Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 8, 2007, 09:34 PM   #1
gothiquegirrl
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Planet Earth
Send a message via Skype™ to gothiquegirrl
G3 imac body... MacMini Heart ?

OK..So my G3 imac runs GREAT right now.. but i was thinking about either getting an old G3 that doens't work... or maybe moding the body of my current one when it breaks... BUT I was wondering if anyone else had done this?

I thought SURELY someone has??

Is there a way to mount a Flat Panel Monitor in there..Would have to likely be an older one that isn't wide screen?

Or am i stupid for even asking?

Ang
__________________
Error 50092 - Rabid , Banana Fearing Monkeys have been dispatched to retrieve the correct signature. Check back often. Watch out for Zombies.
gothiquegirrl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 09:43 PM   #2
iToaster
macrumors 68000
 
iToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In front of my MacBook Pro
Hmm, there's always a way, but you'd have to get creative with that. I dunno if a Mac Mini would work... but there's always a way. I'd clean out the iMac, get a screen the size of the iMac's, strip the mini of it's outer casing, hook up the monitor via DVI or something, sit the mini in there where the (slot loading) optical drive is and run cable extenders to the old ports (might even stick a small fan in the exhaust to make sure it doesn't get toasty). It should resemble the old iMac fairly well.
__________________
MacBook Pro | 2.66 i7 | 8GB | 1TB | Matte HR | iPhone 5S | 64 GB | iPad WiFi | 64 GB
iToaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2007, 09:44 PM   #3
Boika
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by gothiquegirrl View Post
OK..So my G3 imac runs GREAT right now.. but i was thinking about either getting an old G3 that doens't work... or maybe moding the body of my current one when it breaks... BUT I was wondering if anyone else had done this?

I thought SURELY someone has??

Is there a way to mount a Flat Panel Monitor in there..Would have to likely be an older one that isn't wide screen?

Or am i stupid for even asking?

Ang
I saw someone put a lcd monitor into a g3 imac case on some website a while back (forget the sit)e so it is possible and i can imagine you could mod it to sit a mac mini underneath or behind it, just getting to all the ports and cd drive would be a hassle unless u connect a usb hub or something?
Boika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2007, 12:47 AM   #4
hotinplaya
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boika View Post
I saw someone put a lcd monitor into a g3 imac case on some website a while back (forget the sit)e so it is possible and i can imagine you could mod it to sit a mac mini underneath or behind it, just getting to all the ports and cd drive would be a hassle unless u connect a usb hub or something?
I saw a while back, where some one did that with a Mac SE, gutted it, flat panel screen and a mini mac in side, looked wild, seeing OSX on a Mac SE
hotinplaya is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Withings' Smart Body Analyzer Launches, Measures Weight, Heart Rate and Air Quality MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 33 Jun 16, 2014 02:26 PM
iMac or macMini? Scott6666 iMac 1 Nov 30, 2012 08:18 AM
T/B display Macmini VS imac Dyn-tec iMac 5 Oct 30, 2012 05:17 PM
Heart Counter - Manual Heart Rate Measurement Made Easy! pietrasm iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Jun 24, 2012 01:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC