Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:34 PM   #1
ejrizo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
PowerMac G4 733mhz (Digital Audio) POWER SUPPLY?

anyone know where i can get a Power Supply for my Digital Audio PowerMac G4 733mhz?

my computer is not turning on at all and i think its my power supply...anyone know where i can find one for cheap?

thank you
ejrizo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:35 PM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
1. Define not turning on.
2. Check eBay.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:38 PM   #3
ejrizo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
1. Define not turning on.
2. Check eBay.
there is no reaction when i press the power button and its plugged in i have tried several cords and different outlets... and also i have taken out the lil battery inside and tried to reset the NVRAM? i think thats what its called where the button next to the internal lil battery needs to be pressed...

by not turning on i mean it doesnt do ANYTHING.... no fans nothing spinning ... just no power... as if it was not connected and i hit the power button

thanks for your help... and i was checking ebay... but wondering if there is any other (CHEAPER) alternatives?
ejrizo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:41 PM   #4
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Are there any lights that turn on the logic board when you attempt to power up? Sounds like it's dead otherwise...

You can try hacking an ATX power supply to work on a Power Mac.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:45 PM   #5
ReanimationLP
macrumors 68030
 
ReanimationLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the moon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Are there any lights that turn on the logic board when you attempt to power up? Sounds like it's dead otherwise...

You can try hacking an ATX power supply to work on a Power Mac.
Cant.

I tried it. Didnt work out. :/

That damn 28V requirement for the GigEs, the DAs, and the Quicksilvers throws a monkey wrench into it.

Best bet is either finding a used PSU, or hell, just a cheap 400-466 DA or GigE tower, pulling the PSU, and selling it for parts.
__________________
"For what am I living?"
I want to shout it out loud. Can you hear me?


Stuff for Sale :3
ReanimationLP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:47 PM   #6
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Surprisingly enough it is cheaper to buy a working DA tower and just use the power supply for that...

I'm not sure if the 733 MHz version needs a little more power then the other models.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:49 PM   #7
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Have you replaced the PRAM battery with a fresh one?
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:51 PM   #8
ReanimationLP
macrumors 68030
 
ReanimationLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the moon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Surprisingly enough it is cheaper to buy a working DA tower and just use the power supply for that...

I'm not sure if the 733 MHz version needs a little more power then the other models.
Nope, its the same PSU all the way down the line from the GigE 400 to the DA 733.

The quicksilver is the same, just with more wattage, and an extra 4-pin connector thats required for the QS, but the PSU will work on anything.
__________________
"For what am I living?"
I want to shout it out loud. Can you hear me?


Stuff for Sale :3
ReanimationLP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:53 PM   #9
ejrizo
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
Are there any lights that turn on the logic board when you attempt to power up? Sounds like it's dead otherwise...

You can try hacking an ATX power supply to work on a Power Mac.
no lights at all... from what i see... just dead... is there anything else it could be?

btw i took my hard drives out and took out data from them... so i know those are still good... and i took out my ram and put it back in as well as my PCI USB2.0/Firewire card... no luck at all... no fans, no lights, no anything
ejrizo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2007, 04:53 PM   #10
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReanimationLP View Post
Nope, its the same PSU all the way down the line from the GigE 400 to the DA 733.

The quicksilver is the same, just with more wattage, and an extra 4-pin connector thats required for the QS, but the PSU will work on anything.
Just making sure that the singles and duals ran on the exact same power supply.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G4 digital audio issue izzyrhoads PowerPC Macs 14 Jul 9, 2013 07:09 PM
Late 2012 Mini Power Supply Causing Audio Crackle? theoreticalgirl Mac mini 9 Mar 27, 2013 10:14 AM
Power Supply Transplant? PowerMac to Intel Xeon 8 Core? Velocity Mac Pro 3 Jan 22, 2013 12:17 AM
PowerMac G4 MDD poss power supply issues??? Grunion PowerPC Macs 3 Jul 29, 2012 09:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC