Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 6, 2007, 12:11 AM   #1
0sX Le0p4rD
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Games Like Civilization 4, Age Of Empires 3, Etc...

Will they look good on the new base model MacBook Pro?
0sX Le0p4rD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 12:31 AM   #2
incoherent1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I just picked up a new 2.2 model today. I threw in Civ 4 to test it out at "High" for all graphics levels with top resolution, and it did beautifully; very playable.

I don't know how it would do at the larger and more progressed games (ie 10 civs all the way through to the year 2010), but I loaded some of the scenarios and it was great. I'd say it was noticably better than Civ 4 on my friend's C2D 1.83 Macbook when it's on "Low" for all settings at lowest resolution. Hope this helps.
incoherent1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 03:04 AM   #3
buywisdom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
do you have the standard ram config?

Last edited by buywisdom; Jun 6, 2007 at 03:16 AM.
buywisdom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 03:25 AM   #4
dooyou
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Munich
Send a message via ICQ to dooyou
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0sX Le0p4rD View Post
Will they look good on the new base model MacBook Pro?
AGE III and Civ 4 works also well on the MBP with the x1600 and C2D.
dooyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2007, 05:18 AM   #5
FleurDuMal
macrumors 68000
 
FleurDuMal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London Town
Quote:
Originally Posted by incoherent1 View Post
I just picked up a new 2.2 model today. I threw in Civ 4 to test it out at "High" for all graphics levels with top resolution, and it did beautifully; very playable.

I don't know how it would do at the larger and more progressed games (ie 10 civs all the way through to the year 2010), but I loaded some of the scenarios and it was great. I'd say it was noticably better than Civ 4 on my friend's C2D 1.83 Macbook when it's on "Low" for all settings at lowest resolution. Hope this helps.
Is that the OSX version or through Bootcamp? I hear Civ 4 is a lot faster under Bootcamp than Aspyr's shoddy, expensive effort.
__________________
MB / 2Ghz CD / 2GB RAM / 250GB HD
Nano / 8GB
D70s / 18-200mm VR (currently brokened)
Fujifilm F31fd (it's love)
My flickr
FleurDuMal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft to Bring Some Xbox and PC Games to the iPhone, 'Age of Empires' Expected First MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 79 Jun 26, 2013 05:56 PM
Age of Empires? phr0ze iPad Apps 8 Jun 25, 2013 12:22 PM
OS X: What are some nice games like Age of Empires/Sim City and The Sims? shtuffle Mac and PC Games 10 Apr 15, 2013 07:39 PM
Any games close to age of empires?? dopaminedude iPad Apps 1 Jan 17, 2013 12:33 PM
OS-neutral: Is there any online games like age of empires? Or anything fun and multiplayer aliensarecool Mac and PC Games 11 Oct 31, 2012 03:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC