Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 26, 2007, 12:09 PM   #1
mpmartin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Adding a 3rd hard drive to PowerMac G5

Is there any way to install a 3rd internal hard drive to my PowerMac G5 dual 1.8 ?
mpmartin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2007, 12:16 PM   #2
shayesky
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Send a message via AIM to shayesky
yep

get yourself a Sonnet Temp SATA card. I got one for about $35.
I set the drive infront of the cooling fans. Has run fine.
shayesky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2007, 02:05 PM   #3
AlexMaximus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boondocks
Here is what you need..

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpmartin View Post
Is there any way to install a 3rd internal hard drive to my PowerMac G5 dual 1.8 ?
Habi ' di Ehre,

Here is what you need to mount 3 HD in your G5

Link:
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Sonne...logy/ENCG53HD/

AlexMaximus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2007, 09:32 AM   #4
jtt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
You still need to get a controller card for this, right?

I'm going to be doing this soon and and have a few questions:

Does this get around the 300gb HDD limit?
Has anyone had any over heating problems with this set up?
Where is the best place to get a controller card?
jtt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2007, 01:21 PM   #5
AlexMaximus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boondocks
Check your G5 model...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtt View Post
You still need to get a controller card for this, right?

I'm going to be doing this soon and and have a few questions:

Does this get around the 300gb HDD limit?
Has anyone had any over heating problems with this set up?
Where is the best place to get a controller card?
Hey,

the setup mentioned above is just the mounting you'll need for more HD's.
I always thought the G5 has the SATA already. Meybe the early G5s didn't ??
Anyways, by using SATA card, you can use now SATA HD instead of the old ATA 100 Bus standard. This indeed eliminates HD restrictions. By using SATA you also have access to a lot faster drives, especially the 10K Raptor 150G dirve. Having this a start dirve is pretty nice setup.
Regarding model or brand, I would go with Sonnet or Seritk.
AlexMaximus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2007, 04:05 PM   #6
jtt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
The G5 is SATA but can only recognize up to 300gb.

I plan on putting two 150gb Raptors in the stock bays for Apps and Scratch, and using the other three drives, hopefully over 300gb, for storage.
jtt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2007, 09:48 PM   #7
bshelly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
G5's can only recognize 300GB or smaller hard drives? I thought SATA didn't have restrictions like that. Can someone confirm this?

Thank you!
bshelly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2007, 12:29 AM   #8
jtt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshelly View Post
G5's can only recognize 300GB or smaller hard drives? I thought SATA didn't have restrictions like that. Can someone confirm this?

Thank you!
The Dual 2.3' s are like that
jtt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2007, 01:28 AM   #9
termite
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by bshelly View Post
G5's can only recognize 300GB or smaller hard drives? I thought SATA didn't have restrictions like that. Can someone confirm this?
I just installed a 750GB SATA in my first edition dual 2.0GHz G5. I find it hard to believe later versions of the G5 would have busted this.
termite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2007, 11:40 AM   #10
glhiii
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
External Sata

For my dual 2.5 PowerMac, I got a Venus external SATA tray that holds 4 hard disks (on sale from Frys for $120). I connected it to a card I bought from CWOL (PCI-x) and find it works perfectly. I have 4 disks in the tray and have turned them into 2 disks using striped RAID on OS X. The tray sits on top of the PowerMac and does not take up much space -- it still fits under my desk. It is quite silent and seems to me a much better solution than trying to cram another disk into a G5 PM. It is VERY fast.
glhiii is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to PPCs with a Powermac G5-Looking for Hard Drive Suggestions bunnspecial PowerPC Macs 7 May 6, 2014 01:27 PM
Adding Second Hard Drive to Mac Mini That-Guy Mac mini 290 Feb 24, 2014 06:08 PM
Adding internal hard drive space / SSD to the new Mac Pro musio Mac Pro 1 Jun 10, 2013 04:31 PM
Installing Tiger On PowerMac G5 Hard Drive Issues Cisherwood321 PowerPC Macs 7 Apr 17, 2013 02:56 PM
Questions about adding second hard drive campton12 Mac Basics and Help 5 Aug 11, 2012 05:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC