Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blueskyredkite

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 19, 2004
By the sea.
I'm a bit p****d off that Pages doesn't work with Automator. I've no experience with AppleScript but I believe it's the only way to achieve what I want in Pages. Having migrated from that MS platform and Word I'm trying to recreate what I had there.

In Word, you can create a template with fields that, when the document is opened, request data for those fields. This way you can have standard documents and drop in the unique info without having to go through the whole document.

Ideally I'd like AppleScript to pop up a dialogue box requesting "our ref", "account number", "credit limit", "terms", and "discount", and then drop these into the correct place in the document.

I've no idea how to go about this, looking at what can be done in Pages I thought it might be possible to automate a search and replace. To this end I've replaced the Windows fields with strings that won't appear in the document ([ourRef], [accNo], [cLimit], etc). I thought I may be able to get AppleScript to popup the search and replace dialogue, with, for example [ourRef] as the search string and leave the user to input the correct string, once that is done pop up the search / replace dialogue again with the next string ([accNo]).

Any suggestions or ideas?

Anyone know what the chance is that iWork '07 (if we ever see it) will have an Automator friendly Pages? It's a real PITA that Keynote is Automator frienly but Pages isn't, seems to me a real foot shooting move by Apple.

Anyway, thanks for your replies.

xUKHCx

Administrator emeritus
Jan 15, 2006
The Kop
I'm sure you could do this

you just need to get some text parameters from your dialog boxes

this can be done by a series of

Code:
set ourrefreplacemnt to the text returned of (display dialog "Enter text" default answer "[ourRef] ")