Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 14, 2003, 01:35 PM   #1
morgan-e
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Illinois, USA
Send a message via AIM to morgan-e
memory upgrades

I've recently decided on bumping my 12" tipb to 640 MB. As an apple notebook newbie, I was wondering if there is any risk involved in installing a third-party chip (crucial) myself without applecare?

any advice is appreciated. thanks.
morgan-e is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2003, 02:01 PM   #2
Foucault
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
It's really not that big of a deal. I installed a 512 MB chip on my PB 15" G4 867. Just make sure you are grounded when you install your memory. It took me 5 minutes to get the job done. But if you are too paranoid, pay $35 at the Apple Store they'll do it for you...
__________________
"You scream I'm lazy, you must be crazy, she thought I was a donut, she tried to glaze me.
-- Rakim Allah
I Blog Blaum!
Foucault is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2003, 02:03 PM   #3
gopher
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Maryland, USA
Send a message via AIM to gopher Send a message via Yahoo to gopher
There is one major thing you risk and that is putting the little tiny magnet on backwards beneath the keyboard. If it is put on backwards the keyboard won't fit on right, and might break one of the keys. If you have any hesitation in doing it, take it to a technician. Be sure you are statically grounded before handling the RAM.
__________________
[url=http://www.macmaps.com/mac.html]http://www.macmaps.com/mac.html [url]
gopher is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2003, 10:10 PM   #4
morgan-e
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Illinois, USA
Send a message via AIM to morgan-e
Quote:
Originally posted by Foucault But if you are too paranoid, pay $35 at the Apple Store they'll do it for you... [/B]
i'd do that if it were an option, but with no local mac store i'd have to take it to compusa and i wouldn't trust them with my TI-86.

thanks for the advice. i'll probably be doing this within a couple weeks.
morgan-e is offline   0
Old Jul 14, 2003, 10:48 PM   #5
idea_hamster
macrumors 65816
 
idea_hamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NYC, or thereabouts
Apple considers the RAM user-serviceable, so they've got instructions that you can download from their website:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=26261

This was the first thing that I ever did under the keyboard -- boy that seems like a long time ago. Lots of digging around since then.

Take a deep breath and jump in!
__________________
The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
but wiser people so full of doubts. -- B. Russell
idea_hamster is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OWC Memory upgrades are available now. arbitrage Mac Pro 9 Dec 18, 2013 09:43 PM
Upgrade RAM: Two, 2GB memory cards or will one 4GB memory card work? cmhall9 MacBook Pro 6 Dec 2, 2013 02:05 PM
OWC DDR3L 1600MHz Memory Upgrades lssmit02 MacBook Pro 1 Jun 21, 2013 11:59 AM
Mac Mini 2009 - SSD (Intel 520) and Memory (Kingston 2 x 4GB) Upgrades geoffreak Mac mini 1 Aug 15, 2012 09:25 PM
Apple Memory Upgrades? Why would anyone? BasilFawlty iMac 14 Jun 1, 2012 07:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC