Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2007, 06:04 PM   #1
jodiharbour
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
eMac and airport base station problems connecting to internet

I need help setting up my mom's eMac to the internet via an airport base station. The main computer that is hooked up to the cable modem is my new iMac.

Does anyone know the settings I need to input or where I would find them? I'm at a loss for what to do because usually it all works when initially connecting.

Any help that anyone can offer will be greatly appreciated.
jodiharbour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2007, 04:01 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Umm, is the AirPort going to connect to the iMac or the modem directly? Have you used the AirPort Setup Assistant?
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2007, 08:28 PM   #3
jodiharbour
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
The airport will be connected to the emac and then hopefully it will then connect wirelessly to the imac. The emac is in an office and not near the cable modem that the imac is hooked up to.

I have tried the setup assistant but I can never get it to work for me.

Any help to resolve this problem will be greatly appreciated.
jodiharbour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2007, 08:24 PM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I'm struggling here... The AirPort is connecting to the eMac, which isn't near the modem? The iMac is near the modem and presumably connected via a cable?... Are you wanting to share the connecting from your iMac to the AirPort connected to the eMac because the Mac doesn't have built in wireless? Sorry mate, my brain is tiny and I'm all confusled.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the old (egg shaped) Airport Extreme Base Station work with Time Machine orvn Mac Basics and Help 2 Nov 5, 2011 05:02 PM
How do I set up My AirPort Extreme + WD My Book To Make a Media Drive For my Network? polo3400 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 2 Jul 12, 2011 12:30 PM
Question about internet sharing and airport base station. nospleen Mac Peripherals 0 Jan 18, 2008 05:07 PM
Airport card to Airport base station problem Reaver Mac Peripherals 0 Jan 16, 2008 12:53 PM
Can Airport Extreme N base station be connected to a Linksys Wireless router Lan port bujjai2007 Mac Peripherals 15 Feb 23, 2007 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC