Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 11, 2007, 11:04 PM   #1
mothra1961
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
How do I disable dual monitors?

I used to run dual monitors on my mac, but recently decided to go back to just one. Though I disconnected my secondary monitor months ago, my computer still thinks it's there. My mouse goes off the side of my monitor into the space that used to be the secondary one, and items saved to my desktop sometimes also end up there. Frustrating! Please answer for both OS 10.3.9 and OS 10.4.9.
Many thanks!
mothra1961 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2007, 11:09 PM   #2
Scarlet Fever
macrumors 68040
 
Scarlet Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bookshop!
Go to System Preferences -> Displays -> Detect Displays. It should realise there is only one display connected
Scarlet Fever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2007, 11:11 PM   #3
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
uumm havent u restarted ur mac in that time?? i thout it detected the monitors every time u restarted. strange.. hope its ok now
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2007, 01:39 AM   #4
mothra1961
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Still not working

Scarlet, I don't have an option called Detect Displays. When I go to System Preferences -> Displays the three options I have are: Display, Arrangement, and Color. If I select 'Display' the options are: Colors, Refresh Rate, Gather Windows, and Show Displays in Menu Bar.

Also, I have restarted many times since I disconnected my second monitor and my situation hasn't changed. This problem is more of a nuisance than anything else, but it would be nice to solve it...
mothra1961 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2007, 01:48 AM   #5
iBlue
macrumors Core
 
iBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by mothra1961 View Post
Scarlet, I don't have an option called Detect Displays. When I go to System Preferences -> Displays the three options I have are: Display, Arrangement, and Color. If I select 'Display' the options are: Colors, Refresh Rate, Gather Windows, and Show Displays in Menu Bar.

Also, I have restarted many times since I disconnected my second monitor and my situation hasn't changed. This problem is more of a nuisance than anything else, but it would be nice to solve it...
It's in the arrangement tab that you'll find "detect displays". I think that should sort it out.
__________________
‎(͡. ͡) Nothing lasts but nothing is lost.
iBlue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2007, 10:32 AM   #6
imnothere
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Same problem here

I have the same problem as mothra1961 has (or had).
I cannot find a working way to disable that other monitor. I tried pressing the "detect displays" button several times. Not working. I connected and disconnected other display in the mean time. My MacBook still thinks the old CRT Monitor is connected when it's not. (Another annoying thing about it is that the extended desktop holds files i cannot access, since my monitor is not attached.)

Lately, I upgraded to OS 10.5 Leopard (after having formatted the system volume) assuming that the problem might be solved afterwards. However, it's still there and system profiler even states "yes" next to the monitor's online status. I wish i could simply tick "no" right there...

Now, I wonder if my hardware is somehow damaged or if a simple click in some application or preferences pane could make the system ignore that darn display.

Any ideas how to work this out? Or, mothra1961, have you fixed your issue and could you tell me out here?
imnothere is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Monitors? brolfsen MacBook Air 3 Feb 25, 2014 12:04 PM
Dual monitors Help! crayola2288 Mac Basics and Help 3 Aug 25, 2013 12:40 PM
Dual Monitors GeoffWillis Mac mini 4 Feb 4, 2013 05:19 PM
Retnia MBP with THREE monitors dual 30" 2560*1600 ACD monitors and MBP @ 1920*1200! Redgr MacBook Pro 26 Jun 20, 2012 07:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC