Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 21, 2007, 01:29 AM   #1
Siddymae
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somerset Kentucky
Just bought my first powerbook and need help! please

So yea this is my first mac ever i bought a g4 titanium powerbook 550mhz .. i call it my fixer upper mac since im going to replace everything and i got it on ebay for less then 300 but my question is which air port card do i need to buy? ive looked everywhere and cant find which one i need exactly. or is there an alternative? and is there supposed to be a pcmcia slot?

thanks in advance for any help
Siddymae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 01:42 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
It has a slot ready for the original AirPort card and I don't think there is supposed to be a PCMCIA slot. Mate, check out MacTracker for a decent rundown of specs.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 09:49 AM   #3
Siddymae
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somerset Kentucky
thanks mad. but i dont have my mac online yet. when you say original airport card which one is that haha yea im dumb sorry
Siddymae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 09:56 AM   #4
Sly
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Airstrip One
Its the one that looks like a PCMCIA card.

Needless to say it is also the one that is most expensive as it has been out of production for 3 years.
Sly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 10:00 AM   #5
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
If it's 550 MHz, you have this one:

http://apple-history.com/?page=galle...date&order=ASC

There *is* a PC card slot. Separately, there is also a slot for an Airport card, which is basically also a PC card. It looks like this:



You don't want one that looks like this (note the word extreme):



The Airport cards are available on eBay, here occasionally (best option in terms of price), and on-and-off, from vendors like SmallDog, Amazon, etc. They can be kind of pricey, but you can get them for $30 or $40 if you shop around. It will provide you with 802.11b only -- no g and no a. It does support WPA over 802.11b, though, I think.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 06:52 PM   #6
Siddymae
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somerset Kentucky
OK thanks for your help on figuring out which one i need. Now one more q? if i cant find an airport card or decide i dont want to pay too much for one. what other options can i go with?
Siddymae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 06:53 PM   #7
Siddymae
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somerset Kentucky
pc slot? pcmcia? what do you mean seperately?

Last edited by Siddymae; Jul 21, 2007 at 07:00 PM. Reason: ?
Siddymae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 07:08 PM   #8
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siddymae View Post
pc slot? pcmcia? what do you mean seperately?
My understanding is that this Powerbook has an Airport card slot, under the keyboard, and also a PCMCIA card slot on the side of the chassis. That's what Apple History says.

1) So, you could, in principle, find a b or g card that'll work with OS X for the PC Card slot. I don't have any recommendations, but I'm sure they're out there. A quick search listed this site...I've heard of people using that Dell TrueMobile if you can still find it.

2) I've heard of people modifying cards (I think it was that Dell, again), to fit in the airport slot, so that they don't stick out the side of the computer. I've heard of this more commonly in iBooks than in TiBooks, though, so I'm not 100% sure what your options are there.

3) You could get a compatible USB adaptor.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 07:16 PM   #9
Royale w/cheese
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
This may work for you. I have had very good experiences with buffalo showing up natively as a genuine airport extreme, but it was on a desktop PCI. I have dealt with these people before, they are really helpful. They should be able to answer any questions you could have. They do good, inexpensive work on powerbooks, too.

http://www.wegenermedia.com/buffwls.htm
Royale w/cheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 09:13 PM   #10
Siddymae
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somerset Kentucky
is this the pcmcia slot? if so what is the vent for? do you remove it?

Last edited by Siddymae; Jul 22, 2007 at 02:13 AM. Reason: pics wouldnt load
Siddymae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 09:17 PM   #11
Siddymae
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somerset Kentucky
for some reason my pics arent showing up

but here are the links
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k1...e/DSC_0001.jpg
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k1...e/DSC_0004.jpg
Siddymae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 09:21 PM   #12
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
I think that's right, yes.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 09:24 PM   #13
Siddymae
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somerset Kentucky
would this work?
http://www.bizrate.com/nic/belkin-f5...formation.html
Siddymae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2007, 10:45 PM   #14
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
That Belkin card should work. The 'vent' as you call it (I assume you mean the screen door, not the vertical slits) is simply the door for the PC card slot. When you slide your card up to it, it will fold upwards, when you remove your card it returns to keep dust and crud out of your TiBook.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2007, 02:13 AM   #15
Siddymae
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somerset Kentucky
i believe i am a certified idiot now hahaha yea thats totally a door(slot) will i need to download anything to make it work for the mac or will it recognize it? thanks again
Siddymae is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2007, 01:24 AM   #16
TEG
macrumors 604
 
TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Langley, Washington
Send a message via ICQ to TEG Send a message via AIM to TEG Send a message via MSN to TEG Send a message via Yahoo to TEG Send a message via Skype™ to TEG
With cards made by most companies, they are instantly recognized by the Mac as an AirPort Card. Just open up system preferences to turn on the radio and configure the network.

TEG
__________________
Apple and Dell are the only ones in this industry making money. They make it by being Wal-Mart. We make it by innovation, - Steve Jobs
The Tegian Zone-Glass Onion Radio
TEG is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I just bought my first Mac and need opinions. ericthetechguy PowerPC Macs 18 Dec 2, 2010 06:14 PM
Just got my first mac...having some problems, please help! Corsairkid MacBook Pro 13 Jun 14, 2010 12:51 PM
Just got my first MAC (i need help with iPhone) alhajis iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 8 Aug 7, 2009 12:48 PM
NOOB Advice please... Just bought my first Mac Pro. DeuceDeuce Mac Pro 10 May 14, 2008 01:02 AM
I did it - just bought my first iMac and switched from Windooze tom1971 iMac 5 Oct 28, 2007 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC