Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wee Beastie

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 20, 2007
In the snow with Rosebud
I have been thinking of going back to school for awhile, although I am not yet sure for what (if I go back at all). The idea recently crept into my head that perhaps I should go back for GD. I currently work as a graphic designer (also a painter on the side), but getting my MFA could help advance my career. I am looking for some opinions on schools that I should check out. I received my BFA in illustration from Maryland Institute College of Art. I design for both print and web, and am interested in programs for either/both. Any input would be most welcome and appreciated.

-wee beastie:p

shecky

May 24, 2003
Obviously you're not a golfer.
ahhh my kind of thread.

you may want to look at a 3 year program for your MFA if schools will not take the BFA + work experience as enough to qualify for a 2 year GD MFA. RISD, Yale and a few others offer a 3 year MFA for non-graphic design BFA people; tho if you have been working in GD for a while i suppose you could get into a 2 year MFA.

you can hunt thru my threads as i have posted about this many times on here, but the top programs for 2/3 year GD MFA in the USA right now are generally conisdered to be

RISD
Yale
Cranbrook
SAIC (School of Art Inst. of Chicago)
CalArts
U of North Carolina
Virginia Commonwealth

and to a lesser extent

CCA
MICA
MCAD

and i am sure i am forgetting a few others.

i did my BFA at RISD and my top 2 year MFA programs are Calarts, Virginia Commonwealth and NC State. i would not look at Cranbrook until Elliot Earls leaves, Yale is basically the same education as RISD, and SAIC is basically a program to get you a good portfolio to get a big art director job. (i am going to go back to be able to get a tenured teaching position in GD - right now i teach GD but as adjunct.)