Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 15, 2007, 04:02 AM   #1
sunfast
macrumors 68020
 
sunfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Volume stopped working

Hello all, but of a curious one here.

I can't seem to adjust my system volume using either the slider on the menu bar or the keys on my keyboard.

When I try, the volume change display appears but wont work. Have taken a screenshot.

Any ideas?
Attached Images
 
__________________
upstart racing
sunfast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 04:24 AM   #2
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Repair permissions, relaunch Dock and Finder and/or restart.
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 04:45 AM   #3
sunfast
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
sunfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Cool, thanks for the tips. Will try when I get home.
__________________
upstart racing
sunfast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 05:09 AM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
If those methods don't work (and they should), then a quick PRAM reset might get you back on your feet, as shown here.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 05:14 AM   #5
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
^^ Cool, didn't see that other thread... it was the little '' that made me think of permissions, but the PRAM makes even more sense when it comes to Volume settings...
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 05:40 AM   #6
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I've seen it a bit 'round here recently. There's a bug with the audio jack and a restart fixes it, but there seems to be another bug out there that needs the full PRAM reset to kick it back into action.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 09:11 AM   #7
alaskamac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
actually just had that happen to me with my imac, repair permissions did not work, however resetting the PRAM did. now if you can think of anyway to make Mail launch i'd be doing alright. i click on it in the dock and nothing comes up. to make matters worse i have to use force quit to make the little gray triangle go away. (can't use the short cut)
alaskamac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 05:59 PM   #8
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Try dragging a file named com.apple.mail.plist from your Preferences folder to the Desktop. Does it launch now?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 06:13 PM   #9
alaskamac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
mail trouble

are you talking about mail-->preferences? i can't even get mail to launch from the applications folder. i get the beach ball and then have to force quit because of non responding
alaskamac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2007, 06:23 PM   #10
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Nah. Do a Spotlight search for that file and drag it to the Desktop. It's in a folder in your Home folder's Library called Preferences.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 05:48 AM   #11
sunfast
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
sunfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Only just had a chance to try the tips and no joy!

I've repaired permissions, reset the PRAM and relaunched finder/dock and still can't change volume.

Any more ideas chaps?
__________________
upstart racing
sunfast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 05:53 AM   #12
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Does it work if you log into another account (make one if you have to)?
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 06:04 AM   #13
sunfast
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
sunfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
Yes it does!

How do you think I can fix it?
__________________
upstart racing
sunfast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 06:12 AM   #14
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Don't know, yet... but I have a couple of ideas...

From your original account, can you regulate the volume if you go directly in System Preferences -> Sound -> Output and use the Output volume slider?
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 06:22 AM   #15
sunfast
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
sunfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London
You've solved it!

Went to sound pref and, as you can see from the screenshot, the selected output device had no volume control. I changed the output device and we're off!

Thanks for the help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	72.1 KB
ID:	77891  
__________________
upstart racing
sunfast is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 06:24 AM   #16
Mitthrawnuruodo
Moderator
 
Mitthrawnuruodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bergen, Norway
Not the culprit I was expecting, but always glad to be of some assistance...
__________________
Those who fail to learn history are doomed to repeat it; those who fail to learn history correctly... why, they are simply doomed.
Mitthrawnuruodo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2007, 06:31 AM   #17
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunfast View Post
You've solved it!

Went to sound pref and, as you can see from the screenshot, the selected output device had no volume control. I changed the output device and we're off!

Thanks for the help
Some pieces of software will install the aggregated sound driver and give the symptoms you were describing. I had a similar issue when I install iShowU and used the option to record system volume. Glad you found the solution, just thought i would point this out.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mic stopped working after replacing iPhone 5 power/volume flex cable jnashguitar iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 10 Jul 6, 2014 11:19 PM
Tapatalk stopped working nizmoz Site and Forum Feedback 21 Apr 10, 2013 11:12 AM
iPhone: Volume buttons stopped silencing notifications? solarguy17 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Feb 10, 2013 07:09 AM
Volume keys and on screen volume controls not working??? 11j11 Mac Basics and Help 2 Oct 8, 2012 12:15 PM
Volume button stopped working dyrt10 iPhone 2 Sep 29, 2012 03:15 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC