he need to do that?

thanks!
jknight8907 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 03:44 PM   #2
gauchogolfer
macrumors 601
 
gauchogolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: American Riviera
Send a message via AIM to gauchogolfer Send a message via Yahoo to gauchogolfer Send a message via Skype™ to gauchogolfer
An ethernet cable.








Seriously, I don't think anything will transmit that far, especially if there is any kind of obstruction.

Here are some DIY efforts that involve building antennas and hacking satellite dishes to beam the signal.
__________________
Victoria Concordia Crescit
gauchogolfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 04:04 PM   #3
shu82
macrumors 6502a
 
shu82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rocket City, AL
You could set up multiple repeaters. But seriously a cat-5 is the cheap way to go.
__________________
Mini 1.66 CD, PB G4 1.67 17" thx RichP!, ibook g3 466 LIME,
"Does Jimmy have Fear? 1000 times no...Jimmy has Fancy Plans, and Pants to Match"
shu82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 04:18 PM   #4
Kermit the frog
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Look into signal boosters. I don't know if they will amplify that far or not.
Kermit the frog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 04:23 PM   #5
sycho
macrumors 6502a
 
sycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Ummm, ethernet has a maximum length of 100 metres.
__________________
A pizza with radius 'z', and thickness 'a' has a volume of Pi*z*z*a.
sycho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 05:05 PM   #6
yg17
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by sycho View Post
Ummm, ethernet has a maximum length of 100 metres.
Yep. So he's got a couple options....fiber with a couple ethernet tranceivers on the end. This isn't too difficult. You basically have:
Code:
Router/switch -> Ethernet cable (doesn't have to be long) -> Tranceiver -> 1500ft of fiber -> tranceiver -> Ethernet -> router/switch/PC
Instead of a long ethernet cable, you use a long fiber cable with tranceivers on both ends to convert the ethernet to fiber. The tranceivers are transparent to the network equipment and require no configuration or expensive enterprise grade Cisco routers or anything. The biggest problem would be cost. Fiber isn't nearly as cheap as ethernet cable, and the tranceivers are probably a couple hundred bucks. But, it's relatively simple and more cost effective than option B:

2 separate networks (aka, 2 separate connections from his ISP). Setup a VPN server in his home and VPN into home from the shop

Fiber has a large one-time cost. VPN has little one-time cost (if you're willing to get your hands dirty with Linux rather than Windows Server 2003) but the monthly recurring cost. If it were me, I'd go with fiber.

But....there's something we don't know. These 1500 feet between his home and shop, does he own this land? Because you can't just run fiber across other people's land. If this isn't his proprety, VPN is his only option.
__________________
Barack Obama is not a foreign born, brown skinned, anti-war socialist who gives away healthcare. You're thinking of Jesus.
yg17 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2007, 05:21 PM   #7
localoid
macrumors 68020
 
localoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: America's Third World
Quote:
Originally Posted by jknight8907 View Post
My grandfather is wanting to extend his wifi connection 1500 feet from his house to his shop. What does he need to do that?

thanks!
Using higher-gain than stock, directional antennas on both the AP and the Bridge, and mounting both up high enough to achieve line-of-sight between the two points you could easily go 1500 feet (and beyond) with off the shelf wireless networking devices. But, if you don't need to cross over into someone else's property a wired solution would likely be easier and more cost effective.
localoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2007, 12:40 PM   #8
jknight8907
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Would a Cantenna work?

http://www.cantenna.com/
jknight8907 is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi hotspot from Wifi Cakester Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Sep 2, 2011 10:34 PM
iPad 2 broken already - WiFi Grayed out DribbleCastle iPad 10 Mar 14, 2011 01:10 PM
Buying Dilemma 16gb wifi + 3g or 32gb wifi? TomCondon iPad 11 Nov 28, 2010 12:39 PM
Wifi problems on 2g iphone prabhathandoo iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Nov 15, 2010 01:44 PM
2007 Macbook wifi connection problems jwbradle MacBook 2 Nov 3, 2010 01:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC