Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 19, 2007, 03:31 PM   #1
Phat_Pat
macrumors 68000
 
Phat_Pat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: I Live Where I Live
DVR to Mac

so i have a Direct TV HD DVR box with the recent soprano episodes on them

i also just installed toast 8 and i noticed that there is an option for tivo transfers.

this box has an ethernet port, usb, and some other ports which could potentially be used to transfer stuff.

is it possible to transfer recorded programs from this box to my mac?

i also have vista home premium installed. if its possible would vista be easier?

sorry for such a vague description... thanks in advance.
__________________
HELP STOP GLOBAL WARMING; USE MRoogle
Phat_Pat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 03:34 PM   #2
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
To get shows off my Motorola DVR I have used iRecord to get the file onto my hard drive, then MPEG Streamclip to convert it to mpeg format, iMovie to edit out all the commericals, and iDVD to burn to DVD.
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 04:05 PM   #3
Phat_Pat
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Phat_Pat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: I Live Where I Live
am i really gunna have to purchase hardware to do this?

i can't just like plug in a usb hard drive?
__________________
HELP STOP GLOBAL WARMING; USE MRoogle
Phat_Pat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2007, 11:03 PM   #4
obeygiant
macrumors 68040
 
obeygiant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
To get shows off my Motorola DVR I have used iRecord to get the file onto my hard drive, then MPEG Streamclip to convert it to mpeg format, iMovie to edit out all the commericals, and iDVD to burn to DVD.
Dang, what a process. Was there any rendering?
obeygiant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2007, 12:55 AM   #5
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phat_Pat View Post
am i really gunna have to purchase hardware to do this?

i can't just like plug in a usb hard drive?
No hardware, I just connected my DVR to my mac via firewire

Here's the links to the software I used

iRecord: http://www.ammesset.com/irecord/
MPEG Streamclip: http://www.squared5.com/
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2007, 12:56 AM   #6
swiftaw
macrumors 603
 
swiftaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by obeygiant View Post
Dang, what a process. Was there any rendering?
Yeah, a long way around but the image looks exactly as good as the HD signal it came from (I actually haven't done the last part yet, I just keep it as a mpeg file on my hard drive as opposed to a DVD, but using iDVD to create a DVD would be the last step)
swiftaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dish DVR play back on a Mac durhamj Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 25, 2013 08:14 PM
Mac mini for dedicated win7 security dvr InsideTJ Mac mini 1 Jun 14, 2013 08:46 AM
Using Mac as DVR/PVR/DVHS vs. Cable Company crazytom Apple TV and Home Theater 6 Jun 9, 2013 08:49 PM
How to play/convert DVR-MS files on mac? sambobsessed MacBook Pro 0 Mar 30, 2013 11:32 PM
Problems w/external Pioneer DVR-X152 (DVR-113NP) USB burner super_kev Mac Peripherals 0 Oct 11, 2012 01:02 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC