Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 5, 2007, 11:57 AM   #1
bingefeller
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Always boot in verbose mode

Hey guys,

I read this article on osxdaily.com recommending you always boot your machine in verbose logging mode. Anyone else here recommend this?

http://osxdaily.com/2007/03/25/alway...-verbose-mode/
bingefeller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 12:00 PM   #2
wyatt23
macrumors 6502a
 
wyatt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Send a message via AIM to wyatt23
i doesn't necessarily tell you to, but shows you how to. i'd give it a shot. maybe you'll like it. maybe you won't.

everything is about preference.
wyatt23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 12:10 PM   #3
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
i would, the default screen doesnt tell you anything

sometimes you can find problems you didnt even know existed
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 12:18 PM   #4
bingefeller
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt23 View Post
i doesn't necessarily tell you to, but shows you how to. i'd give it a shot. maybe you'll like it. maybe you won't.

everything is about preference.
Hmm, I don't think it's about liking it or not. Surely it's more like a troubleshooting process to see if there are any problems at start up and what's going wrong where?
bingefeller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2007, 05:30 AM   #5
opticalserenity
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Good tip, verbose mode is better than the default no mode.
opticalserenity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2007, 02:23 PM   #6
macuser9214
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
It doesn't do anything if you do/don't do it. The default screen just covers that up. Kinda like most Linux distros.

Performance will be no different.
__________________
-- I'm a Block of Code, and I approve this message.
macuser9214 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2007, 02:43 PM   #7
bingefeller
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by macuser9214 View Post
It doesn't do anything if you do/don't do it. The default screen just covers that up. Kinda like most Linux distros.

Performance will be no different.
Yes, I understand this. But, it will show you problems if anything exists...
bingefeller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2007, 02:49 PM   #8
macuser9214
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Right.
__________________
-- I'm a Block of Code, and I approve this message.
macuser9214 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 01:16 AM   #9
Lokrado
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Denmark
revive

found this thread, thought i'd revive it.
I'm wanting to do the same but does this prevent you from using other key-combos during boot?
Lokrado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 01:21 AM   #10
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokrado View Post
found this thread, thought i'd revive it.
I'm wanting to do the same but does this prevent you from using other key-combos during boot?
Not if you turn on always booting in verbose mode via the Terminal command. Then you don't have to Command+V at startup.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 01:37 AM   #11
Lokrado
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Not if you turn on always booting in verbose mode via the Terminal command. Then you don't have to Command+V at startup.
right, but say i wanted to boot into single user mode, having verbose mode on by default wouldn't prevent me from doing so?
Lokrado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 01:47 AM   #12
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokrado View Post
right, but say i wanted to boot into single user mode, having verbose mode on by default wouldn't prevent me from doing so?
No.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 01:48 AM   #13
Lokrado
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
No.
haha i like your reply - i'll give it a shot
Lokrado is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac keeps booting in safe mode. Why & how to fix? shippouk iMac 4 Jan 27, 2011 02:36 AM
How to get iPhone to boot in verbose mode kshusker Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Apr 5, 2009 02:47 PM
Always boot in verbose mode olliea95 Mac Basics and Help 0 Mar 4, 2009 12:23 PM
Always booting in verbose mode Music_Producer OS X 4 Oct 10, 2008 02:27 AM
Booting in verbose mode? hob Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion 2 Jan 12, 2004 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC