Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 12, 2007, 12:32 AM   #1
wizwaz3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern Arizona
Safari - New Tab Button

I just downloaded the new Safari 3 Beta and I can't figure out how to get my "New Tab" button back. What do I do???
__________________
apple
wizwaz3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 12:36 AM   #2
samh004
macrumors 68020
 
samh004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
There was a button ?

Just hit + T
__________________
samh004 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 12:36 AM   #3
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Just curious, why don't you use command + T, to create a new tab?
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 12:37 AM   #4
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Since the "new tab" button requires a hack, I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't work on Safari 3. It'll likely take a little while for developers to figure out a way to do it again.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 03:36 AM   #5
drater
macrumors 6502a
 
drater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Send a message via AIM to drater
I know you can use " + click or T" to open up a new tab. But is there a way to just click a link and have it open in a new tab? for instance if there was a link in here like www.randomlink.com, and I clicked it, it would open in a new tab. can it do that?
__________________
"You know, Dude, I myself dabbled in pacifism once. Not in 'Nam of course."---Walter Sobchak
drater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 03:45 AM   #6
MacDonaldsd
macrumors 65816
 
MacDonaldsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London , UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by drater View Post
I know you can use " + click or T" to open up a new tab. But is there a way to just click a link and have it open in a new tab? for instance if there was a link in here like www.randomlink.com, and I clicked it, it would open in a new tab. can it do that?
Hold down the key when you click the link
MacDonaldsd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 06:22 AM   #7
drater
macrumors 6502a
 
drater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Send a message via AIM to drater
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDonaldsd View Post
Hold down the key when you click the link
not to be rude, but I said I knew that...I'm lazy, I just want to click, and BAM! new tab.
__________________
"You know, Dude, I myself dabbled in pacifism once. Not in 'Nam of course."---Walter Sobchak
drater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 06:24 AM   #8
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by drater View Post
not to be rude, but I said I knew that...I'm lazy, I just want to click, and BAM! new tab.
same old firefox/camino
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 09:29 PM   #9
wizwaz3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern Arizona
I never actually had to "hack" anything. I just remember being able to put it on the toolbar, but I can't figure out how to now...
__________________
apple
wizwaz3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2007, 09:43 PM   #10
brogers
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Greensboro, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by drater View Post
I know you can use " + click or T" to open up a new tab. But is there a way to just click a link and have it open in a new tab? for instance if there was a link in here like www.randomlink.com, and I clicked it, it would open in a new tab. can it do that?
If you have a Mighty Mouse and the scroll ball is set to "Button 3" in the Keyboard and Mouse preferences you can click the scroll ball on a link and it will automatically open the link in a new tab. Works great!!
brogers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2007, 06:46 AM   #11
swindmill
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizwaz3 View Post
I never actually had to "hack" anything. I just remember being able to put it on the toolbar, but I can't figure out how to now...
Safari Stand and a separate hack simply called Safari Buttons were the only ways to get a tab button in Safari 3, as far as I know. Stand also allows 'single window mode' so links always open in new tabs.
__________________
27" iMac i3 3.2GHz | 11" MBA i5 1.7GHz | 20" ACD | TV2 | iPhone 5S 32GB Black | iPhone 5 64GB White | iPad 2 64GB 3G | iPad Air 32GB
swindmill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2007, 07:47 AM   #12
clevin
macrumors G3
 
clevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by swindmill View Post
Safari Stand and a separate hack simply called Safari Buttons were the only ways to get a tab button in Safari 3, as far as I know. Stand also allows 'single window mode' so links always open in new tabs.
i thought safari stand will not work in safari 3 yet?
clevin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:05 AM   #13
WildCowboy
Administrator/Editor
 
WildCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Yes, the only simple way to add a "New Tab" button to Safari was to use a third-party hacking app like SafariButtons or Ollie's Tabs, both of which are tough to find these days (last time I checked). Generally these apps remapped either the bug report button or the increase/decrease font size buttons.
__________________
Editor in Chief, MacRumors
WildCowboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 02:25 AM   #14
cycocelica
macrumors 68000
 
cycocelica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Send a message via AIM to cycocelica
I just suggest draggin your finger to  key and holding it. Or get a mouse like the MM and set the third button to do that.

Downloading Camino/Firefox does this as well.
__________________
Seattle sports = fail
cycocelica is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 03:46 AM   #15
Crispy Duck
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Safari Enhancer

A little utility called Safari Enhancer also added a New Tab button, it's stopped working with Safari 3, hopefully it will be updated soon. You can also change the Google Search bar to regional ones like Google UK etc. Very useful.
Crispy Duck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 02:20 PM   #16
flyinmac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crispy Duck View Post
A little utility called Safari Enhancer also added a New Tab button, it's stopped working with Safari 3, hopefully it will be updated soon. You can also change the Google Search bar to regional ones like Google UK etc. Very useful.
Unfortunately, probably not. The developer has stated in his forums that he will not continue updating and developing Safari Enhancer anymore due to personal reasons / life.

I do hope that Apple will finally implement this feature. All the other browsers have it, why not Apple.

I really like and prefer Safari. But, why must we sacrifice something so simple that really should be built-in.

I have submitted my request to Apple for them to implement the feature in upcoming releases. Hopefully they'll comply and activate this simple little button for us.

If you want to request it yourself, go ahead. I would encourage everyone to request this feature (and any other feature you would like). If enough people request a given feature, then maybe Apple will see that it is worth their time to add it.

You can request features and changes on Apple's website at:

http://www.apple.com/feedback/

There is not a direct button to suggest improvements to Safari. Instead, choose to give feedback on OS X. Then, in the box for "Feedback Area" choose "Internet/Web"

For "Feedback Type", I chose design / ease of use. But, efficiency/workflow would probably be suitable from a certain perspective. It's most likely suited to design / ease of use though.

Anyway, I encourage everyone to give feedback and suggest features for anything you would like. I drop by there an request features or changes to computers, OS X, and anything else whenever something I'm doing doesn't seem to be handled right, or if I see a lack in what I'm using.
flyinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 03:05 PM   #17
merc669
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern MD, USA
Send a message via AIM to merc669 Send a message via MSN to merc669 Send a message via Skype™ to merc669
Why not just go to "View" + Customize Toolbar and then Drag the New Tab Button to your Toolbar...No hacks needed.....

Bill.....

P.S. Works both in Safari 2 and 3!
__________________
MBP 15.5" with 2G Ram and OS X 10.5.6
merc669 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 03:13 PM   #18
flyinmac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by merc669 View Post
Why not just go to "View" + Customize Toolbar and then Drag the New Tab Button to your Toolbar...No hacks needed.....

Bill.....

P.S. Works both in Safari 2 and 3!
You must be joking

There is no such button in the customize toolbar screen (unless you've already installed a hack).
flyinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 03:37 PM   #19
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
Quote:
Originally Posted by merc669 View Post
Why not just go to "View" + Customize Toolbar and then Drag the New Tab Button to your Toolbar...No hacks needed.....

Bill.....

P.S. Works both in Safari 2 and 3!
Because there isn't one...?
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 04:46 PM   #20
merc669
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern MD, USA
Send a message via AIM to merc669 Send a message via MSN to merc669 Send a message via Skype™ to merc669
My Bad....Dug a little deeper and forgot I have SaferiStand installed. Thats where the tab button came from.

Bill.....
__________________
MBP 15.5" with 2G Ram and OS X 10.5.6
merc669 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 04:49 PM   #21
Jonx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
try this http://www.mediafire.com/?agg4ymn1t9m
Jonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 08:22 PM   #22
wizwaz3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonx View Post
THANK YOU SO FLIPPIN' MUCH!!!!

I is a happy camper now!

Strangely, though, I don't remember ever having to hack, I just remember seeing it in the customize window and I thought it was weird I could never find it on any other mac... Hmm...
__________________
apple
wizwaz3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 08:26 PM   #23
iCe Cube
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Glasgow, Scotland
Quote:
Originally Posted by cycocelica View Post
I just suggest draggin your finger to  key and holding it. Or get a mouse like the MM and set the third button to do that.

Downloading Camino/Firefox does this as well.
I think its pretty damn lazy on Apple's part to not even have a 'new tab' button. Apple + T is not a good enough substitute in my opinion.
__________________
Mac mini + 1.42 Ghz + 512 mb + 80 gb = super computer
iCe Cube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 08:55 PM   #24
flyinmac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonx View Post
Could we get a little information on how this works and the individual making it available?

I guess I'm just a bit cautious downloading files from places I don't know and then installing them (especially in web browsers which may be used to order things online with credit cards).

Any information greatly appreciated.
flyinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 08:56 PM   #25
flyinmac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCe Cube View Post
I think its pretty damn lazy on Apple's part to not even have a 'new tab' button. Apple + T is not a good enough substitute in my opinion.
I'd have to agree there. Especially since I can't think of another web browser that supports tabbed browsing and doesn't offer a new tab button.
flyinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Xcode [how can i do so a button sends me to a specific tab] Intelligent Mac Programming 26 May 14, 2014 10:40 AM
Opening URL from Mail overwrites Safari tab instead of opening new tab hscottm OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Nov 21, 2012 02:02 PM
For Safari for Windows 7, is there a shortkey to navigate from tab to tab? piatti Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Sep 22, 2012 11:47 AM
Safari iCloud Tab Button That-Guy OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 6, 2012 01:46 PM
Safari tab swiping TJ5921 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jul 26, 2012 03:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC