Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 27, 2007, 04:56 PM   #1
pufftissue
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I enjoy my macbook pro, but I'd be developing windows apps

Hi,

I like mac os x for my personal needs--email, photos, internet, general going against the grain desires; however, I'd be developing medical software that is primarily for the 1. web 2. windows machines.

If I'm going to one day earn a living developing software for windows machines, does a macbook pro, then, make sense?

What are my limitations by using a macbook pro alone?
pufftissue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2007, 05:04 PM   #2
crazyiez
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by pufftissue View Post
Hi,

I like mac os x for my personal needs--email, photos, internet, general going against the grain desires; however, I'd be developing medical software that is primarily for the 1. web 2. windows machines.

If I'm going to one day earn a living developing software for windows machines, does a macbook pro, then, make sense?

What are my limitations by using a macbook pro alone?

you could do bootcamp.
__________________
MBP 2.4 15inch
crazyiez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2007, 05:07 PM   #3
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
You can run Visual Studio in Parallels/VM Ware. Also if you have a MBP and want to make a Mac/Unix interface for the program you can do that easily too.
__________________
Actually it does make sense. Man created god, so if we exist, He exists. - obeygiant
Eraserhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2007, 05:26 PM   #4
Santa Rosa
macrumors 65816
 
Santa Rosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Indiana
Keep the Macbook Pro, its the only platform that can run, OSX, Linux and Windows (Any flavour you want), sure you know this already.

When you think about it, it makes sense for developing having access to all of those platforms, there may not be a use to that thinking short term but one day something may come up.
__________________
Santa Rosa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2007, 05:27 PM   #5
cruzrojas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: USA
Well I can't see many limitations, but I do can see some advantages.

If cost is not a factor the limitations would be having to reboot to get into boot camp to use your laptop under windows at full speed. Or Having to use VMWare/Parallels with a decrease on the performance of windows.

On the other hand one of the advantages I can see, is that if you are using VMWare (not so sure about parallels but I will assume they work the same). you can restart your windows partition with a different hardware profile, let say less ram, to have a feeling how your applications might run on the target machine.

Just my opinion.
__________________
Systems: MBP SantaRosa, 15', 160Gb@7200 rpm HD; G4 mac mini
iPod: ipod nano 1Gb, 1st gen, touch 16 Gb, 2nd gen
Blog: chuyandmac.blogspot.com
cruzrojas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 27, 2007, 05:50 PM   #6
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eraserhead View Post
You can run Visual Studio in Parallels/VM Ware. Also if you have a MBP and want to make a Mac/Unix interface for the program you can do that easily too.
If you have a large enough harddisk, it would also be possible to install several different versions of Windows simultaneously, which would be essential for compatibility testing.
gnasher729 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 09:30 AM   #7
AlmostThere
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The royal throne of kings, the sceptred isle, the other Eden, the fortress built
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eraserhead View Post
You can run Visual Studio in Parallels/VM Ware. Also if you have a MBP and want to make a Mac/Unix interface for the program you can do that easily too.
I would add one caveat to that - make sure your machine has enough RAM.

I have a MacBook Pro and 'only' 2Gb RAM and I can assure you that this is not enough for running OS X and Windows as a development enironment (I need tools that are not provided for OS X, which includes databases and application servers).

I basically either use Windows (through Parallels) or OS X - allocating about 1.5Gb to Windows, which gives decent performance, slows down OS nearly to the point of un-usability.

I would strongly suggest you max out the RAM or use bootcamp.

From a price point of view, you might find that buying a reasonable PC (core 2 cpu + 2Gb or so RAM) will work out cheaper than maxing out the RAM (and also getting a lower spec Mac laptop) and more convenient than using bootcamp as you will have access to OS X all the time.

Obviously, if your Windows development requirements are more modest, then this might not apply.
__________________
Join the army of the dead: http://www.urbandead.com
AlmostThere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 10:45 AM   #8
Oats
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York
i program for windows on my macbook using bootcamp, works great. seriously, windows XP has never run this fast. only a few things i needed:

launchy (open source quicksilver imitation): http://www.launchy.net/

applemou.exe for adding right-click capability when you don't have a 2 button mouse around:
http://www.geocities.com/pronto4u/applemouse.html
Oats is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 11:18 AM   #9
iSee
macrumors 68040
 
iSee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
I run VS 2005 all the time under Parallels (on a MBP CD) and it works well.

Heh, I'm not sure what tools AlmostThere is using, but I allocate 768MB to the Windows virtual machine and it works fine. (I'm running XPSP2, VS 2005, SQL Server, usually the SQL management tool, browser windows, plus maybe Word or Excel, or a PDF viewer, etc.) Then again, I'll never tell anyone not to buy more RAM.
iSee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 11:39 AM   #10
AlmostThere
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The royal throne of kings, the sceptred isle, the other Eden, the fortress built
Rational Data Architect (and other Rational tools depending on task at hand), Visual Studio, WebSphere, DB2, XPSP2 + admin tools.

Writing this now from having to do a cold restart after the entire laptop stopped responding for 30 minutes after trying to change to read an email ... grrrrrr

[Edit] SQL Server and VS2005 seem to have a total recommended RAM of 768Mb - I really don't know how iSee gets them running sufficiently well for development at the same time, let alone along with Office
__________________
Join the army of the dead: http://www.urbandead.com

Last edited by AlmostThere; Aug 28, 2007 at 12:04 PM.
AlmostThere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 12:05 PM   #11
Stile
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlmostThere View Post
Rational Data Architect, Visual Studio, WebSphere, DB2, XPSP2 + admin tools.

Writing this now from having to do a cold restart after the entire laptop stopped responding for 30 minutes after trying to change to read an email...
Wow, that's crazy man, I have also been developing Windows apps under Parallels since the first beta of Parallels. I have Oracle, SQL Server, Visual Studio, 2 app servers under IIS, etc. and I have no issues like this. I'm running on a MacBook Pro first generation with 2GB RAM and an external SATA drive. One thing I've read several times is you don't really need to allocate that much memory to the VM, in fact that might start to kill OS X, I'd try lowering your VM memory and see if it responds better. I've even gone so far as to listen to iTunes, burn a DVD, surf the web, and use Parallels at the same time with no issues, OS X rocks!

EDIT: I just checked and currently I have on OS X; Firefox, Safari, Adobe Viewer, and Mail. In Parallels I have Word, Visio, Visual Studio 2003, SQL Query Analyzer, Oracle, SQL Server, cygwin (this is not a resource hog I suppose), and our own application running.
Stile is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 12:41 PM   #12
iSee
macrumors 68040
 
iSee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlmostThere View Post
[Edit] SQL Server and VS2005 seem to have a total recommended RAM of 768Mb - I really don't know how iSee gets them running sufficiently well for development at the same time, let alone along with Office
Actually, now that I think about it, I generally have the Office apps and other miscellaneous apps running under the Mac OS directly, NOT the Parallels virtual machine, so they aren't using that 768MB. Sorry...
iSee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 01:50 PM   #13
AlmostThere
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The royal throne of kings, the sceptred isle, the other Eden, the fortress built
I have gone from ~768Mb to now 1.5Gb allocated to the VM. This has really been a compromise between OS X performance and Windows, hence my feelings towards choosing one or the other.

At 1 Gb, I generally had to turn off development IDE, deploy to the app server and then process data flow. This is principally for testing before releasing but is still far from ideal. The Rational tools I use most are Eclipse based, which I have found slower (without plenty of RAM).

BTW, I had to manually check the system requirements for the MS tools (hence the edit) - DB2 and WS both come in at a recommended Gb each, although, IIRC, these are production not development specs. I guess that is a testament to the efficiency of MS programming

Anyway, as they say, mileage varies. In retrospect, I would rather have a MacBook and a separate PC, I dual booted with Windows with Linux for several years but it never really worked out in terms of work flow.

To the OP, work out what your needs are under Windows and add that to (I would say) 1Gb to run OS X smoothly.

My life (Mail, Activity Monitor, Parallels running):
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	memusage.png
Views:	51
Size:	29.8 KB
ID:	83584  
__________________
Join the army of the dead: http://www.urbandead.com

Last edited by AlmostThere; Aug 28, 2007 at 02:03 PM.
AlmostThere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 06:00 PM   #14
Stile
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlmostThere View Post
BTW, I had to manually check the system requirements for the MS tools (hence the edit) - DB2 and WS both come in at a recommended Gb each, although, IIRC, these are production not development specs. I guess that is a testament to the efficiency of MS programming
Actually it probably has to do with everything you are running is using Java. Java's a pretty big resource hog, it's almost like your running an operating system-within-an-operating system (within an operating system with parallels). All of the MS stuff is pretty much native, even .Net I think is a little more resource friendly than Java for the most part. I haven't done Java programming in awhile now, but I remember it eating up memory and threads and never releasing them. That was under Linux though, so maybe it behaves differently under Windows, but I doubt it.
Stile is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 09:40 PM   #15
ezekielrage_99
macrumors 68040
 
ezekielrage_99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyiez View Post
you could do bootcamp.
Bootcamp with Code Less and you'll be fine.
__________________
"There is a world elsewhere" - Coriolanus
ezekielrage_99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2007, 10:29 PM   #16
Alloye
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rocklin, CA
I make my living writing C#/.Net software on an iMac, so I don't see why a MBP wouldn't work just as well. My solution to date has been VS2005 on XP Pro under Parallels, but I'm currently giving VMware a try. Both do just fine given enough memory.
Alloye is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Developing Retina Apps with Xcode on Macbook Air Aster007 Mac Programming 5 May 10, 2014 04:51 PM
Developing Retina Apps with Xcode on Macbook Air Aster007 MacBook Air 6 Apr 28, 2014 02:46 PM
New 13" Macbook Pro for developing Torgis MacBook Pro 34 Apr 15, 2013 09:14 AM
Retina MacBook Pro developing loose keys devinhansen MacBook Pro 3 Nov 28, 2012 06:14 PM
Developing apps on Windows thetimetravelle iPhone 4 Jul 26, 2012 04:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC