Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Amblinman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 31, 2007
Hey folks!

I'm new to the world of Apple. I've lusted for their products from a distance and after walking into an Apple store yesterday, I'm ready to make the leap not only to a Mac, but to an iPhone.

However, I currently use a BlackBerry. Email, texting, and PIM functions are pretty important to me. The iPhone seems to cover all of these, but are there any of you who have used both a BB and the iPhone who would care to comment as to the transition? Do you find the iPhone covers all of your needs?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

nickspohn

macrumors 68040
Jun 9, 2007
I used to use a black berry a lot.

I like the iPhone a lot better. I find typing to be easier as well too.

Amblinman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 31, 2007
This brings up another question:

Is there a means to transfer all of your BB contacts over to your iPhone?

cdd543

macrumors 6502
Oct 13, 2006
Denver
I am a longtime blackberry user and while I really like the iphone, but it doesn't handle email nearly as well. I frequently get no content and message not downloaded from server messages on my two pop3 accounts. This is still the case after today's mini update. It is slow opening messages sometimes as it downloads them from the server when you open it.
I like the iphone keyboard and love the web surfing, but for me the email app needs some improvement.

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
I understand that, aside from Yahoo IMAP IDLE, the most frequently the iPhone checks e-mail is once every 15 minutes? Do BB users find this frustrating, after being used to the much more responsive BIS/BES? I've only played with, but never owned the iPhone. After my short time so far with an 8700g, though, I'm seeing why the term Crackberry™ gets used. :eek: