Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 4, 2007, 06:52 PM   #1
rest44
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
HELP!!!! Please! (Graphics Problem on Need for Speed Carbon)

My need for speed carbon is mess up on my iMac! the grafics are alll fliped and mirrored!

Does anyone know why is this?? Help apreciated! thanks
rest44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 07:57 PM   #2
rest44
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fixed!

went to options menu and turn anti analising to on. I don´t know why the game messes up when anti analising is of. :x

anyone knows?
rest44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2007, 07:59 PM   #3
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
If you have an Intel iMac, I wouldn't be surprised if it has something to do with Rosetta.
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2007, 02:37 PM   #4
rest44
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpaanlka View Post
If you have an Intel iMac, I wouldn't be surprised if it has something to do with Rosetta.
you´re wrong. NFS Carbon is an intel only app, so it doesn´t use rosetta.
rest44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2007, 04:49 PM   #5
dpaanlka
macrumors 601
 
dpaanlka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois
Send a message via AIM to dpaanlka
Quote:
Originally Posted by rest44 View Post
you´re wrong. NFS Carbon is an intel only app, so it doesn´t use rosetta.
I assumed carbon meant carbon as in the OS 9 / OS X shared API of old days, which would have been PowerPC only. I've never seen "carbon" used in a product name before.
__________________
Long-time Mac user and evangelist, creator of ArraySync and curator of Info-Mac and System 7 Today.
dpaanlka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2007, 01:05 PM   #6
TIGOS
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sao Paulo, BR
Quote:
Originally Posted by rest44 View Post
My need for speed carbon is mess up on my iMac! the grafics are alll fliped and mirrored!

Does anyone know why is this?? Help apreciated! thanks
I have the same problem, but, don`t find this option in my game!


Please, hep!
__________________
powered by MBP 13 with OCZ Vertex SSD \o/
TIGOS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 12:26 PM   #7
plokoonpma
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama, Central America
Send a message via AIM to plokoonpma
fixing flipped screen

Hi, thats a common thing, dont worry.

i know its flipped and you have to deal with an inverted mouse action, but;

1. in the main window, select options
2. at the top in the rigth side select "advanced"
3. scroll up like the third item and turn it on, 2x or 4x

thats it, hope it helps you guys

forgive my english, not my native.

plokoonpma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 12:34 PM   #8
TIGOS
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sao Paulo, BR
Very Thanks plokoonpma!!!

When I to arrive in house will go to test.


PS: My english is bad too (i`m brazilian, speak portuguese)
__________________
powered by MBP 13 with OCZ Vertex SSD \o/
TIGOS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 05:09 PM   #9
TIGOS
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sao Paulo, BR
Yes, its works!


thanks again!
__________________
powered by MBP 13 with OCZ Vertex SSD \o/
TIGOS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2007, 06:46 PM   #10
nanvinnie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
NFS Carbon Crash

Question: When I started my Career on NFS, my computer crashes like 30 seconds into the first tutorial/race. Anyone know why? I set my graphics pretty low but it still crashes. I have the new 15" MBP stock. Help please.
nanvinnie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2007, 02:08 PM   #11
Crucial9
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanvinnie View Post
Question: When I started my Career on NFS, my computer crashes like 30 seconds into the first tutorial/race. Anyone know why? I set my graphics pretty low but it still crashes. I have the new 15" MBP stock. Help please.
I also have the NSF:Carbon for mac and am trying to run on my 15" MBP with 246MB 8600GT graphics and 2.4GHZ. Same thing happens, about 30sec or less into the game at the same spot each time the game unexpectedly exits.

Also, I think it's retarded that I paid good money for a game that doesn't support widescreen resolutions, and the graphics just don't look good (strange color patterns for reflections).
Crucial9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2007, 05:41 PM   #12
nanvinnie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
NFSC Crash

I was running the game from my laptop to my 24" display, but when I ran it straight from the laptop display, it worked. I still get some weird reflections, but it works. Not sure why it won't work when I connect to my display. Frame rate is pretty low and the game plays choppy. No widescreen support- not cool. Makes me wonder, should I even get the Madden 08 for mac?
nanvinnie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 12:51 AM   #13
thedood
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ATL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crucial9 View Post
I also have the NSF:Carbon for mac and am trying to run on my 15" MBP with 246MB 8600GT graphics and 2.4GHZ. Same thing happens, about 30sec or less into the game at the same spot each time the game unexpectedly exits.

Also, I think it's retarded that I paid good money for a game that doesn't support widescreen resolutions, and the graphics just don't look good (strange color patterns for reflections).
i have the exact same problem... has anyone solved this? i just got the game & the people at Apple said it is the game, so they weren't much help. this sucks...

there are a few other places it happens as well, but they obviously don't hinder game progress like the cutoff before the fountain in the tutorial, which is required!!!

help please.
thedood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2007, 05:12 PM   #14
nc7r
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedood View Post
i have the exact same problem... has anyone solved this? i just got the game & the people at Apple said it is the game, so they weren't much help. this sucks...

there are a few other places it happens as well, but they obviously don't hinder game progress like the cutoff before the fountain in the tutorial, which is required!!!

help please.
Is it doing this kind of stuff?



I'm having real problems with it too. I'm on a 2.2ghz 2gb Ram Intel MacBook Pro and it's struggeling in Career mode, with nothing else open, to run! Quite annoying to be honest.

I've got Anti-aliasing on 4x and the screen resolution on max - which is something like 1024 x 765 and I'm running an Apple 20" Monitor which is 1680x1050...
nc7r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2007, 07:46 PM   #15
thedood
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ATL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Carter View Post
Is it doing this kind of stuff?



I'm having real problems with it too. I'm on a 2.2ghz 2gb Ram Intel MacBook Pro and it's struggeling in Career mode, with nothing else open, to run! Quite annoying to be honest.

I've got Anti-aliasing on 4x and the screen resolution on max - which is something like 1024 x 765 and I'm running an Apple 20" Monitor which is 1680x1050...
yep, its doing that as well. even worse, honestly...
thedood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2007, 08:12 AM   #16
nc7r
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedood View Post
yep, its doing that as well. even worse, honestly...
It's absolutely shocking to be honest.

These game are expensive and meant to be 'specifically for mac' when they have such **** graphics like that it's just a joke isn't it.

I'm running a laptop which is worth over £1200 and it still runs slowly - not happy.
nc7r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2007, 02:31 AM   #17
thedood
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: ATL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Carter View Post
It's absolutely shocking to be honest.

These game are expensive and meant to be 'specifically for mac' when they have such **** graphics like that it's just a joke isn't it.

I'm running a laptop which is worth over £1200 and it still runs slowly - not happy.
yep. first & last mac game for me... i'll be returning it, if i can get my money back. i'm always tempted to see if it 'finally works', & then of course it never does.
thedood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2008, 08:48 AM   #18
janka
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
hey guys i have macbook! i dowloaded also nfs carbon! like i start (intro and that carbon movie) it is ok , bet when i gonna choose car and do some stuff the whole screen is just white! what could be the problem ?
janka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2008, 03:11 PM   #19
tungster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Fix by using config file from other EA game

I have Tiger Woods 2008 for the mac, which works on my MacPro. I copied the config file in the /Library/Preferences folder for TW and pasted it in the NFSC preference folder. And, surprisingly, the game now works without the black screen.

Hope this helps.

Tung Nguyen
tungster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2008, 04:20 AM   #20
simann
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
same problem..

I have same problem with upside down and mirrored view.

But when I try to turn on anti-aliasing and press ESC (done), then there's nothing - whole screen is black.

Music is playing but no video.


Any suggestions?


But if so..
I could just turn upside down my iMac and put mirror to my iMac and I could play the game!

Last edited by simann; Jun 6, 2008 at 04:22 AM. Reason: Thinking.
simann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2008, 12:15 AM   #21
Zenmen
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Not fix for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by plokoonpma View Post
Hi, thats a common thing, dont worry.

i know its flipped and you have to deal with an inverted mouse action, but;

1. in the main window, select options
2. at the top in the rigth side select "advanced"
3. scroll up like the third item and turn it on, 2x or 4x

thats it, hope it helps you guys

forgive my english, not my native.

This did not fix my problem. The image was black, alone hears the audio one. I tried 2x and 4x, but it did not fix. Somebody can help me?

I have one iMac 20"
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 1 GB DDR2 800mhz
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

Thanks!
Zenmen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2008, 08:56 PM   #22
mmnz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Nfs Carbon Mirrored Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenmen View Post
This did not fix my problem. The image was black, alone hears the audio one. I tried 2x and 4x, but it did not fix. Somebody can help me?

I have one iMac 20"
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 1 GB DDR2 800mhz
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

Thanks!


Hi, i have the same problem, i have the aluminium macboon 13.3 he 2.4 model.
i installed the NFS but its mirrored and upside side down.
Sound is fine and, screen color is perfect.
I tried the anti alising function to 2 and 4 x but did not work for me, any suggestions, just write on my blog

momin73.blogspot.com

Last edited by mmnz; Feb 20, 2010 at 06:33 PM. Reason: too many emails coming in.
mmnz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 03:15 PM   #23
vishalkthacker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
@ tungster:
Thanks a ton! I have Hitman Contracts which runs on my MBP and I did what you suggested!
It is working now!
All I have to see is whether the other problems, of crashing in the first 30 seconds doesn't show up!
(Fingers crossed)

I just registered with MacRumours to say thanks!
vishalkthacker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2008, 11:09 PM   #24
mmnz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Nfs Carbon Mirrored Issue Resolved

Finally some one has send me the right .conf file, which i replaced and all is well, NFS CARBON runs fine and there's no issue now.

Anyone want the .conf file, email me.

Regards,

Momin

my blog spot: http://momin73.blogspot.com/ the file is here get it and have fun

Last edited by mmnz; Jan 10, 2009 at 03:10 AM. Reason: addition
mmnz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2008, 08:56 AM   #25
veyske
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
hey, I also heve the same problem as the topic starter,...

When i start up Need For Speed Carbon, it look's all turned on,...

can somebody help me?

(I also am not so good in English )

(or contact me @ veys@live.be )

thanks,
laurent

Last edited by veyske; Dec 28, 2008 at 09:07 AM.
veyske is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Graphics Driver and BootCamp AlecWx MacBook Air 0 Jan 8, 2013 07:50 PM
iPhone 5 graphics problem? iParis iPhone 12 Oct 14, 2012 05:48 PM
MacBook Graphics Problem iMonsted Mac Peripherals 0 Sep 17, 2012 01:32 AM
Graphics switching and Launchpad problem Jipster23 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Jun 23, 2012 09:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC