Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

toksuede

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 22, 2007
To whom that can help me out in a good way:

I've been seriously contemplating a fond farewell to my Powerbook 1.67ghz. It's seen its days and I think it will be better off running away with a strange ebayer by the end of this year.

The problem started when I seriously started to consider what to get next. A MacBook or a MacBook Pro? The thing is, if I'm going to get the MacBook, I'm going to go for the Black and loaded up as much as monetarily possible. With the MacBook Pro, I'm considering the basic one, maybe with the HD upgrade to 160GB.

If it does help, I'm a professional sports photographer and to be absolutely honest with you, I was waiting for the "ultra wafer thin sliced" MacBook something, as less weight and portability is what I was looking for.

I do use PS (CS2) a bit here and there, but no Lightroom or no Aperture (this might change when I do decide to use either of them sometimes in the far flung future). No games and no 3D apps for me and therefore graphics card isn't important for me, really.

At home, I currently connect my PowerBook to a Lacie 321 monitor and would like to do the same for my next purchase. I know both MacBook and MacBook Pro will support the resolution of this monitor.

From the predictions I have read on this forum, sounds like there will be a new MacBook by the end of the year.

So which one deserves my hard earned cash?

bennyboi

macrumors regular
Jun 1, 2006
West Coast
I like Pro