Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bilal

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2007
Hello all,

I've just registered after having browsed the forums for a few months. I'm a student and am definitely set on getting a 15'' low-end MBP. My question is, should I go ahead and get it? I've read somewhere here that if one waits untill WWDC is over, Apple might offer a free upgrade to Leopard for those who purchased new hardware after the conference.

flopticalcube

macrumors G4
Hello all,

I've just registered after having browsed the forums for a few months. I'm a student and am definitely set on getting a 15'' low-end MBP. My question is, should I go ahead and get it? I've read somewhere here that if one waits untill WWDC is over, Apple might offer a free upgrade to Leopard for those who purchased new hardware after the conference.

Where did you read this? I highly doubt it. Free upgrades come if you buy 30 days before Leopard ships. Since it is scheduled to ship in October I really doubt Apple will give free upgrades. Educational price will probably be less that $100.

samh004

macrumors 68020
Mar 1, 2004
Australia
I would of thought a free upgrade to Leopard would be for hardware purchases within a month of Leopards release, and it's not due for release till October, so...

Plus it's not an expensive upgrade by any means, I know your a student, but it's not much, really.

Ultimately there could be something worth waiting for at WWDC that could affect your purchase of a new MBP so unless you need it right this day, what's the harm in waiting, less than a week now... in the end you'll probably just end up buying what you wanted now, just you'll have more of a knowledge of what's coming in the next few months too :p

Bilal

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 5, 2007
Thanks for the replies.