Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:05 AM   #1
Willis
macrumors 68020
 
Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: What feels like the middle of nowhere
PowerBook G4 wont Ding at startup?!

Pretty much as the title says... I'm really stumped on this..

It's now the second time its done it. The first time I checked and verified permissions, verified the disk and it said that it needed to be repaired... Repaired it and all was well...

Try and clone its HD so I can do a clean install to get rid of 3 years of rubbish and big bits of software like VPC... it failed, froze, restarted, no ding... fully loads..

Im rather concerned. At the moment it works, as far as I can tell, perfectly... just no ding!!

Ideas?
__________________
MacMini 2.3GHz, 4GB Ram, 500GB
iPhone 5s 64GB
iPad 16GB Wifi (4th Gen)
Willis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:08 AM   #2
Fearless Leader
macrumors 68020
 
Fearless Leader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wonderland
is your computer muted?
also try reseting pram.
__________________
Oh yes mustard! That'll do... Mustard? Don't let's be silly. Now lemon, that's different...
Fearless Leader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:09 AM   #3
puckhead193
macrumors G3
 
puckhead193's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
is the sound/speaker volume on mute? I don't think it effects the ding noise but i could be wrong. Does the ding noise come from a different speaker other then the ones on the sides
__________________
nMP - 6 core, D700s, 32 gig, 1 TB, NEC PA272W
20" iMac C2D
17" MBP i7
iPod Touch, 64 GB iPhone 5, 64 GB iPad 3
puckhead193 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:11 AM   #4
Willis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: What feels like the middle of nowhere
1) speaker volume doesnt effect the Ding... its default to go on at startup... for some reason, it isnt..

2) no, havent reset PRAM.. doubt that would be a fix either
__________________
MacMini 2.3GHz, 4GB Ram, 500GB
iPhone 5s 64GB
iPad 16GB Wifi (4th Gen)
Willis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:13 AM   #5
Fearless Leader
macrumors 68020
 
Fearless Leader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wonderland
reset the pram, it solves so many weird problem. Almost always is the fix.
besides its simple click power button and hold down option apple "p" and "r"
__________________
Oh yes mustard! That'll do... Mustard? Don't let's be silly. Now lemon, that's different...
Fearless Leader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:15 AM   #6
Willis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: What feels like the middle of nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rokem View Post
reset the pram, it solves so many weird problem. Almost always is the fix.
besides its simple click power button and hold down option apple "p" and "r"
yeah I know it can... but... this?! I will give it a shot... at the moment I'm trying to clone the drive again... but I'm not going to touch the damn thing this time!
__________________
MacMini 2.3GHz, 4GB Ram, 500GB
iPhone 5s 64GB
iPad 16GB Wifi (4th Gen)
Willis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:17 AM   #7
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willis View Post
1) speaker volume doesnt effect the Ding... its default to go on at startup... for some reason, it isnt..

Yes it does. Mute your sound and restart to test it, maybe on another machine though.

With the disk repair, did you continue running it 'til it made no changes? Running it once sometimes doesn't suffice.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:20 AM   #8
Willis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: What feels like the middle of nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
Yes it does. Mute your sound and restart to test it, maybe on another machine though.

With the disk repair, did you continue running it 'til it made no changes? Running it once sometimes doesn't suffice.
It doesnt... I tried that years ago out of curiousity... also, I know the sound isnt muted because it was making noises when I tried to click on anything.

I ran it until it said 'Disk repaired'

I've already done another Verify, and its said its fine, as did Onyx
__________________
MacMini 2.3GHz, 4GB Ram, 500GB
iPhone 5s 64GB
iPad 16GB Wifi (4th Gen)
Willis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:24 AM   #9
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Okay, so are you saying the machine is otherwise fine, but it's not giving you POST feedback?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:24 AM   #10
deadpixels
macrumors 6502a
 
deadpixels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
people have been trying, unsuccessfully, to get rid of / change the startup sound in macs for years, you should be happy!!
anyway, repair permissions and delete the "com.apple.Powermanagement.plist" located in HD/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration folder
__________________
http://www.pcwf.org/
deadpixels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:25 AM   #11
biturbomunkie
macrumors 6502a
 
biturbomunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California Republic
this might help.
__________________
scientia vincere tenebras
g4 cube 500mhz 1.5gb ram | mbp c2d 2.16ghz 2gb ram | black nano+akg k81 | orange shuffle+jvc marshmallow
biturbomunkie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:26 AM   #12
Fearless Leader
macrumors 68020
 
Fearless Leader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wonderland
Volume setting does affect wether or not the charm/ding goes off. Well It does on my MBP and PowerMac Dual 1.8ghz, anyways.

go ahead and cancel the clone.
__________________
Oh yes mustard! That'll do... Mustard? Don't let's be silly. Now lemon, that's different...
Fearless Leader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:31 AM   #13
Willis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: What feels like the middle of nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
Okay, so are you saying the machine is otherwise fine, but it's not giving you POST feedback?
as far as I can tell... its fine... but not hearing that Ding is worrying... Its as if its a sign... no ding, something bad gonna happen..

thanks for the advice though guys
__________________
MacMini 2.3GHz, 4GB Ram, 500GB
iPhone 5s 64GB
iPad 16GB Wifi (4th Gen)
Willis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:35 AM   #14
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
The startup sound has nothing to do with the OS. It's built into Open Firmware. You could have no hard drive installed, and you will still hear the startup sound. Are you getting sound when the computer is booted?
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 12:43 AM   #15
Fearless Leader
macrumors 68020
 
Fearless Leader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wonderland
^^
Ah yes, thank you. I was having difficulties operating my brain when I tried to support my statement about canceling the drive clone.
__________________
Oh yes mustard! That'll do... Mustard? Don't let's be silly. Now lemon, that's different...
Fearless Leader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 02:49 AM   #16
Willis
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Willis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: What feels like the middle of nowhere
no ding, yet was booting fine...

Anyway, it cloned fine... and afterwards, Ding-ed as usual...

I did however reset the PRAM, and when I did, the Ding was slightly quieter than the first... *shrug* either way, the HDD is getting nuked for a clean install
__________________
MacMini 2.3GHz, 4GB Ram, 500GB
iPhone 5s 64GB
iPad 16GB Wifi (4th Gen)
Willis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 03:30 AM   #17
Sopranino
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
The startup chime is sounded if everything on the pre-boot check is fine, no chime means that there is a problem. You indicate that you are running a PowerBook, one of the most common failures on certain models of PBs is for the lower memory slot to quit. (Happened to mine) Everything will still boot and work fine but you will only be running on whatever size of memory stick is in the upper slot. I suggest that you click on the Apple icon (upper left of the screen) and then click on 'About this Mac', this will pop up a little window that tells you two main items, the speed of your processor and the amount of memory installed. If the amount of memory showing as installed is less than what you know you have then chances are one of your memory slots has died.

Post back with your results.

Sopranino
Sopranino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 10:37 AM   #18
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willis View Post
no ding, yet was booting fine...

Anyway, it cloned fine... and afterwards, Ding-ed as usual...

I did however reset the PRAM, and when I did, the Ding was slightly quieter than the first... *shrug* either way, the HDD is getting nuked for a clean install
Nooooo! How many times do you need to hear that the startup sound has nothing to do with software? That's nothing, as in nothing!
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 09:47 PM   #19
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Test it if you don't believe me, but the mute keys on a Mac's keyboard can indeed mute the POST. This has not always been the case, but is certainly applicable in 10.4.9.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 09:56 PM   #20
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew View Post
Test it if you don't believe me, but the mute keys on a Mac's keyboard can indeed mute the POST.
That's how it's worked on my machines for awhile...
aristobrat is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 12:09 AM   #21
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
Pre-OSX, the POST sound volume could be set along with the system volume. Since OSX, I've never had much luck changing it, but I haven't tried recently either.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 12:16 AM   #22
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I literally tested it this morning on a 10.4.9 eMac, iMac G5 and iBook G4. I remember being able to do it since 10.3. However, this article by Apple implies it wasn't always possible on 10.0. Meh. This is merely a mute point, of course.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 10:33 AM   #23
IJ Reilly
macrumors P6
 
IJ Reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Palookaville
"May allow." Lovely.

At least it wasn't just my imagination.
__________________
*The season starts too early and finishes too late and there are too many games in between.
Bill Veeck
IJ Reilly is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro A1278 (2011) Startup with DING to white screen GelleCC MacBook Pro 8 Oct 20, 2013 05:44 PM
powerbook won't startup! wildernessbob PowerPC Macs 6 Oct 5, 2012 01:57 PM
Mac wont startup, after me messing! Mistry MacBook Pro 11 Sep 26, 2012 04:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC