Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 9, 2007, 02:15 AM   #1
thumper
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Under the Sea
New iMacs and Recording: your thoughts

are the new iMacs good machines for recording???
(protools & logic)

right now i use a 1.33 g4 powerbook with an Mbox,
and i ALWAYS get CPU & USB errors.

would the entry level imac diminish these errors??
or is the powermac more what i should be getting??
thumper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2007, 02:38 PM   #2
Killyp
macrumors 68040
 
Killyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
The iMac would be perfect for your needs. Some say the MacPro is better, but most people would never push an iMac to the degree that they feel a need to ugprade.

Having used the new iMac today, for an extended period, I can really recommend it as a great machine, the build quality, performance and design is absolutely fantastic, unlike any other machine I've seen.

It seems almost like more of a pro machine when you look at the performance and build quality/design. Like a MacPro, in one box.
Killyp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2007, 09:23 AM   #3
seclusion
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
The only thing I'd be concerned with the iMac for recording is the FW bus.
For a lot of Daw (Digital Audio Workstations) not only is FW used for extra HD's but for the sound-card as well.
You'll want an extra HD for the audio files, then a dedicated sound-card.
So the jury is still out as to whether the 2 FW ports share the same bus on the new iMac's. If they don't, spec wise they'd rawk for a Daw. 4 Gigs of ram is great, as well as adding a second screen is cool.
I use a Mac Pro 2.66 model with 5 gigs of ram, but the most important for me is having 4 Hd's inside one machine.
I have a ton of CPU power left doing my song-writing, for the first time I'm not worrying about the computer keeping up with me.
Just the FW bus would be my only slight concern which may be ok.
I guess you can do Usb 2 Hd's but they don't do as well for audio as Fw does.
seclusion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2007, 09:28 AM   #4
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by seclusion View Post
The only thing I'd be concerned with the iMac for recording is the FW bus.
why? have you maxed out the firewire bus? how many tracks did it take, and at what sample rate?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are video cards from 20" 2007 iMacs campatible with 24" 2008 iMacs gbuyer iMac 7 Oct 7, 2014 05:45 PM
Recording webcam video with screen recording software? kat.hayes Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 2 Jan 3, 2014 11:41 AM
Video recording audio not recording.. wtf? smiffy78 iPhone 7 Sep 27, 2013 04:44 PM
Some thoughts on 5S Slo-Mo Recording -Garry- iPhone 3 Sep 22, 2013 11:43 AM
Recording Studio Application Question: Fan Noise Specs for new 2012 iMacs? D*I*S_Frontman iMac 3 Oct 28, 2012 07:15 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC