Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 8, 2007, 03:04 AM   #1
wizwaz3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern Arizona
Reformat iBook with iMac's boot disks?

The iMac forum is clogged with news of the new iMac, so I decided to post my problem here: I just bought a friends old iBook G3 for writing and surfing the web. It's slow and full of his junk. He doesn't have the original disks, so I was wondering, would the install disks from my Intel iMac work on it?

*Mods, please delete this thread.*
__________________
apple
wizwaz3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 03:11 AM   #2
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
lol i dont think it will let you install. unless you ahve bought a seperate copy os tiger or wateva OS u want to install the installer wont let you. the disks that come with the computer are made for that computer only.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 03:23 AM   #3
iBookG4user
macrumors 604
 
iBookG4user's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Send a message via MSN to iBookG4user
No, they won't work. The iMac's disks only include the intel version of Mac OS X and therefore will not work on a PPC Mac.
__________________
*Super high tech stuff goes here*
iBookG4user is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 02:48 PM   #4
wizwaz3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northern Arizona
Awe man! Oh well, thanks for all your help! :-) Is there a way to order them from Apple at least?
__________________
apple
wizwaz3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 05:34 PM   #5
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
im pretty sure (about 80% sure) that any tiger version you buy by iteself from apple or the shops will be a ppc install aswell as a intel install, so id you are willing to fork out money u can put it on. i would email someone though first as im not positive.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 06:28 PM   #6
dacreativeguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoFoT9 View Post
im pretty sure (about 80% sure) that any tiger version you buy by iteself from apple or the shops will be a ppc install aswell as a intel install, so id you are willing to fork out money u can put it on. i would email someone though first as im not positive.
All retail versions of Tiger (black discs and box) are for PPC only. All Intel macs come with Tiger so there is no reason to sell an Intel version.
dacreativeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 06:41 PM   #7
Royale w/cheese
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizwaz3 View Post
Awe man! Oh well, thanks for all your help! :-) Is there a way to order them from Apple at least?
For the most part, they will not, One guy once told me you can, he then put me on hold and we got disconnected. I called right back, another man told me that my powerbook was too old (last revision 12" 1.5ghz, right before full intel transition) and I could not get them anymore. I explained about the last guy, he told me he was wrong. I gave up, albeit too easily, after that.

The current version of Tiger retail is only PPC. Kind of weird that is not a Universal Binary right? But what if a bought a broken core solo intel mini from ebay, fixed it and wanted to reload tiger? Would Apple then be able to give me the disks?
Royale w/cheese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 06:45 PM   #8
dacreativeguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Royale w/cheese View Post
For the most part, they will not, One guy once told me you can, he then put me on hold and we got disconnected. I called right back, another man told me that my powerbook was too old (last revision 12" 1.5ghz, right before full intel transition) and I could not get them anymore. I explained about the last guy, he told me he was wrong. I gave up, albeit too easily, after that.

The current version of Tiger retail is only PPC. Kind of weird that is not a Universal Binary right? But what if a bought a broken core solo intel mini from ebay, fixed it and wanted to reload tiger? Would Apple then be able to give me the disks?
The retail versions of the OS are meant for upgrading from a previous OS. So the retail Tiger is for people upgrading from Panther. The intel macs were released with Tiger, so there is no reason (or market) for selling Intel Tiger upgrade packages. If you lost your gray install discs, it's a support issue. Call apple and they will sell you replacements.
dacreativeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 07:29 PM   #9
anothermacaddic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I know there is a company on ebay who sells restore cd's for all different types of macs. I bought restore cd's for my powerbook for 10.4 and when they arrived they were for imac. I called them up and said wth is going on? You sent me the wrong stuff and they said use em and i did and it worked beautifully. If i remember correctly they were less than 20 dollars.
anothermacaddic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: 10.3 Panther OEM disks boot to black screen jrsx PowerPC Macs 2 Apr 26, 2014 08:02 PM
Boot old Mac, or at least mount disks? laserfan Apple Collectors 7 Apr 7, 2014 11:10 AM
Fusion 5 - No Boot Camp disks found JLeoanrd Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Sep 6, 2012 03:37 PM
Power Mac G4 MDD and boot disks bax2003 PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 17, 2012 09:55 AM
Cant reformat old raid10 disks.. Macinposh Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Jun 14, 2012 06:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC