Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 23, 2007, 11:32 AM   #1
Midgetinabikini
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Macbook pro USB only 1.1???

running OSX 10.4.10, macbook pro 17" 2.33 c2d, 4 usb bus in system profiler, 3 of them running only in 12Mb, the 4th is High-speed Bus running at 480Mb and the built-in isight is connected to it.

what to do? how can it happend? i saw the problem when i connected external USB drive (160Gb sata drive) and i worked slow like my dead horse!

USB Bus:

Host Controller Location: Built In USB
Host Controller Driver: AppleUSBUHCI
PCI Device ID: 0x27c8
PCI Revision ID: 0x0002
PCI Vendor ID: 0x8086
Bus Number: 0x1d

Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad:

Version: 0.13
Bus Power (mA): 500
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Apple Computer
Product ID: 0x021b
Vendor ID: 0x05ac (Apple Computer, Inc.)

USB Bus:

Host Controller Location: Built In USB
Host Controller Driver: AppleUSBUHCI
PCI Device ID: 0x27cb
PCI Revision ID: 0x0002
PCI Vendor ID: 0x8086
Bus Number: 0x7d

Bluetooth USB Host Controller:

Version: 19.65
Bus Power (mA): 500
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Apple, Inc.
Product ID: 0x8205
Vendor ID: 0x05ac (Apple Computer, Inc.)

USB Bus:

Host Controller Location: Built In USB
Host Controller Driver: AppleUSBUHCI
PCI Device ID: 0x27ca
PCI Revision ID: 0x0002
PCI Vendor ID: 0x8086
Bus Number: 0x5d

IR Receiver:

Version: 1.10
Bus Power (mA): 500
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Apple Computer, Inc.
Product ID: 0x8240
Vendor ID: 0x05ac (Apple Computer, Inc.)

USB High-Speed Bus:

Host Controller Location: Built In USB
Host Controller Driver: AppleUSBEHCI
PCI Device ID: 0x27cc
PCI Revision ID: 0x0002
PCI Vendor ID: 0x8086
Bus Number: 0xfd

Built-in iSight:

Version: 1.84
Bus Power (mA): 500
Speed: Up to 480 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Micron
Product ID: 0x8501
Vendor ID: 0x05ac (Apple Computer, Inc.)
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 11:34 AM   #2
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
The input devices, Bluetooth, and IR Receiver don't need to use high speed USB.

Could you plug in your hard drive and see what connection it gets in System Profiler?
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 11:36 AM   #3
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
the same, 12Mb for each of the three USB Bus
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 11:39 AM   #4
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midgetinabikini View Post
the same, 12Mb for each of the three USB Bus
I meant the hard drive's connection.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 11:39 AM   #5
dacreativeguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Just plug in an ipod and try to transfer an album to it. If it takes a few minutes, it is usb 2. If it takes 20 minutes, it is USB 1.1. If you really have a MB Pro, it will transfer very quickly.
dacreativeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 11:50 AM   #6
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
the harddrive, the HD is in external vipower sata-usb, he's connecting to the first USB Bus, slower one.

USB to Serial-ATA bridge:

Removable Media: No
Detachable Drive: Yes
BSD Name: disk3
Version: c6.83
Bus Power (mA): 500
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Sunplus Technology Inc.
OS9 Drivers: No
Product ID: 0x0c15
Serial Number: HDS722516V VN6D3ECDFGDSGD
Vendor ID: 0x04fc

the ipod is connect to same port, but it shows in the higher speed bus with the isight, and up to 480Mb.

the HD is for sure USB2, and it worked as usb before. i'm now looking for the product info for you guys. here is the the product
http://en.vipower.com/products01_01.php?ID=99
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 11:52 AM   #7
Eidorian
macrumors Penryn
 
Eidorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cuidad de México
Send a message via AIM to Eidorian
All of the USB connections on the MacBook Pro are USB 2.0. Their connection speed ultimately lies in what is connected to them.

The external ports should still be reporting 480 Mbps when connected to a USB 2.0 device at High Speed.
__________________
Core i5 750 / 16 GB RAM / 500 GB SSD / GTX 970 / Windows 8.1
13" Retina MacBook Pro
Eidorian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 12:01 PM   #8
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eidorian View Post
All of the USB connections on the MacBook Pro are USB 2.0. Their connection speed ultimately lies in what is connected to them.

The external ports should still be reporting 480 Mbps when connected to a USB 2.0 device at High Speed.
but it wont, and not only it's reporting 12Mb, it works really really slow.
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 01:46 PM   #9
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midgetinabikini View Post
but it wont, and not only it's reporting 12Mb, it works really really slow.
Not all USB 2.0 devices are high speed, some are only full speed, which is 12 Mbps.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 01:50 PM   #10
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bousozoku View Post
Not all USB 2.0 devices are high speed, some are only full speed, which is 12 Mbps.
and again, it used to work much faster and in 480Mb. also, the tech spec says it's 480Mb device.
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 06:47 PM   #11
Freyqq
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midgetinabikini View Post
the harddrive, the HD is in external vipower sata-usb, he's connecting to the first USB Bus, slower one.

USB to Serial-ATA bridge:

Removable Media: No
Detachable Drive: Yes
BSD Name: disk3
Version: c6.83
Bus Power (mA): 500
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Sunplus Technology Inc.
OS9 Drivers: No
Product ID: 0x0c15
Serial Number: HDS722516V VN6D3ECDFGDSGD
Vendor ID: 0x04fc

the ipod is connect to same port, but it shows in the higher speed bus with the isight, and up to 480Mb.

the HD is for sure USB2, and it worked as usb before. i'm now looking for the product info for you guys. here is the the product
http://en.vipower.com/products01_01.php?ID=99
some usb wires are 1.1 and others are 2.0

test the wire on another comp and see if the hd/wire are working at 2.0
Freyqq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2007, 07:03 PM   #12
Trepex
macrumors 6502a
 
Trepex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freyqq View Post
some usb wires are 1.1 and others are 2.0

test the wire on another comp and see if the hd/wire are working at 2.0
uhh what?
__________________
Proudly Mac and never turning back!
Trepex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 12:20 AM   #13
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freyqq View Post
some usb wires are 1.1 and others are 2.0

test the wire on another comp and see if the hd/wire are working at 2.0
the usb cable is usb2, tested. the eHD is usb2, test too. only in the macbook pro it works like usb1.1
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 12:26 AM   #14
anirban
macrumors 6502a
 
anirban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Also note that the hardware that is being connected to the USB 2.0 port is designed to run at USB 2.0. If the hardware is old, it may be been designed to run at 1.1, hence the slow transfer speed despite being plugged into USB 2.0 port.
__________________
"Winners never quit. Quitters never win. But those who never win and never quit are idiots."
anirban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 12:27 AM   #15
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by anirban View Post
Also note that the hardware that is being connected to the USB 2.0 port is designed to run at USB 2.0. If the hardware is old, it may be been designed to run at 1.1, hence the slow transfer speed despite being plugged into USB 2.0 port.
dude....

the HD is for sure USB2, and it worked as usb before. i'm now looking for the product info for you guys. here is the the product
http://en.vipower.com/products01_01.php?ID=99
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 02:01 AM   #16
Rapmastac1
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In the Depths of the SLC!
Send a message via AIM to Rapmastac1 Send a message via MSN to Rapmastac1
Ok, so let me phrase this as an update so everyone understands what is going on, and OP please correct me if I'm wrong.

He has a Macbook Pro. He has a couple USB 2.0 Devices that are USB 2.0 Complient and use USB 2.0 Complient Cables. The problem is, when he connects them to his Mac, they are limited to USB 1.0 (1) speeds. On his hardware specs it says that they aren't running at full speed.

There is nothing wrong with his devices as he has tried them on another computer and they worked just fine. So we now know it's related to his Mac.

Now here are a few things to try out. It is to my understanding that USB 1.1 does not put out power like firewire or usb 2.0 (I dunno if this is correct or not) But if this is a USB powered device it should come up in the system profile if it is being power, IE this will show some USB 2.0 life, but not the full speed. If it does not show up at all, then there is more wrong with the USB 2.0 port and it might be a software issue.

My advice is to make a new account and see if it works from there. If it does not work, then take it into apple and show them the system profile and bring along the devices that are having problmes as they can test those devices on the computers in the store. There is probably a problem with your motherboard.
Rapmastac1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 02:29 AM   #17
RoadieJodie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freyqq View Post
some usb wires are 1.1 and others are 2.0
Completely and utterly wrong. It is common knowledge that there is no such thing as USB 1.0,1.1,2.0 cables. All USB cables are backwards compatible, though some may not be of the same quality and thus take a performance hit.
__________________
Flickr
P4 3Ghz HT/2GB DDR2 800Mhz/(2x) 400GB Spanned/ 160GB/XP Pro/
Powerbook G4/1.33Ghz/1.25G/80GB/Lepoard
RoadieJodie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 02:46 AM   #18
fwhh
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
First of all, you shouldn't get confuse by what the system proflier is telling you. The 4 entries "USB-Bus" don't refer directly to the connectors on your mbp. Any 480Mbs device, connected to any USB Port will show under "USB Highspeed Bus" (I hope this is the right title, as I'm on a german OS X version).
I would try to do a PMU reset, as this solved a USB problem for me lately.
Check at
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.h...tnum=303319-en
for instructions.
__________________
17" AG i7 MBP
fwhh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 03:11 AM   #19
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midgetinabikini View Post
and again, it used to work much faster and in 480Mb. also, the tech spec says it's 480Mb device.
So, when it's the only thing connected directly to the computer, what does System Profiler tell you?

I know things happen but if your iPod is showing 480 Mbps and your drive is showing 12 Mbps, I'm going to suspect the drive or cable is faulty.

If you're using a USB hub of any sort, don't connect to that, please connect directly from the hard drive to the computer and let us know what System Profiler reports.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 04:24 AM   #20
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bousozoku View Post
So, when it's the only thing connected directly to the computer, what does System Profiler tell you?

I know things happen but if your iPod is showing 480 Mbps and your drive is showing 12 Mbps, I'm going to suspect the drive or cable is faulty.

If you're using a USB hub of any sort, don't connect to that, please connect directly from the hard drive to the computer and let us know what System Profiler reports.

the only thing connect to the computer is the eHD, directly, not hub.
in vista system (not apple) it works fine. that means the problem is not with the drive or cable.
other devices, like the ipod, works fine, so the problem is not in the MBP hardware.

PMU reset didnt worked.
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 05:05 AM   #21
bousozoku
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gone but not forgotten.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midgetinabikini View Post
the only thing connect to the computer is the eHD, directly, not hub.
in vista system (not apple) it works fine. that means the problem is not with the drive or cable.
other devices, like the ipod, works fine, so the problem is not in the MBP hardware.

PMU reset didnt worked.
There are two things that make sense:
  1. The interface board is overheating or has overheated
  2. The interface board needs a firmware update because it's slightly off specification
I don't believe it's overheating because that would cause intermittent problems and it would likely be fine when cold and fail on Vista when hot.

I wondered about their special USB 2.0 seal and if they couldn't use the seal that I've always seen on certified products.

Anyway, I'm out of ideas.
bousozoku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 05:47 AM   #22
otispunkmeyer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Middlesbrough UK
do macs have a bios?

i remember having to set USB to "hi-Speed" in the bios for my MSI mother board ages ago

i had choice of USB1.1, full speed, and hi-speed. something like 11Mbps, 12Mbps then 480Mbps

but i dont think macs have something similar to like Phoenix Bios or AMI bios do they?
otispunkmeyer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 08:20 AM   #23
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by bousozoku View Post
There are two things that make sense:
  1. The interface board is overheating or has overheated
  2. The interface board needs a firmware update because it's slightly off specification
I don't believe it's overheating because that would cause intermittent problems and it would likely be fine when cold and fail on Vista when hot.

I wondered about their special USB 2.0 seal and if they couldn't use the seal that I've always seen on certified products.

Anyway, I'm out of ideas.
as i said, both hardware works fine, but not togther.
i think, by now, it's another problem like the wireless problem that 10.4.10 gave me and few others. this is not why i bought apple computer....
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 12:22 PM   #24
theBB
macrumors 68020
 
theBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Do you know anybody else who has a Mac? Can you try it on their machines? If it works there, can you drop by an Apple store to get your computer checked?
theBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2007, 12:26 PM   #25
Midgetinabikini
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by theBB View Post
Do you know anybody else who has a Mac? Can you try it on their machines? If it works there, can you drop by an Apple store to get your computer checked?
dude...i said it works well on other computers.

and we dont have apple store in israel.
Midgetinabikini is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro USB Problem stephen1108 MacBook Pro 10 May 26, 2013 04:35 AM
Macbook Pro With 3 USB ports. kiantech MacBook Pro 7 Dec 1, 2012 11:49 AM
USB failure MacBook Pro antoanology MacBook Pro 5 Sep 16, 2012 02:20 AM
Macbook Pro: Can't get USB 3.0 speeds JefferyShin MacBook Pro 2 Jul 7, 2012 08:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC