Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 18, 2007, 06:32 PM   #1
bprice
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA, Ca.
File transfer from PC to Mac

I know Iím giving up a little soon but. .ÖI just got my Mac Mini last week and I want to import files from my PC.Iíve done a search and the closest Iíve come to anĒeasyĒ solution was move2mac.Anybody have a fairly clear-cut simple way to migrate my files? thanks.

Butch
bprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2007, 06:38 PM   #2
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
what medium would you be using to transfer them?? ethernet, hhd, firewire? etc
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2007, 06:41 PM   #3
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
How much stuff do you want to copy?

Burning a DVD could be easy if its under 5GB...I didn't need any apps when I transferred via ethernet (share the folders on Windows, and find them with Finder->Network on the mac)
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2007, 06:43 PM   #4
Daiden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
I use an external drive to transfer files, formatted in the FAT32 file system. Both the Mac and PC can write and read FAT32.
Daiden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2007, 06:52 PM   #5
bprice
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA, Ca.
Thanks all.

I used ethernet(I don't have a dvd burner or ext HD)

i tried to network share files but ..i can't get it to work ....I have no idea why ....

if any one has a "simplified" walk thru not a link and head scratch for two hours(the mac tutorial is way too convoluted for me)....please don't assume i know the all the acronyms... or much of anything!! Plain language works best ...

thanks again

bp
bprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2007, 07:11 PM   #6
Genghis Khan
macrumors 65816
 
Genghis Khan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
lol...kk

the way i do it (mates PC, my MacBook), is with ethernet (hope you know what that is, if not look in the dictionary).

connect the ethernet to the PC and Mac (make sure they're both on)

go to finder/network

in there it should be under servers...if not, you have to browse to find it (don't know it well enough to get detailed here)

if you see your PC under server, click on it and just go ahead and copy the files
__________________
Mac Pro 3,1
2.8GHz Octo, 10GB RAM, EVGA GTX660 SC 2 GB
Genghis Khan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2007, 07:52 PM   #7
bprice
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA, Ca.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genghis Khan View Post
lol...kk

the way i do it (mates PC, my MacBook), is with ethernet (hope you know what that is, if not look in the dictionary).

connect the ethernet to the PC and Mac (make sure they're both on)

go to finder/network

in there it should be under servers...if not, you have to browse to find it (don't know it well enough to get detailed here)

if you see your PC under server, click on it and just go ahead and copy the files
i figured out ethernet without going to the dictionary


...didn't work..theres nothing about servers anywhere near there.....i searched everywhere..

bp
bprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2007, 11:05 PM   #8
Big-TDI-Guy
macrumors 68030
 
Big-TDI-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Knowing that I am an idiot, proceed onward.

Make sure you're connected via ethernet or wireless with a router or switch. I can't help you with a "direct connection" because I'm not smhhat enuf.

PC SIDE:::
You should have file sharing turned on on the PC, or at least enable file sharing on a folder. Stand by .... Booting parallels to be sure I'm not talking out of my @$$...

Right click on whatever folder on the PC you wish to share the contents from and go to properties-

Select the "sharing" tab.

Under "Network sharing and security" click the "if you understand the risks and want to blah blah blah" sentence.

Now the pop up select "Just enable file sharing". and click ok.

Now the box will be open on the first screen "share this folder on the network" check it off.

Make a share name for this folder that you will be able to find easily and hit ok or apply.

Now, good idea to reboot the PC to be sure all the changes took effect. While you're waiting, good idea to reboot the MAC to make sure it refreshes too -- this is more out of voodoo.

MAC Side:::
Go to Macintosh HD and select network (after the PC is good and booted up) wait a minute before clicking, it can take a moment for the network screen to update.

See if shes there (the PC folder you named) or the PC name. If not, try searching for the folder you just named.

If so, click on it, and the authentication screen should pop up, do NOT put in a password unless youve specified this on the PC. Next select whatever folder / volume you created and click "ok".

It should mount the folder or drive on your desktop, and you can grab files from it. If you want to write TO the PC, you will have to enable write-control on the PC side -- by default, this is read only.

If you're still having some troubles,

Temporarily disable the firewall on the PC, and make sure the firewall settings on the MAC are not going to conflict -- On the Mac go to System pref, internet and network, sharing, verify that "Personal File Sharing" is enabled on the services tab, and on the firewall tab too.

Best of luck to you.
Big-TDI-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2007, 11:31 PM   #9
Hmac
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Midwest USA
I just did this, transferring all my files and folders from 3 PCs on my home network to my new Mac Pro. It was really quite simple

On the Mac, go to File Sharing and enable "Windows Sharing". Then, go to the PC and open My Network Places, then select "New Network Place". Enter the Mac's IP address on your local network as \\10.10.1.198\mac computer name (the Windows Sharing tab will actually show you the exact format, IP address and correct Mac computer name). The Mac folder will come up in a window on the PC, and from there it's just drag and drop..all the files on the PC that you drag into the Mac window are transferred.
Hmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 01:52 AM   #10
bprice
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA, Ca.
thanks Big and Hmac but no prize.... neither method works....i'm on my 7th varition.....this sucks ..I'm hating macs... ..anybody want to buy a mini...

bp
bprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 03:17 AM   #11
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bprice View Post
thanks Big and Hmac but no prize.... neither method works....i'm on my 7th varition.....this sucks ..I'm hating macs... ..anybody want to buy a mini...

bp
so that again and ill kill you!!!!!

1.turn on "windows sharing" on your mac in system pref/sharing
2.hit the accounts button and select a user that u can log in as.
3.go to the pc, network the 2 computers
4.in a windows explorer window go options>map network drive
5. type in the address of your mac, \\10.0.1.1/username (e.g. mine is \\10.0.1.3/dofot9)
6. the password box should come up. if not then something is being done wrong.

if u get this far you can transfer files.

sorry if this doesnt work
DoFoT9
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 03:35 AM   #12
bprice
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA, Ca.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
so that again and ill kill you!!!!!

1.turn on "windows sharing" on your mac in system pref/sharing
2.hit the accounts button and select a user that u can log in as.
3.go to the pc, network the 2 computers
4.in a windows explorer window go options>map network drive
5. type in the address of your mac, \\10.0.1.1/username (e.g. mine is \\10.0.1.3/dofot9)
6. the password box should come up. if not then something is being done wrong.

if u get this far you can transfer files.

sorry if this doesnt work
DoFoT9
thanks for trying to help dofo ....however ......it didn't help..


1.turn on "windows sharing" on your mac in system pref/sharing .. check
2.hit the accounts button and select a user that u can log in as....check


3.go to the pc, network the 2 computers
connect the ethernet cables between the two computers???.... i did



4.in a windows explorer window go options>map network drive

sorry i have not a clue what you mean.....please be SPECIFIC....what window where....
bprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 03:43 AM   #13
janey
macrumors 603
 
janey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sunny los angeles
I honestly don't know how much more simpler than http://guides.macrumors.com/Networki..._with_Mac_OS_X it can get. It has screenshots. It has directions. It works.
__________________
iPad | 15" MacBook Pro | black (iPhone 3GS|MacBook) | Mac mini server
moof!

janey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 04:10 AM   #14
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
hahaha woops sorry. go to my computer, then tools>map network drive. then itl come up enter the ip address etcetc
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 04:19 AM   #15
Royale w/cheese
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bprice View Post
thanks Big and Hmac but no prize.... neither method works....i'm on my 7th varition.....this sucks ..I'm hating macs... ..anybody want to buy a mini...

bp
I'll buy it, How much? Seriously.
Royale w/cheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 04:58 AM   #16
bprice
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA, Ca.
Quote:
Originally Posted by janey View Post
I honestly don't know how much more simpler than http://guides.macrumors.com/Networki..._with_Mac_OS_X it can get. It has screenshots. It has directions. It works.
Thanks janey....i wish it did ...but it doesn't.....

I have to clarify one thing.....“missed” piece” of this puzzle (and there have been many) and nothing works....….not one method has been the same…No one said I HAD to have a password for my XP ..never have had one never used it….on that note

I did everything to a T” in these instructions


http://guides.macrumors.com/Networki..._with_Mac_OS

then here….


When asked to authenticate enter the name of your PC in “Workgroup/Domain” (Unless your PC is part of a domain and your PC account is held on a domain controller, in which case enter the domain that you normally log on to Windows with). For “Username” and “Password” enter the username and password which you use to log on to your Windows machine with. Click ok and your shared folder should be mounted as a network drive on your desktop.

It never asked to authenticate after I clicked connect and after 3 minutes of searching(for the hundredth time!!) it says error code-36 data could not be read…..i wish you were here……this is ridiculous…


cheese $600 ...firm..(it's got 1gb ram) pu only in Long Beach Ca.


bp

Last edited by bprice; Jun 19, 2007 at 05:03 AM.
bprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 05:05 AM   #17
janey
macrumors 603
 
janey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sunny los angeles
exactly what are you connecting to? My point is not to follow the exact directions but to replace all IP addresses and names and passwords as applicable. Sounds like that's where you're stuck.
__________________
iPad | 15" MacBook Pro | black (iPhone 3GS|MacBook) | Mac mini server
moof!

janey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 05:24 AM   #18
bprice
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA, Ca.
Quote:
Originally Posted by janey View Post
exactly what are you connecting to? My point is not to follow the exact directions but to replace all IP addresses and names and passwords as applicable. Sounds like that's where you're stuck.
okay i must be getting punchy but ,,are you asking me what i'm trying to do?... i'm trying to transfer my files by networking my @%$&^(* mac to my #@%$^(* pc....nothing has worked.....


replace what ...there's nothing to replace ...they were always correct...i was never told i had to have a log on password in XP and thats it....


<<<<<<<It is important that the account you log in with on your XP system has a password set, if it does not you will not be able to login to your Windows share from OS X.>>>>>>


so idid ...din't help....the only thing is see askew is my workgroup name is off. its not all uppercase...


,<<<<,,,You need to put your Mac in the same workgroup as your Windows PC.>>>>>


i can'tr believe this is that hard.Can anyone trouble shoot this instead of just giving me a method that doesn't work....thanks...

bp
bprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 06:35 AM   #19
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
i am pretty sure you will not need to make the mac join the domain/workgroup of the pc.

i believe that my way that i stated above is the way i do it everday to connect to my mac from a pc at school, if you wish i can run it thru you step by step. it really should work tho.

any of those ways should work, its just the small things.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 08:50 AM   #20
knuttt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
Send a message via MSN to knuttt
Quote:
Originally Posted by bprice View Post

3.go to the pc, network the 2 computers
connect the ethernet cables between the two computers???.... i did
Errr, shouldn't there be a router in there somewhere, I'm a total novice but was pretty sure you can't just connect a cable directly between the two machines (happy to be corrected if I'm wrong) without getting all technical.

If I'm right (and thats a BIG if), then you'll need some kind of network hub between the two machines.

Personally, I used a 400gb external hard drive as these are a getting cheap as chips to buy at the moment.

Best of Luck

Andy
(recent mac convert, still stumbling but getting there)
knuttt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 08:53 AM   #21
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
i just had a brain wave (globe lights up)

what kind of cable are you using? it would have to be a patch cable, otherwise a normal cable wouldnt do the job. i wont get into it much, pcs have this problem with not being able to do something with certian cables. im pretty sure that you would need a patch cable. maybe thats why none of these options are working for you?
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 11:26 AM   #22
eluk
macrumors 6502a
 
eluk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: East London, UK
1. Open Finder
2. command+K
3. Enter server address - smb://192.168.xxx.xxx (your Windows machine address)
4. Click connect
5. Select the volume you want to connect to
6. Click OK
__________________
Bound to be an S&M lover.
There they're writing in their own style.
Mac Pro 2.8
MacBook Pro 2.33
eluk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 03:46 PM   #23
bprice
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA, Ca.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bprice View Post
Thanks janey....i wish it did ...but it doesn't.....

I have to clarify one thing.....“missed” piece” of this puzzle (and there have been many) and nothing works....….not one method has been the same…No one said I HAD to have a password for my XP ..never have had one never used it….on that note

I did everything to a T” in these instructions


http://guides.macrumors.com/Networki..._with_Mac_OS


It never asked to authenticate after I clicked connect and after 3 minutes of searching(for the hundredth time!!) it says error code-36 data could not be read…..i wish you were here……this is ridiculous…


c


bp
Here I go again......it just does this same error code as above.I wiped my drive and reinsatlled (the Ip changed and yes i corrected it)and ....same thing......cable is the exact same one i'm using right now.

NO WHERE have i seen where it is necassary to use a a special cable or router box...

can this be a hardware (my mini ) or software issue ..this is getting real old....i can't waste another day on it.


ps. thanks guy for trying to help however everyone of you always leave out a deatil. Knutt and dofo finally got it right...Big tihad it from the beginnign sorry didn't see that part.... from what i've been told i need a router.NO where was that a condition in any of the instructions(apple tutor) i even called apple tech nada...

Please be more effiecent and research EXACTLY how to do things before you try to instruct all it leads to is not helping at all...

bp

Last edited by bprice; Jun 19, 2007 at 06:10 PM.
bprice is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2007, 03:54 AM   #24
janey
macrumors 603
 
janey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sunny los angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by knuttt View Post
If I'm right (and thats a BIG if), then you'll need some kind of network hub between the two machines.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
what kind of cable are you using? it would have to be a patch cable, otherwise a normal cable wouldnt do the job. i wont get into it much, pcs have this problem with not being able to do something with certian cables. im pretty sure that you would need a patch cable. maybe thats why none of these options are working for you?

Wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong, wrong. It's actually not a patch cable, but a crossover cable that you need to connect two computers together with no additional hardware. However, all new macs and a lot of newer networking hardware have autosensing ethernet ports that make the need for a crossover cable moot. Only one computer out of the two needs it, and your mini is guaranteed to have one of those ports. Pretty much any mac in like the past few years has one of these ports, and a lot of networking hardware does as well.

So. WRONG. You don't need a crossover cable, and if you have any sort of Intel Mac, you don't need one at all whatsoever hammer this into your head okay?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bprice View Post
ps. thanks guy for trying to help however everyone of you always leave out a deatil. Knutt and dofo finally got it right...Big tihad it from the beginnign sorry didn't see that part.... from what i've been told i need a router.NO where was that a condition in any of the instructions(apple tutor) i even called apple tech nada...

Please be more effiecent and research EXACTLY how to do things before you try to instruct all it leads to is not helping at all...

bp
You absolutely don't need a router okay? I've networked xp and macosx without a router, without anything except your standard cat5/6 cable.

I have no idea why those guide directions aren't working for you. Why don't you tell us exactly what you're doing, like what you're typing in, and then we can go somewhere.

I'm sorry, but you're the one writing incomprehensible posts, demanding irrational amounts of help, insulting people and god knows what else when you are telling us NOTHING that would give a hint as to what is wrong with what you are doing that you are one of the first to have an issue with the guide, which has worked for probably anyone else who's looked at it. So perhaps you could so kindly tell WHAT you are typing in, I don't care if you follow the guide directions, so maybe we can go somewhere with this.

Calm down. Networking is trivial, and it REALLY doesn't help whatsoever when all you do is scream about your issues that you haven't really described other than "it doesn't work" and "i followed the directions exactly" and offer to sell a brand new computer.
__________________
iPad | 15" MacBook Pro | black (iPhone 3GS|MacBook) | Mac mini server
moof!

janey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2007, 04:13 AM   #25
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by janey View Post
[url=http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=42717]


Calm down. Networking is trivial, and it REALLY doesn't help whatsoever when all you do is scream about your issues that you haven't really described other than "it doesn't work" and "i followed the directions exactly" and offer to sell a brand new computer.
typical pc user :P. nah jks. if you turn on windows sharing in ur network settings, then go to ur pc and "map network drive" to your computers ip followed by your username (\\10.0.0.1/dofot9) it should work. its pretty much that simple
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
File Transfer PC to Mac (Connect to server) henrys OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Dec 25, 2013 10:07 PM
Automatically transfer file from a USB to my mac? hassoon Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jan 13, 2013 02:00 PM
if I leave iMac running during file transfer and screen dims, does it stop transfer? bobright iMac 10 Dec 25, 2012 10:18 AM
Can't Send Files via File Transfer on Mac IM Client eadmnc Mac Basics and Help 0 Oct 3, 2012 04:41 PM
File transfer between Mac and Win 8 bootcamp. MacPC OS X 1 Jul 26, 2012 12:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC