Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 1, 2003, 05:28 PM   #1
holy MAC!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
funky Pro mouse

hi all,
im posting concerning my pro mouse.

it works,

but sometimes.. it dies on me... and it doesn't show any light at all.

then it flickers in this pattern:
for those of you who know morse code:

. _ _ _ (it makes a J)

and it repeats that pattern....

i mean.. it works fine most of the time....

do any of you have any suggestions? or also any personal experiences regarding this problem?

and also...

it would occasionally freeze.

also (i don't have applecare, so i can't take this in) ....
__________________
if you have one mac, one opportunity,
would you buy it? or would you let it be outdated?
holy MAC! is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2003, 06:11 PM   #2
Gus
macrumors 65816
 
Gus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to Gus
Do you have it connected to a hub, or a USB card, or is it a buit-in USB port? What OS are you running? What machine do you have?

Sorry, but this info will help.

Regards,
Gus
__________________
Shop smart, shop S-Mart.
Gus is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2003, 06:36 PM   #3
Mblazened
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Valley
Send a message via AIM to Mblazened
pro mice are, frankly, bad mice. I see them break all the time with normal use.

its broken
get a new one

if its under warranty they will just replace it
__________________
Animator, Illustrator, Artist: www.maxforward.com
Mblazened is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2003, 06:50 PM   #4
holy MAC!
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
it's plugged directly into the keyboard (i can't see anything broken with the plug)

im running jaguar 10.2.6

<edit>

i am running a quicksilver 800mhz (no L3)

the mouse is plugged into the keyboard, which is plugged into the monitor

</edit>
__________________
if you have one mac, one opportunity,
would you buy it? or would you let it be outdated?
holy MAC! is offline   0
Old Aug 1, 2003, 11:18 PM   #5
5300cs
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: japan
sound like the problem I was having back in June...

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...ight=pro+mouse

I couldn't find my warranty card so I ended up just buying a new one. Now it's called "Mouse", and it was a little bit cheaper. If this one dies though, I'm never buying an Apple mouse again. 3 strikes and you're out, you know?
__________________
5300cs is offline   0
Old Aug 2, 2003, 05:50 AM   #6
thebossisback
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Providence, RI
Funny that you menchion it because just yesterday my eMac pro mouse started to jumo around alot. it has always been on the same surface so i know surface isnt the issue. I though they should be pretty good because in Apple system profiler it says it is made by logitech
thebossisback is offline   0
Old Aug 2, 2003, 03:49 PM   #7
visor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: in bed
Send a message via AIM to visor
get a logitec

look at them, feel them, take the one you like best. It will be a fantastic mouse that is not likely to quit on you.

While i've never seen a good apple mouse, the ablosutely worst was made by apple.
It was that incredibly stupid green completely round thing that i couldn't even hold for 2 minutes straight. Since the ball was dirty, it didn't even work right
visor is offline   0
Old Aug 2, 2003, 04:07 PM   #8
mnkeybsness
macrumors 68030
 
mnkeybsness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Moneyapolis, Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to mnkeybsness
this was originally a problem with the pro mouse having shoddy wiring. once it was determined as the cause of this problem, more insulation was placed in the cord. it really didn't do the trick all that well...

...but be careful, because when this happened to me the first time, my bad pro mouse shorted out the usb hub in my keyboard. i didn't know it until after apple sent me a new mouse and the thing would just not work when plugged into the keyboard.

when apple replaced my mouse, they accidently mailed 2 brand new pro mouses to me. so i have a backup if it ever happens again.
__________________
Scribbls - a collaborative drawing community designed to combine drawings into outcomes—no talent required.
mnkeybsness is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very funky Finder behavior Killerbob OS X Mavericks (10.9) 7 May 26, 2014 09:56 AM
Mac Pro 1,1 recent mouse stutter - regardless of OS or mouse cokersa Mac Pro 4 Nov 1, 2013 03:48 PM
WiFi Mouse Pro - Transform iPhone into a wireless mouse, keyboard and trackpad lew0001 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 4 Jul 9, 2013 03:38 AM
Funky Glitches in iPhone 5 FSMBP iPhone 4 Oct 15, 2012 08:37 PM
Funky flash drives antproof MacBook 1 Sep 10, 2012 11:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC