Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2007, 02:38 AM   #1
PupnTaco
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
I'm using the iPhone in Europe

Visiting Ireland at the moment and will be in England and France next week. Immediately on landing, the iPhone picked up the Vodaphone network and EDGE (although I've seen it switch to O2 in spots) and has prompted me to join several open wifis.

Using iCal to keep track of my itinerary and confirmation numbers in event notes, texting British friends on their "mobys" and Google maps have all been lifesavers.

Its an amazing thing to be able to grab a quick photo of where I'm at and instantly e-mail it to a buddy back home. I've kept it low-key so far, not flashing it around. :LOL:
__________________
Pup 'n' Taco
PupnTaco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 02:40 AM   #2
janey
macrumors 603
 
janey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sunny los angeles
given that the iPhone has quad-band GSM why is this a surprise?
__________________
iPad | 15" MacBook Pro | black (iPhone 3GS|MacBook) | Mac mini server
moof!

janey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 02:47 AM   #3
PupnTaco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Not a surprise at all, just a report from the field and an appreciation.
__________________
Pup 'n' Taco
PupnTaco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 02:49 AM   #4
brasscat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dallas, Texas
Can you tell if you have full functionality or not?
brasscat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 02:54 AM   #5
md11
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by PupnTaco View Post
Visiting Ireland at the moment and will be in England and France next week. Immediately on landing, the iPhone picked up the Vodaphone network and EDGE (although I've seen it switch to O2 in spots) and has prompted me to join several open wifis.

Using iCal to keep track of my itinerary and confirmation numbers in event notes, texting British friends on their "mobys" and Google maps have all been lifesavers.

Its an amazing thing to be able to grab a quick photo of where I'm at and instantly e-mail it to a buddy back home. I've kept it low-key so far, not flashing it around. :LOL:
Watch your wallet - surfin abroad won't be cheap..
__________________
MBP 2.33
md11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 03:05 AM   #6
Tricksy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Did you have to ask AT&T to unlock it for international roaming?
Tricksy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 03:44 AM   #7
PupnTaco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
yes at&t set up intl roaming for 5.99/month plus .99/minute; data extra.

Full functionality inch visual voicemail A-OK!
__________________
Pup 'n' Taco
PupnTaco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 03:48 AM   #8
mashinhead
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by PupnTaco View Post
yes at&t set up intl roaming for 5.99/month plus .99/minute; data extra.

Full functionality inch visual voicemail A-OK!
are those the only extra costs associated with international roaming?
__________________
2.6GHz Quad Core i7 Crystalwell 15" Retina MBP 16gb RAM 1TB SSD
128GB Gold iPhone 6 Plus
mashinhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 03:48 AM   #9
iPhonePhan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apple FanBoy Land
Quote:
Originally Posted by PupnTaco View Post
yes at&t set up intl roaming for 5.99/month plus .99/minute; data extra.

Full functionality inch visual voicemail A-OK!
As was mentioned - careful about those data costs it's like .0195/kb which can add up heavily when you send a 2MB pic

Have fun on your vacation! (And make sure to hide your iPhone from those crazy AsBo / Neets (British speak )!
iPhonePhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 03:51 AM   #10
takrocks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Send a message via AIM to takrocks
Any visual voicemail functionality?

~Tak
takrocks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 07:51 PM   #11
PupnTaco
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by takrocks View Post
Any visual voicemail functionality?

~Tak
yes, same as home. Also assuming data extra costs don't apply to stuff sent via a local wifi... Hope I'm right!
__________________
Pup 'n' Taco
PupnTaco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 08:14 PM   #12
Sinsinnati
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
This is good to hear. I was wondering if the iPhone would work in Europe. Just for comparison purposes, what are the charges for a US T-mobile phone when in Europe?

I currently have Sprint and can't wait to leave the CDMA network to have my phone work when I travel overseas.
Sinsinnati is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 08:29 PM   #13
coolbreeze
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinsinnati View Post
This is good to hear. I was wondering if the iPhone would work in Europe. Just for comparison purposes, what are the charges for a US T-mobile phone when in Europe?

I currently have Sprint and can't wait to leave the CDMA network to have my phone work when I travel overseas.
Not that you'd want it, but Sprint just released the CDMA/GSM hybrid Blackberry 8830. It's GSM unlocked (overseas) so you can pop a cheap prepaid SIM in it and go.

For all practical purposes, that's the way to go, IMO.
__________________

Note 4, iPad Air 2, 15" rMBP, SP3, Lumia 1020.

coolbreeze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2007, 08:36 PM   #14
mpw
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by PupnTaco View Post
Visiting Ireland at the moment and will be in England and France next week. ...
Not in London on Saturday are you?
MacRumours Picnic
mpw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 02:40 PM   #15
Sinsinnati
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
What is the difference in price between AT&T & T-Mobile for international calls?
Sinsinnati is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 03:33 PM   #16
powerbook911
macrumors 68030
 
powerbook911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
How much do you guys think the data would run? How much does 2 cents a kb turn into MB?
__________________
*12in Powerbook G4 1.5ghz, *20in iMac 2.4 Core 2 Duo, *Mac Mini (Early 09), *Mini Server ('11), *11in Air (Late 10) *20in Cinema Display,
*AppleTV, *iPhone 64GB; *Airpot Extreme (2011) *iPod 160GB
powerbook911 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 03:54 PM   #17
oogje
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: nyc
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerbook911 View Post
How much do you guys think the data would run? How much does 2 cents a kb turn into MB?
Two cents a kilobyte is $20 a megabyte.
oogje is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 08:29 PM   #18
riverfreak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Earth, mostly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhonePhan View Post
As was mentioned - careful about those data costs it's like .0195/kb which can add up heavily when you send a 2MB pic
Yeah, or downloading 1000s of spam and mailing list emails. Learned that the hard way...twice!
riverfreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using iPhone in Europe TSE iPhone 2 May 14, 2014 07:00 PM
iPhone 5S in Europe. When? dawideksl iPhone 24 Sep 13, 2013 09:26 AM
iPhone in Europe FHayek iPhone 5 Jan 31, 2013 04:37 PM
iPhone 5 for Europe Upa iPhone 3 Nov 2, 2012 05:12 PM
US iPhone goes Europe Wuiffi iPhone 7 Oct 27, 2012 08:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC