Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 1, 2007, 07:56 PM   #1
JSmoove05
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
How do you close a program if it freezes on you

Itunes just froze on me and I cant close the program. Im new to mac is there anyway to fix this without hitting the power button?
JSmoove05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2007, 07:57 PM   #2
psychofreak
Retired
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London
Apple in the top left->Force quit

Or, if possible, right click the iTunes icon in the dock, then press 'Force quit'
psychofreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2007, 08:00 PM   #3
JSmoove05
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Sweetr thanks alot!
JSmoove05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2007, 08:13 PM   #4
sfisher
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
If you can't get Finder to respond in the ways mentioned already, Alt/Option + Command + Escape key will bring up a force quit window.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.4GHz 17" high-res, 160GB HD @ 7200rpm, 2GB RAM
iBook Early-2004 14" G4 1.2GHz w/ 1.25GB RAM & Bluetooth
sfisher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 06:58 AM   #5
Sopranino
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
The GEEK method would involve opening a Terminal session, invoking top, locating the PID of the frozen program, and then casting a 'Kill -9 [PID]' (do not use the quotes or the square brackets). This will terminate with extreme prejudice ANY process regardless of its state. (Ahh the joys of the UNIX command line)

Sopranino
Sopranino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 07:11 AM   #6
whooleytoo
macrumors 603
 
whooleytoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cork, Ireland.
Send a message via AIM to whooleytoo
The other option (to be thorough) is to force-quit the application in Activity Monitor.
__________________
Mac <- Macintosh <- McIntosh apples <- John McIntosh <- McIntosh surname <- "Mac an toshach" <- "Son of the Chief"
whooleytoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 07:42 AM   #7
4np
macrumors 6502a
 
4np's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sopranino View Post
The GEEK method would involve opening a Terminal session, invoking top, locating the PID of the frozen program, and then casting a 'Kill -9 [PID]' (do not use the quotes or the square brackets). This will terminate with extreme prejudice ANY process regardless of its state. (Ahh the joys of the UNIX command line)

Sopranino
Hehe, that's what I do when the rest does not work But most of the times activity monitor can fix the issue
4np is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 07:55 AM   #8
Sopranino
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4np View Post
Hehe, that's what I do when the rest does not work But most of the times activity monitor can fix the issue
Kill has a 'Use the Force Luke' feel to it that Force Quit doesn't

Sopranino
Sopranino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 08:01 AM   #9
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sopranino View Post
The GEEK method would involve opening a Terminal session, invoking top, locating the PID of the frozen program, and then casting a 'Kill -9 [PID]' (do not use the quotes or the square brackets). This will terminate with extreme prejudice ANY process regardless of its state. (Ahh the joys of the UNIX command line)

Sopranino
Is this better than just using "killall ProgramName" because sometime EyeTV simply won't quit even when using the above command. Will try the kill -9 PID next time it happens.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2007, 10:27 PM   #10
sfisher
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by xUKHCx View Post
Is this better than just using "killall ProgramName" because sometime EyeTV simply won't quit even when using the above command. Will try the kill -9 PID next time it happens.
kill [PID] or killall [program name] asks the program nicely to quit. kill -9 [PID] or killall -9 [program name] forces it to quit.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.4GHz 17" high-res, 160GB HD @ 7200rpm, 2GB RAM
iBook Early-2004 14" G4 1.2GHz w/ 1.25GB RAM & Bluetooth
sfisher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2007, 04:04 AM   #11
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfisher View Post
kill [PID] or killall [program name] asks the program nicely to quit. kill -9 [PID] or killall -9 [program name] forces it to quit.
Thanks for that, will come very handy.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2007, 04:39 AM   #12
Sopranino
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by xUKHCx View Post
Is this better than just using "killall ProgramName" because sometime EyeTV simply won't quit even when using the above command. Will try the kill -9 PID next time it happens.
sfisher is correct on this, but to put it into simpler words, kill -9 will terminate ANY program in ANY state. It's kinda like using a sandblaster on a soda cracker....... major overkill!!

Sopranino
Sopranino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 2007, 12:47 PM   #13
xUKHCx
Administrator emeritus
 
xUKHCx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Kop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sopranino View Post
sfisher is correct on this, but to put it into simpler words, kill -9 will terminate ANY program in ANY state. It's kinda like using a sandblaster on a soda cracker....... major overkill!!

Sopranino
Well sometimes overkill is needed *cough* EyeTV *cough* and the feeling of power is great.
xUKHCx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 10:25 AM   #14
TPetersen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Angry

Sopranino, dont lie.

What to do, if none of the above works?
I started out trying 'Force Quit' from the Dock, then i tried from the 'Force Quit...' dialog, and then i tried killall and kill, nothing works, and if i try to restart my mac, it just hangs, so i need to power it off by holding the power button down.



I try this sometimes, also with other applications, and it sucks.
This will NEVER happen in Linux, you can always kill applications in Linux
TPetersen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2009, 11:57 AM   #15
airbedman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I have also had this happen with the bracketed process. No way to kill, just have to turn off to reboot.

No way to kill process, and no way to re-run the program.

Is there a resolution to this??

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPetersen View Post
Sopranino, dont lie.

What to do, if none of the above works?
I started out trying 'Force Quit' from the Dock, then i tried from the 'Force Quit...' dialog, and then i tried killall and kill, nothing works, and if i try to restart my mac, it just hangs, so i need to power it off by holding the power button down.



I try this sometimes, also with other applications, and it sucks.
This will NEVER happen in Linux, you can always kill applications in Linux
airbedman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2009, 04:41 PM   #16
darngooddesign
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Ctrl+Click or Right Click on the dock icon gives you that option as well.
__________________
64 giggity... giggity... gigg-i-ty
Lego Apple Store
darngooddesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2009, 04:43 PM   #17
darngooddesign
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPetersen View Post
This will NEVER happen in Linux, you can always kill applications in Linux
That's weird because I tried to kill my copy of Adobe CS3 for Linux and it didn't work.
__________________
64 giggity... giggity... gigg-i-ty
Lego Apple Store
darngooddesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2009, 04:47 PM   #18
ruffNstuff
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA
Command Q usually works.
__________________
Mac Book PRO, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.6 GHz, GeForce 8600M GT, Razer Lachesis 4000dpi mouse, CS4
ruffNstuff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2009, 05:01 PM   #19
darngooddesign
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruffNstuff View Post
Command Q usually works.
See the bit about the app freezing in the title of the thread...now sit down and think about your post.
__________________
64 giggity... giggity... gigg-i-ty
Lego Apple Store
darngooddesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2009, 08:24 AM   #20
TPetersen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
This doesnt seem to happen in Snow Leopard
TPetersen is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do you know if the phones done charging if you don't show the % himynameiscody iPhone 8 Oct 24, 2011 03:04 PM
How do I access a label on a different view controller? KiranPanesar iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Apr 15, 2011 05:28 PM
how do you know if you have a virus on your mac? XxpikachuxX Wasteland 3 May 3, 2009 03:06 AM
How do you remove a program you dont want on Mac osx JSmoove05 Mac Basics and Help 12 Jun 20, 2007 11:48 AM
What do you do when an application completley freezes on you??? john_satc OS X 17 May 14, 2005 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC