Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 31, 2007, 06:43 PM   #1
chas0001
macrumors 6502a
 
chas0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alicante, SPAIN
Boot Powermac G5 Raid 0

Is it possible to boot a Powermac G5 Dual 2 GHz using the built in software Raid 0? I know that this can be set up using disk utility but wondered if it was possible to boot from the RAID set.

Thanks for any help you can provide!
chas0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2007, 04:30 PM   #2
MacsRgr8
macrumors 604
 
MacsRgr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Yup.

Done it with the Power Mac G5 Dual 1.8 GHz, and my now used G5 Quad is also setup that way.
Just make sure the two drives are as identical as possible.

Here's a pic of the Disk Utility of my Boot RAID 0 config:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 17.png
Views:	322
Size:	124.9 KB
ID:	84187  
__________________
Steve Jobs. 1955 - 2011. My Hero.
MacsRgr8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2007, 06:05 PM   #3
chas0001
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
chas0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alicante, SPAIN
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacsRgr8 View Post
Yup.

Done it with the Power Mac G5 Dual 1.8 GHz, and my now used G5 Quad is also setup that way.
Just make sure the two drives are as identical as possible.

Here's a pic of the Disk Utility of my Boot RAID 0 config:
Great I will give it a go. I have 2 nearly identical drives in the the Powermac G5 and one is going to waste. Might as well add some needed speed.

Thanks for the info MacsRgr8!
chas0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2007, 10:18 PM   #4
ZachPruckowski
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by chas0001 View Post
Great I will give it a go. I have 2 nearly identical drives in the the Powermac G5 and one is going to waste. Might as well add some needed speed.

Thanks for the info MacsRgr8!
Be aware that making a RAID 0 wipes both drives clean. Therefore you need to move everything off those drives and store it somewhere while you make the RAID 0. So you need to duplicate your current drive onto a third HDD for about 15 minutes while the RAID 0 is constructed, then you need to copy it back over.
ZachPruckowski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2007, 03:26 AM   #5
chas0001
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
chas0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alicante, SPAIN
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachPruckowski View Post
Be aware that making a RAID 0 wipes both drives clean. Therefore you need to move everything off those drives and store it somewhere while you make the RAID 0. So you need to duplicate your current drive onto a third HDD for about 15 minutes while the RAID 0 is constructed, then you need to copy it back over.
Thanks. I keep a full bootable backup of the complete OS on a firewire drive, that gets updated every 3 days (Intego Personal Backup X4). I may even create another backup on a spare external HD (just in case!). You can never be too careful
chas0001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[HOW TO] iMac 27" (mid 2011) two SSDs in RAID 0 config + HDD th0rr iMac 43 Oct 11, 2013 10:51 AM
PowerMac G5 as a server? Good idea? alexreich PowerPC Macs 35 Sep 11, 2012 04:46 PM
PowerMac G5 AirPort card installation osxoverwin PowerPC Macs 7 Oct 16, 2011 03:42 AM
Trading 16gb iPad 1 for a PowerMac G5 geekindisguise Buying Tips and Advice 5 Sep 19, 2011 08:28 AM
PowerMac G5 RAID aviationwiz Macintosh Computers 5 Oct 28, 2005 04:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC