Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 5, 2007, 12:57 PM   #1
bingefeller
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Always boot in verbose mode

Hey guys,

I read this article on osxdaily.com recommending you always boot your machine in verbose logging mode. Anyone else here recommend this?

http://osxdaily.com/2007/03/25/alway...-verbose-mode/
bingefeller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 01:00 PM   #2
wyatt23
macrumors 6502a
 
wyatt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Send a message via AIM to wyatt23
i doesn't necessarily tell you to, but shows you how to. i'd give it a shot. maybe you'll like it. maybe you won't.

everything is about preference.
wyatt23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 01:10 PM   #3
mc68k
macrumors 68000
 
mc68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
i would, the default screen doesnt tell you anything

sometimes you can find problems you didnt even know existed
mc68k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2007, 01:18 PM   #4
bingefeller
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt23 View Post
i doesn't necessarily tell you to, but shows you how to. i'd give it a shot. maybe you'll like it. maybe you won't.

everything is about preference.
Hmm, I don't think it's about liking it or not. Surely it's more like a troubleshooting process to see if there are any problems at start up and what's going wrong where?
bingefeller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2007, 06:30 AM   #5
opticalserenity
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Good tip, verbose mode is better than the default no mode.
opticalserenity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2007, 03:23 PM   #6
macuser9214
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
It doesn't do anything if you do/don't do it. The default screen just covers that up. Kinda like most Linux distros.

Performance will be no different.
__________________
-- I'm a Block of Code, and I approve this message.
macuser9214 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2007, 03:43 PM   #7
bingefeller
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by macuser9214 View Post
It doesn't do anything if you do/don't do it. The default screen just covers that up. Kinda like most Linux distros.

Performance will be no different.
Yes, I understand this. But, it will show you problems if anything exists...
bingefeller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2007, 03:49 PM   #8
macuser9214
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Right.
__________________
-- I'm a Block of Code, and I approve this message.
macuser9214 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 02:16 AM   #9
Lokrado
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Denmark
revive

found this thread, thought i'd revive it.
I'm wanting to do the same but does this prevent you from using other key-combos during boot?
Lokrado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 02:21 AM   #10
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokrado View Post
found this thread, thought i'd revive it.
I'm wanting to do the same but does this prevent you from using other key-combos during boot?
Not if you turn on always booting in verbose mode via the Terminal command. Then you don't have to Command+V at startup.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 02:37 AM   #11
Lokrado
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Not if you turn on always booting in verbose mode via the Terminal command. Then you don't have to Command+V at startup.
right, but say i wanted to boot into single user mode, having verbose mode on by default wouldn't prevent me from doing so?
Lokrado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 02:47 AM   #12
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokrado View Post
right, but say i wanted to boot into single user mode, having verbose mode on by default wouldn't prevent me from doing so?
No.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2010, 02:48 AM   #13
Lokrado
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
No.
haha i like your reply - i'll give it a shot
Lokrado is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro 4,1 wont boot! Tech (verbose mode) head needed! voneddy Mac Basics and Help 0 May 7, 2014 11:11 AM
Why won't boot recovery mode? Won't start even from boot usb cicchilitto MacBook 2 Oct 19, 2013 05:17 PM
Mac Pro boots in verbose mode DenBeke Mac Pro 4 Sep 5, 2013 12:06 PM
iMac starts in verbose mode LinusR iMac 0 Nov 24, 2012 05:44 AM
Verbose/Single user mode on startup and shutdown, whats wrong? bt10 Mac Basics and Help 0 Aug 13, 2012 08:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC