Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 18, 2007, 12:00 AM   #1
bkvideography
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
so how does the traffic feature work?

how is it updated? if someone has a gps device in their car, does the satellite read how fast they are going and that updates the traffic info?
bkvideography is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 12:08 AM   #2
blueflame
macrumors 6502a
 
blueflame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Studio City
red means stopped
yelow means slow
Green means go, clear
:-)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvideography View Post
how is it updated? if someone has a gps device in their car, does the satellite read how fast they are going and that updates the traffic info?
blueflame is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 12:18 AM   #3
bkvideography
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueflame View Post
red means stopped
yelow means slow
Green means go, clear
:-)
well i knew that, but i wanted to know how it actually werx....
bkvideography is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 12:41 AM   #4
kevinwiz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: socal
there are sensors under all the socal freeways that give data. you can see the cracks on the road when you drive over them. thats how it works here. other areas might be different.
kevinwiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 12:48 AM   #5
McGarvels
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to McGarvels
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwiz View Post
there are sensors under all the socal freeways that give data. you can see the cracks on the road when you drive over them. thats how it works here. other areas might be different.
I think he means do you have to refresh the iPhone to get updated traffic speeds or does it do it automatically every so often. A good question as I've been wondering this myself. Traffic sucks in so cal, especially the 605/5/405. Oh well...
__________________
EQUALITY FOR ALL
15" rMBP Core i7 ; 27" iMac Core i7
McGarvels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 12:52 AM   #6
bkvideography
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwiz View Post
there are sensors under all the socal freeways that give data. you can see the cracks on the road when you drive over them. thats how it works here. other areas might be different.
thanks.
bkvideography is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 02:41 AM   #7
yayaba
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
I've been wondering that myself. How often is it updated anyway?

Take today for example. I looked at the Traffic data on Google Maps and it showed that much of the freeway I would be taking was Red. But then I checked SigAlert and that said most of it was Green with some rough spots.

I then drove it and found that my experience matched SigAlert's. So much for traffic info from the Google Maps...
yayaba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 06:00 AM   #8
kdarling
macrumors Demi-God
 
kdarling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Device engineer 30+ yrs, touchscreens 23+.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvideography View Post
how is it updated? if someone has a gps device in their car, does the satellite read how fast they are going and that updates the traffic info?
Just a note: GPS is one-way, from satellite to receivers. Nothing transmits back to the satellite.

Major cities have speed sensors that collect traffic data. The database view to the public is updated usually about once a minute.

No idea how often or if it's updated on iPhone.
kdarling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 06:05 AM   #9
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkvideography View Post
how is it updated? if someone has a gps device in their car, does the satellite read how fast they are going and that updates the traffic info?
Those diamond patterns cut into the road you see every so often. It measures the speed and transmits it to a local agency. Google aggregates the data from major cities. I don't know how often Google maps gets updated but it seems accurate.

And as others have said, GPS devices only receive not transmit.
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 07:36 AM   #10
CyberGreg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by yayaba View Post
I've been wondering that myself. How often is it updated anyway?

Take today for example. I looked at the Traffic data on Google Maps and it showed that much of the freeway I would be taking was Red. But then I checked SigAlert and that said most of it was Green with some rough spots.

I then drove it and found that my experience matched SigAlert's. So much for traffic info from the Google Maps...
Wouldn't it really depend on each of the sites definition of Red, Yellow and Green? On SigAlert, it's:
Red - 1-14
Yellow - 15-34
Gray - 35-54
Green - 55+

I don't know what Google uses but for Southern California; I've found this site to be very helpful (when all the sensors are reporting).
San Diego area: http://www.dot.ca.gov/dist11/d11tmc/...vel/travel.php
Looks like they're working on the LA County map:
http://www.dot.ca.gov/dist07/travel/travel_times/

Anyhow... I'll try and compare Google and the CA DMV site to see how close the times are. I'm not too concerned if the colors don't match, just if the travel times are off.


Edit: Here's a nice map of the Traffic areas that Google has:
Link Here

Last edited by CyberGreg; Jul 18, 2007 at 07:38 AM. Reason: Added Google info
CyberGreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 09:00 AM   #11
Schmoe0013
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to Schmoe0013
here is the DOT site for minneapolis/st paul metro area.

I have a feeling google "might" be getting the information from the local DOT's for the cities they have information on. Just a thought.


http://www.dot.state.mn.us/tmc/traff...efreshmap.html
Schmoe0013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 11:40 AM   #12
Xtgirl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
how do you get traffic functions on google maps using the iphone..i didn't know you could do this!
Xtgirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 12:22 PM   #13
mrtune
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I prefer sites like mobi.traffic.com over google maps traffic info. Dedicated traffic sites will provide much better and more detailed info than google.

Sucks to have to use the mobile version of traffic.com but the iphone doesn't support flash, so the regular maps don't load .
mrtune is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 01:51 PM   #14
kdarling
macrumors Demi-God
 
kdarling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Device engineer 30+ yrs, touchscreens 23+.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtgirl View Post
how do you get traffic functions on google maps using the iphone..i didn't know you could do this!
I can't believe they don't include the manual in the device

Or at least have an HTML linked version online. Is there one? So much for cutting edge management ideas!

Anyway, see the iPhone manual in the section on Applications / Maps:

http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/iPhone_User_Guide.pdf
kdarling is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 02:26 PM   #15
scotty588
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Carlsbad, CA
scotty588 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 09:40 PM   #16
Xtgirl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Sigh...I didn't even know there was a manual Thanks for the link! I learn new things to do with this thing everyday!
Xtgirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2007, 11:27 PM   #17
kf6oyk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Here in the Bay Area, I believe that they use FasTrak for traffic data.

Copy and paste from www.bayareafastrack.com

How is my FasTrak® toll tag used for traffic information purposes?
The toll tag may be read to provide anonymous traffic flow data to the Metropolitan Transportation Commission’s ‘511’ project, which is a toll-free phone and Web service that consolidates Bay Area transportation-related information – providing up-to-the-minute information on traffic conditions and incidents. FasTrak® users remain anonymous through the use of encryption software that scrambles each FasTrak® toll tag ID number before any other processing happens. If you do not want your toll tag read for these purposes, place the toll tag in the special Mylar bag provided to you when you are not using it for payment of tolls at a toll plaza. The Mylar bags can be requested from the Customer Service Center. If you would like additional information about ‘511,’ please visit www.511.org.
kf6oyk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2009, 12:25 PM   #18
mrridiculous
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
On the NY Thruway, I see a sensors attached to overpasses that I think are monitoring speeds of each vehicle. There's plenty of traffic cams that can probably sense speeds too. Here's a full explanation of the google traffic view which really shows how big of a system it really is.
mrridiculous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2011, 03:34 PM   #19
smoge
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarling View Post
Just a note: GPS is one-way, from satellite to receivers. Nothing transmits back to the satellite.

Major cities have speed sensors that collect traffic data. The database view to the public is updated usually about once a minute.

No idea how often or if it's updated on iPhone.
correct but the iphone dose not have gps, it has gprs. its completely different and dose not require satellites.
smoge is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2011, 04:08 PM   #20
Laird Knox
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoge View Post
correct but the iphone dose not have gps, it has gprs. its completely different and dose not require satellites.
Wow, way to resurrect an old post with incorrect information.

You did get it right that GPS and GPRS are not the same thing but the iPhone most certainly does have GPS.
Laird Knox is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2011, 05:03 PM   #21
shandyman
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newbury, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoge View Post
correct but the iphone dose not have gps, it has gprs. its completely different and dose not require satellites.
hahaha great joke. lolwut? you were being serious??

i think you should go tell apple as they have it totally wrong if you're right...

http://www.apple.com/iphone/features/maps-compass.html
shandyman is online now   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does (iCloud/Mavericks) generating password feature actually work with iOS apps? OverSpun iCloud and Apple Services 12 Jun 9, 2014 06:37 PM
What happened to Google Map's future traffic feature? HappyDude20 Community Discussion 3 May 22, 2014 12:33 PM
How does 'Do Not Disturb' feature work? daveishere iOS 6 13 Sep 22, 2012 10:47 AM
iOS 6 maps traffic data is based on TomTom HD Traffic source AndresHD iOS 6 24 Aug 12, 2012 12:38 AM
How does traffic data work? gmanist1000 iOS 6 2 Jul 12, 2012 03:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC