Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 7, 2003, 11:40 AM   #1
kray
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
need an external hard disk

Can anyone recomend a well regarded external hard disk for a ti powerbook. 60GB is probably plenty big. I'd like it to be portable and no separate power supply is a plus.
kray is offline   0
Old Jul 7, 2003, 11:53 AM   #2
patrick0brien
macrumors 68040
 
patrick0brien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The West Loop
Send a message via AIM to patrick0brien Send a message via Yahoo to patrick0brien
-kray

I use this for my 12PB.

Seems to hit every mark you are looking for. I use this one for video editing, but there is a 'little brother' that is 4500RPM and smaller cache if you don't require the bandwidth (save $100).

These are FireWire bus powered - truly portable and small (about the size of a Pocket PC). It does come with an external cord if you wish to plug it in, but I've never used it. No drivers, just unpack, flip the little switch to "bus power", plug it in, and it'll mount. Still have to drag to trash before unplugging, otherwise you'll get the "data might be lost" message.
__________________
This comment has been edited for Content, Formatted to Fit Your Screen and to Run in the Time Allotted

Last edited by patrick0brien; Jul 7, 2003 at 11:58 AM.
patrick0brien is offline   0
Old Jul 7, 2003, 11:54 AM   #3
morlium
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Lacie's Data Bank goes up to 20GB and comes highly recommended
... and of course, there's always the 30GB iPod.

edited for ignorance.
__________________
Check out my latest work.
morlium is offline   0
Old Jul 7, 2003, 12:03 PM   #4
Schiffi
macrumors 6502a
 
Schiffi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Missouri
Send a message via AIM to Schiffi Send a message via Yahoo to Schiffi
I use the ADS Pyro Drive Kit. It's not really that protable and it uses a seperate line for power, but it's upgradeable. You get it without any HDs included, but a 40gig runs about $50 right? Anyway, it uses 3.5" HDs or 5.25" drives. So if you get tired of having storage you can put in an optical drive. They have 2 FW400 ports in back and I use it with capturing DV video and it works pretty good.

www.adstech.com
__________________
SEE 7ON
Schiffi is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I run apple hardware disk from a clone of the Install disk 2 on an external hard Ngarritj MacBook Pro 2 Aug 11, 2013 01:42 AM
iTunes Wakes External Hard Disk Ryan.Tanner OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jan 4, 2013 05:27 PM
External Hard disk Help watsonjm iMac 4 Dec 5, 2012 01:23 PM
USB 3.0 External Hard disk Spybe Buying Tips and Advice 18 Oct 10, 2012 07:43 AM
Trouble formatting a 3.0TB external hard disk DanielCalladine Mac Peripherals 1 Sep 30, 2012 11:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC