Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2003, 09:36 AM   #1
plutnicki
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Help a switcher

I've got a friend of mine who's a potential switcher, but one thing he wants to do is connect a future Mac into his HT system with digital audio out. He's considering an iMac right now.

Are there any firewire/USB interfaces that will do digital audio out?

Thanks,
__________________
...Jim
2.0Ghz, 2Gig, 13" MacBook
4G 40GB iPod Photo
2G Black iPod nano
plutnicki is offline   0
Old Jul 25, 2003, 09:45 AM   #2
DrGonzo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Re: Help a switcher

Quote:
Originally posted by plutnicki
I've got a friend of mine who's a potential switcher, but one thing he wants to do is connect a future Mac into his HT system with digital audio out. He's considering an iMac right now.

Are there any firewire/USB interfaces that will do digital audio out?

Thanks,
Maybe something like this?
http://www.digitraxx.com/hwscsonica.html

Or something like this, though i don't know if it'll work for what you want/
http://floridamusicco.com/ua1d.htm

Some of them (not those listed here) are for pc only which kinda sucks.

Here's another one or two, though these are more expensive...
http://www.esi-pro.com/viewProduct.php?pid=12&page=1

http://www.esi-pro.com/viewProduct.php?pid=10&page=1

Anything beyond these and you really start to get into more professional audio tools that will have far more options than you need, not to mention the price.
__________________
"...but this is an Apple version so it's automatically good." shutup please

Last edited by DrGonzo; Jul 25, 2003 at 10:02 AM.
DrGonzo is offline   0
Old Jul 25, 2003, 10:11 AM   #3
idea_hamster
macrumors 65816
 
idea_hamster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NYC, or thereabouts
For only a bit more than a middle-of-the road iMac, he could get a 1.6 GHz G5 that has built-in S/PDIF optical audio I/O (assuming that he uses whatever display he's using now).

Is that a possibility?
__________________
The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
but wiser people so full of doubts. -- B. Russell
idea_hamster is offline   0
Old Jul 25, 2003, 07:13 PM   #4
applemacdude
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Over The Rainbow
Send a message via ICQ to applemacdude Send a message via AIM to applemacdude Send a message via MSN to applemacdude Send a message via Yahoo to applemacdude Send a message via Skype™ to applemacdude
Remember that you have to add a monitor. But the G5 is much faster. The imacs aredue for an update but remember that most likely that the imac wont have a g5. But the imac does look so cool
applemacdude is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help looking for audio switcher? Che Castro Mac Peripherals 7 Apr 5, 2014 10:42 AM
Anyone else not like the new app-switcher/multitasking? TH55 iOS 7 21 Feb 11, 2014 02:42 PM
App Switcher Elbert C OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 May 10, 2013 09:13 PM
iPad: hdmi switcher kevintrung iPad 1 Jan 15, 2013 03:34 PM
iPad: What is App Switcher in Springtomize 2? Enlightenment1 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Jun 9, 2012 08:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC