Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 30, 2007, 10:40 AM   #1
mdwsta4
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
possible to change 'silent' settings other than with button?

i think the topic really says it all. is there a way to change the 'silent' settings other than by using the button on the side of the phone? or is it possible to switch the use of the button so 'silent' becomes 'ring' and visa versa?

thanks!
mdwsta4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2007, 06:59 PM   #2
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Yes under Setting>Sounds
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2007, 07:53 AM   #3
mdwsta4
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
may sound like a stupid follow up, but are you saying if i switch 'vibrate' to off under silent that it automatically changes to 'ring' mode? i just assumed if i turned vibrate off in silent mode the phone wouldn't vibrate when i received a call/message.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skubish View Post
Yes under Setting>Sounds
mdwsta4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2007, 10:04 AM   #4
mdwsta4
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
so am i to assume there is not a way to do this?
anyone?

it looks like the whole problem might be that i put the silent/ring switch backwards when reinstalling my housing. i would hope that by taking it apart and flipping the switch around it would work properly, but i just don't feel like taking it all apart again. really hope there's a workaround.

thanks!
mdwsta4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2007, 03:43 PM   #5
Navintar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
I believe there is no way to do it.
The switch on the side is for switching between 2 modes: Ringing and Silent.
Now the phone still vibrates in both modes. To turn it off, you go to the setting in sound option.

I guess what I'm trying to say is whether or not it vibrates is independent of the mode you're in.
Navintar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2007, 03:49 PM   #6
mdwsta4
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
thanks. guess that's what i figured. i know it can vibrate in either mode, i was mainly concerned with the ringing portion of it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navintar View Post
I believe there is no way to do it.
The switch on the side is for switching between 2 modes: Ringing and Silent.
Now the phone still vibrates in both modes. To turn it off, you go to the setting in sound option.

I guess what I'm trying to say is whether or not it vibrates is independent of the mode you're in.
mdwsta4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 3, 2007, 08:42 PM   #7
skubish
macrumors 68030
 
skubish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwsta4 View Post
thanks. guess that's what i figured. i know it can vibrate in either mode, i was mainly concerned with the ringing portion of it.
I am not sure what you want to do but try this.

1. Leave the switch in Ring mode.
2. Go to Settings>Sounds
3. If you want it to vibrate, turn the vibrate ON under ring settings and then turn the volume all the way down.
4. If you want it to do nothing, then turn vibrate OFF under ring settings and then turn the volume all the way down.
5. If you want it to ring well then turn the volume up.
__________________
iPad 3G 32GB
iMac C2D 24"
iPhone 3GS 32GB Black
iPod Nano 8GB Blue
skubish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2007, 12:27 AM   #8
Navintar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by skubish View Post
I am not sure what you want to do but try this.

1. Leave the switch in Ring mode.
2. Go to Settings>Sounds
3. If you want it to vibrate, turn the vibrate ON under ring settings and then turn the volume all the way down.
4. If you want it to do nothing, then turn vibrate OFF under ring settings and then turn the volume all the way down.
5. If you want it to ring well then turn the volume up.
I think the problem that his switch is stuck in silent mode, according to this thread
Navintar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 08:03 AM   #9
pavid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
i am having the same problem, but my silent switch is broken, so i cant switch between them, and it is stuck on loud.

they wont fix it under warrentee because the screen is cracked.

when i put the volume all the way down it, it isnt silent. it still rings, but quietly. which is no good when im in lectures etc.

anyone know how to do it?

thanks
pavid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 08:47 AM   #10
JMax1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Harlem, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavid View Post
i am having the same problem, but my silent switch is broken, so i cant switch between them, and it is stuck on loud.

they wont fix it under warrentee because the screen is cracked.

when i put the volume all the way down it, it isnt silent. it still rings, but quietly. which is no good when im in lectures etc.

anyone know how to do it?

thanks
Maybe create a custom ringtone (garageband) that is very quiet? Or maybe make a custom ringtone that is silence?
__________________
old iMac - iPhone 4 80GB
JMax1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2009, 09:49 AM   #11
TheSpaz
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMax1 View Post
Maybe create a custom ringtone (garageband) that is very quiet? Or maybe make a custom ringtone that is silence?
What about text messages?
TheSpaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to change settings in an app? Prub iPhone/iPad Programming 1 Aug 22, 2010 03:30 PM
Possibly another way to physically represent data other than just bits? Bobdude161 Community Discussion 9 Jul 18, 2009 02:31 AM
Is it possible to change song in itunes with the remote, without waking the display? kurenaiz MacBook Pro 2 Dec 14, 2008 10:26 AM
possible to change wallpaper for menu with firmware2.0.1? superjohny iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Sep 5, 2008 12:59 PM
Mouse Sensitivity Settings other than "Preferances" JHNguyen Mac Peripherals 1 Jan 11, 2008 10:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC